We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Dante e Beatrice
Ranked #256 of 654 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 October 2011

After taking someone's advise off Trip Adviser we caught a taxi to this hotel as it may have been a little difficult to locate but once we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. The lift is tiny and goes very slow but it did help getting our luggage to the 1st floor although we only used the lift to move our luggage. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed & everything else u would need although there was no bar fridge or safe. The coffee was good but very strong & they service boiled eggs, cheese & ham which wasnt offered at other places we stayed. It is located close to a laundramat & close to the central station & all the popular tourist sites. The operator/owner was very helpful & even let us pick our room! Good value for money as we paid $144 a night without the accommodation tax which was about 3 euro per pserson per night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laylak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Relais Dante e Beatrice
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

This is not a hotel but it is just as good! This is a B&B run by woman who is fabulous! When we arrived, we were given a map and she spent about ten to fifteen minutes going over the attractions, best restaurants, shows, supermarkets and anything else we were curious about. We really appreciated this and it made our trip to Florence even better. The rooms are quite spacious and have air conditioning which works very well. The bathroom is huge by European standards and very clean. The decor leaves something to be desired (very old-school) but this does not take away from the experience here. Wifi is free however it is only available in the lobby. Breakfast was included and very basic croissants, breads, coffee, cereals and juices etc. This is a great place to stay if you are on a budget and I would absolutely stay here anytime!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at Dante e Beatrice on Via Cavour in Florence (Sep-2011). This hotel is inconspicuous with respect to a giant next door (Atheneum). It was a very pleasent surprise for us as it had only 10 rooms which means no rush at b/fast. The custodian "Nina" was very sweet and accomodating. The b/fast was very decent fare with fresh fruits, pastries, cheese, meat, etc..

This hotel is away from the church bells in the city center which wakes u up every time of the day. Its very close to San Marco Piazza / Accademia and on direct street to Duomo.
There is a Lavendaria (Self-Laundry) on next street with numerous supermkts.

its on bus route and near a taxi stand. overall we enjoyed this surprise.

The rooms are old style and funny elevator which can accomodate at best 1 person with a luggage.

But the value is the best for the convenience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank send2ram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at Dante e Beatrice on Via Cavour in Florence (Sep-2011). This hotel is inconspicuous with respect to a giant next door (Atheneum). It was a very pleasent surprise for us as it had only 10 rooms which means no rush at b/fast. The custodian "Nina" was very sweet and accomodating. The b/fast was very decent fare with fresh fruits, pastries, cheese, meat, etc..

This hotel is away from the church bells in the city center which wakes u up every time of the day. Its very close to San Marco Piazza / Accademia and on direct street to Duomo.
There is a Lavendaria (Self-Laundry) on next street with numerous supermkts.

its on bus route and near a taxi stand. overall we enjoyed this surprise.

The rooms are old style and funny elevator which can accomodate at best 1 person with a luggage.

But the value is the best for the convenience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank send2ram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The room here was exactly as titled, clean and basic. There was nothing particularly spectacular about it, but the bed was super comfortable. The breakfast was not so great. This is a one-woman operation. It was well located near all the sights of Florence, and was a great deal in terms of cost. I think we paid around 40 Euros a night!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCBNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Before we went for our 3-night stay at this Bed & breakfast we had quite good expectations; we weren’t disappointed – much.

From the Station (Santa Maria Novella) this hotel is a good 10 minute stroll. However, we did the circuitous route ;-)
If taking wheeled luggage and you decide to walk – make sure they’re sturdy; molto cobblestones as usual.

Arriving at the hotel you’ll be buzzed in by Mina on the 3rd floor. At this point, we have to mention the lift (directly ahead from the entrance, on the left). It’s tight on space, and very slow – keep your finger on the button. Of course if you HAVE to use it – be prepared. After the first day, we decided to use the stairs….its quicker, for us.

Ok, when at the 3rd floor, go through the glass door and left at the end you’ll get to reception, greeted by Mina. Very friendly host and extremely helpful (English is a struggle, but apparently she does speak French). It’s been mentioned earlier, that your host will give you a map AND she’ll draw directions to most major attractions; il Duomo, Ponte Vechio, ‘David’……

The attractions are easily walkable.

Our room was quite spacious; the bathroom is ok but the shower (I’d say 2ft square, with a height of about 6ft) – is not enough room to swing anything. But hey, it did the job. My partner likes shhhhh(quiet) when her head hits the pillow and that’s what we got. Can’t comment on other parts of the building.

Wi-fi is available – Ask Mina for the code and ID. We found it patchy in parts of the hotel, but once we found a ‘strong’ signal in the room, we didn’t move. The speed isn’t the best.

Seems to be a feature that 2 beds are pushed together for a couple; although we also had a spare single.

Breakfast? Hmm, others raved about it, but once was enough for US – you may like whats on offer; coffee; yoghurt, croissants, various spreads (jam, marmalade), rolls…..

Overall the room was cleaned daily, sheets changed, with fresh supplies of towels.


We also hit the outskirts (courtesy of the map) to Fiesole – for the ‘zona panoramica’. The views of Florence is a visual feast. Bus 7 from San Marco piazza(5 mins from hotel) will take you there for 2 Euros – a journey of about 15-20 mins, arriving at a farmers market, displaying local fare; cheese, wine; fruits; olive oil. The Blue Bar restaurant, wasn’t for us (menu wise) but it may be for you.

To get to the views is a steep climb, from the terminus at Fiesole – not for the faint-hearted. However you get there, you’ll be rewarded with spectacular views.

So in summing up, we’d use Dante & Beatrice again. For future visits, we’d try others and return at a later date.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veganise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

As two women, we booked this hotel as it was close to the train station and reasonably close to the sites. We had planned to walk on arrival but it was too much over the busy, cobblestone streets for a first venture. We took a taxi and I would recommend this for the first go. Our room was comfortable, clean and simple. No frills but good for a couple nights to see the sights. Our bathroom was clean. The toilet was a problem in that it actually wobbled and didn't flush well. Upon booking I would ask this question first. When we identified it with the caretaker they attended to it quickly but not much seemed to change. The address was hard to find and again, taking a taxi where they had to identify the door was much simpler. Well worth the money, in my opinion. Breakfast was adequate, muesli, some fruit, packaged cheese, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and premixed juice. Average. It was served in a small breakfast room which made it easy to meet other guests. As a converted apartment we were glad our room was down the hall vs the one that was directly attached to the breakfast room. We faced onto the street with street noise a little noticeable. A walk to the main sights was about 10-15 minutes. Reasonable. The caretaker during the day spoke reasonable english, provided a map and was very helpful. We didn't find spots to really eat in our neighborhood so that was somewhat disappointing...have to walk to get to anything. There are 3 flights of stairs and the small elevator is very slow, frustratingly so. I wouldn't recommend this for anyone short on patience or who doesn't like stairs.There is not any place outside of your room at the Beatrice to lounge. And we definately wished they had CNN.Overall for value I would recommend this hotel if you want to be a little out of the way and stick to a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airborn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Florent
#172 of 411 in Florence
175 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#141 of 411 in Florence
723 reviews
Hotel Jane
#196 of 411 in Florence
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bed & Breakfast Leopoldo
#140 of 654 in Florence
334 reviews
1900 Artevita
#62 of 654 in Florence
457 reviews
Il Grillo di Firenze
#14 of 654 in Florence
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Dante e Beatrice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Dante e Beatrice

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 90, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 654 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £40 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Dante e Beatrice 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Dante e Beatrice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Dante e Beatrice Hotel Florence
Relais Dante e Beatrice Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing