We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Ranked #215 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not a hotel”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

First of all it is hard to find and get into. On the plus side it is in a great position, centrally located to every thing and has good Internet service and clean bathroom but that is where it finishes. Very small odd shaped room (6 ) with a very small wardrobe that sits out of the corner that you have to squeeze between the bed and it. No air conditioning until Jan and the ceiling fan did not work. To let some air into the room you had to leave window open but the noise outside until 2 am was deafening . No TV, No fridge, there was not even a fridge, plates, cutlery, mugs, bottle opener or kettle for boiling water available on premises. Towels were not towling they were tea towels and very thin sheeting squares. Strange! The bed was ok and linen fine but pillows worn flat. Curtains were dirty and water glasses were not cleaned in 3 days. This should not be called a hotel, it is just a room even back packers have access to more facilities. Stairs to the fourth floor are dark and unlit at night, dangerous. Proprieters not very friendly or helpful.

Room Tip: Not sure there is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPorSantaMaria, Proprietario at Hotel Por Santa Maria, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
We are sorry that our guest did not like our hotel as it is our priority that our guests are comfortable. We would like to answer the review of this guest to clarify a few things:

On the request of the guest we offered to provide AC but they declined,

All the things like water-kettle, plates etc. are available on request, it is not standard to have these things in a hotel room (not only in the 1-star-hotels like ours).

Our towels are normal standard and the pillows are not "worn flat". Anyway if our guests prefer a second pillow it is enough to ask for it.

If the stairs by night are too dark it is enough to put on the light or take the elevator.

In conclusion what I feel regarding this review is that it is not very fair to reserve a 1-star-hotel expecting the facilities of a 3-star-hotel, and blame the hotel for it. On our web-sites (our personal one and different internet agencies) it is stated what kind of facilities we offer.

To all our future guests: we are happy to receive constructive suggestions on how to improve our services! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    78
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
99
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised by the friendly and helpful staff and the cleanliness of the hotel.

It goes without saying that the hotel's location could not be better, as it is near to all of the major sites in the centre of Florence.

Room Tip: Driving in the centre of Florence can be challenging (be sure to read up on this!), but if you do tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The hotel is very well located, very central, really close to the Piazza della Signoria. The bedroom is not so big but appropriate for a couple of nights. The staff is friendly and helpful. We recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauricio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Our room was of a decent size, with a private bathroom. The room was tidied up but we were never given fresh towels (and the towels there were resemble a sheet more than a towel in their lack of absorbency.) The noise one of the three nights we were there was so loud that even with the air conditioning going full blast it was difficult to sleep. Being a bit farther away from the action might give one a better sense of Florence's charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The entrance is easy to walk past (as we did), there is a sign and you just have to ring the bell to be let in. We were greeted by a really friendly lady who showed us to our room. She also gave us a map and recommended somewhere to go for lunch. It was so good we went back twice! The room was basic but very clean and has its own bathroom with shower. Our room looked out over a market square so was a great view. It's extremely central location means that it is noisy but you don't go to Florence to sit in your hotel room, so it wasnt a problem for us. The hotel is right next to one of the main squares, great for the Uffizi! Overall it's a great hotel, a perfect base for exploring Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire_Steed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Hotel is easy to find and is in a great location. The staff were very nice. Great wifi. We had a double room with private bathroom. Although our room faced the street with a very nice view of all the action, we didn't find the noise to be a problem (especially if the A/C was on). Our room had a pretty terrible odor, maybe it was due to the a/c or sewage? (the street near the hotel didn't smell though...) The laminate flooring was coming up. Not a big deal, just a little unpleasant. I'd advise you to bring your own towel as the only towels provided were more like tablecloths than towels (not absorbent, thin & scratchy). All in all, it's a good value for budget travelers, but remember that it is a budget hostel.

Room Tip: Great chocolate/gelato store next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MundoVagabunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This hotel is located right next to the Uffizi. The people working there were very friendly. Ines was extremely kind, and very helpful in reserving tickets for us to the Uffizi and Accademia. The room was clean. It can be noisy at night given the location, but there is a fan in the room which helped to drown out the noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kisforkrisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#170 of 422 in Florence
404 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#209 of 422 in Florence
287 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#165 of 422 in Florence
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#154 of 422 in Florence
464 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#114 of 422 in Florence
450 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#48 of 422 in Florence
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Por Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Por Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Por Santa Maria
Address: Via Calimaruzza 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Por Santa Maria 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Por Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Por Santa Maria Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing