We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An exceptional three-star hotel in a pretty part of town”
Review of Silla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silla Hotel
Ranked #68 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An exceptional three-star hotel in a pretty part of town”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Silla is easily the nicest three-star hotel that I have ever stayed at. The location is fantastic, just minutes away from the bustle of central Florence, in a quiet and pretty spot; there's a nice roof terrace overlooking the Arno. The rooms may not be luxurious but they are comfortable, spacious and clean, and there is free wifi. The breakfast is good by Italian standards. Service is very professional: my request for a particular kind of room was honoured, reception and breakfast staff were courteous and welcoming. I've stayed here twice and will not look to go elsewhere when I next visit Florence. Do not hesitate to book this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmv77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    436
    80
    20
    11
See reviews for
260
551
61
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in May 2014, and found the staff and location fantastic. The breakfast was very good, but if I had to fault them, the only thing I could find was the hardness of the bed was too hard for me (1st world problem I guess). All in all very good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PCandKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A long overdue review as we stayed last August in a double superior room for 3 nights. We caught a taxi from the airport for under 10 euro and our check in was very smooth and friendly. Our room faced the river and although it was a little noisy with the windows open during the day we didn't notice the road noise at night with big shutters on the windows. The in room safe was a very very tiny hole in the wall for passports and small items only. Wifi was fast and continuous. We left our key at the front desk whenever we went out but cant remember if this was required or our choice. There is a nice terrace area for meals and couch area for drinks inside. We loved the location as it wasn't far to the main sights- maybe 15-20 min walking to the Duomo but the Pont Viechie bridge was closer. There were great restaurants around the back area of the hotel towards the look out at Piazzale Michelangelo( a must for sunsets!). It seemed more of a local area somehow or not the glitzy tourist area anyway. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comfortgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We was on a 2 night site seeing trip to Florence. Having booked this hotel through an agent I did not know much about it. Before I arrived I looked on the map and thought this was a fair distance from the centre, however when arriving i was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is less then a 10 minute walk into the centre.

Just what you need and value for money. Very friendly staff who speak very good English. Only 35 rooms so they recognise you which gives its a personal touch.

The room is very spacious and has free WiFi. After staying in a few different hotels on our trip the bathroom and shower was a nice touch compared to others we experienced. The hotel has a lovely terrace where you can enjoy a nice drink looking over the river and city after a long day site seeing. They also offer free tea coffee and cakes when you sit there.

If I was to return to Florence I would stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We loved this place. Upon arrival I discovered I had left my passport in Rome and the staff was so helpful in tracking it down for me and advising me what to do. In four hours my passport was back in my hands and I was able to enjoy the rest of my vacation. The room was beautifully decorated and spotless. Breakfast was fabulous and we were close to everything, we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karan_Miller_Hart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. Staff very friendly. Breakfast very nice. Location fabulous- everything we wanted to see within walking distance. Our air con wasn't working but not a major issue! Would highly, highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Parking is ~20/night, but you don't have to drive into Florence which makes things easier.
Hotel is well maintained. Odd decoration in the room we stayed in, but over all clean with a nice bathroom. Nice deck out looking onto the Arno. Quiet with a good breakfast. Dog friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#55 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#37 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silla Hotel

Property: Silla Hotel
Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50100, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Florence
#49 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing