We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for money in a great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silla Hotel
Ranked #69 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good value for money in a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Hotel Silla is a realy lovely Hotel in a perfect place of Florence. The breakfast is very good. A varied choice of contenental and American. Our room was very clean and up to date, A very tastefully done theme throughout. The price was amazing for Italy, Free parking also, We were driving a Ford Kuga 4x4 which is quite a large car but always had plenty of room. Takes about 10 minutes to stroll into town/Ponte Vechio ect. I would recommend this hotel to anybody but would suit couples better I think. On booking this Hotel it came in much cheaper than the rest so we were not expecting very much to be honest. What a lovely suprise we had when we arrived,, Fantastic. Great, Attentive staff who were always willing to help even with our Italian lessons. Many thanks :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 565Michalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    433
    78
    18
    11
See reviews for
253
543
60
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel is great for both.A few minutes from the Ponte Vecchio and almost opposite the Uffizi Gallery. The hotel does charge for parking(€19 per night) but it was worth it.
Big old style building with plenty of character.
Small bedroom but clean and comfortable.
Free coffee is provided throughout the day in a communal area with an open air terrace.Breakfast is also served here (weather permitting). Best cup of tea I had throughout our stay in Italy. Reasonable choice of cold buffet.Helpful staff,as we found throughout our visit to Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is very cute. Located right between Ponte Vecchio and Piazzola De Michelangelo (which has best panoramic view of the city, btw)

The staff is very attentive. We got a room with a view of the terrace where one can have breakfast in the morning. Speaking of breakfast, we loved it. Great assortment and delicious espresso.

Finally, there are many great restaurants nearby. Our favorite was Zeb, which was recommended by Salvo, one of our concierges.

We hope to stay at Hotel Silla again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbles_bgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel was ideally located to see the sights of Florence. Initially, we thought we would have a better view on a higher floor but realized the park across the way prevented seeing the river or the sights. That didn't matter as we were out and about enjoying the city most of the time. The staff were great about recommending restaurants and reserving ones we had researched. They also helped with obtaining tickets to galleries and booking the walking tour we went on. The only criticism I would make was the shower. It had a thin plastic curtain that was blown inward by the bathroom fan. I would suggest that a heavier weighted plastic curtain would be more comfortable if this is needed in a handicapped designated room (we are not handicapped ourselves). We enjoyed the outdoor deck for breakfast and for breaks from sightseeing.

Room Tip: We had #14 and it was designated handicapped. I would have liked another room only because I did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverCyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingwood, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel Silla was recommended as a delightful place to stay, and indeed it is! Just a few steps from the Pointe Vecchio, old Florence and more art than you can see in 3 days. Delightful staff, quaint, clean room and a classic Florence experience. We requested the transfer pickup at the airport and where chauffeured in a Mercedes to Hotel Silla. Can't wait for breakfast on the Terrace in the morning!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and were pleased with our choice. The rooms were basic but clean, decor a little tired (so what it is an old hotel!), the location just slightly out of the centre but not inconvenient and still walkable to all the main sights. We knew all this when we booked and the price reflects! We found the walk along the river across the bridges to the sites very pleasant and relaxing. There were good eateries/bars in the vicinity which we used later in the evening - nice to take in the atmosphere and see the sites at night and then escape the hustle and bustle back in this quieter area. Breakfast was good, fair choice and coffee served to the table - we loved the fact it was taken on the terrace. For the price that we paid, we were very happy and would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whereshallwego2next?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We've stayed at Hotel Silla four times over the last ten years (every time we've been to Florence), and we've been very pleased with it each time. The hotel is well run, with a friendly, helpful front desk. The rooms are nothing flashy -- they're merely functional -- but they're always clean and notably larger than rooms at hotels in the city center. The outdoor terrace is also great. The hotel is on "the other side" of the Arno, about a seven minute walk from the Ponto Vecchio. Consequently, even though it really isn't far away, it is cheaper than hotels in the city center, and quieter. I highly recommend it for reliable, basic accommodations in Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#49 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silla Hotel

Property: Silla Hotel
Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50100, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Florence
#49 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Silla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing