We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Silla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Silla
Ranked #63 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was an awesome hotel. The front staff was generally very friendly and helpful, some more than others. (I did not think that the female staff person that checked me out was as friendly as the other staff.) They carried our bags to our room and called us a cab when we checked out. Complementary breakfast was an added bonus. They bring cappuccinos and expresso from the bar for you at breakfast. The front staff also recommended nearby restaurants, all of which were excellent. They have a bar open, and were kind enough to provide complementary red wine remaining after a wine tasting. Outside of the bar is a nice patio to enjoy a glass of wine in the afternoon. The only disappointment was the sporadic access to the free WI-FI, something needed by my family members and me. It worked fine in the lobby area but not very well if at all in our room. Oh yes, the keys are so big and old fashion that you turn them in when you leave and pick them up at the front desk when you return. It is kind of nice as it gives you a chance to talk to the friendly front staff after a long day exploring or after a nice dinner and gelato. It was not the closest to the city, but a very short walk to do everything you need to do in Florence. It is across the street from the river and 2 bridges away. There is an awesome lookout on the other side of the hotel which was a short walk for us. The rooms were on the large side. I definitely would stay there again on my next trip to Florence.

Room Tip: We were in room 51, which is a family room and sleeps 4, a double and 2 twin beds. You have to put y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DT808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

I highly recommend Hotel Silla! Recommended by a friend, this lovely hotel didn't disappoint. I loved the location just across the street from the bridge/walkway over the Arno into Florence, 1/4 mile to the Ponte Vecchio, 1/2 mile to Ufizzi, and 1-2 miles max to all the other main sites. Extremely helpful staff on every front, and the terrace.... such a beautiful place to spend those few minutes of downtime, breakfast, end of the night glass of wine, etc.... We had a triple room - I think on the second floor and it was great. The single bed was just 3 feet from the double bed, but there was also this extra room we used for luggage storage, getting ready in the morning, etc. - It was probably about 15 feet by 5 feet in dimension. It was so helpful since there were 3 of us. The staff always had coffee, tea, water and cookies out for guests and were also available at any time to bring you a bottle of wine, beer or drinks on the terrace. The shower had hot water for 3 people, the air conditioning, blow dryer, room safe and building elevators all worked. Our room faced the front of the building and noise was never an issue. Some guests may not like the thin towels, so I'm going to mention them for credibility. They were fine for me and my 70 year old parents didn't complain. Bottom line - if back in Florence I would book Hotel Silla again and feel no need to look for another place.

Room Tip: If looking for a triple room, ask for the one on the 2nd floor, overlooking the terrace with the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christieanna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed with three others and our room was HUGE! We had a bath AND shower and lots of space, both in our room and bathroom. Thr breakfast offered a huge variety and was really really good. The staff was mostly nice and the location was just alright...Longish walks to get to sites and shopping. They had a nice elevator, which was a plus considering how many hotels in Italy have a small, decrepit piece of elevating metal. I would recommend this to people who want a very nice hotel and can put up with long-ish walks and noise (from other rooms; it was easy to hear through the walls and floor)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JMRpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have stayed in this hotel on many occasions and it never fails to deliver
Great location for seeing the city only a ten minute walk across the river in the the centre ten minutes to the Ponte Vecchio and Pitti Palace
Sitting on the veranda having breakfast in the glorious Florence weather overlooking the city
Nice clean rooms at good prices considering that Florence is one of the most visited cities in Italy and hotels book up really quick
If it's a good location your after at realistic prices then give the Silla a try I'm sure you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smax307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just across the Arno, away from the crowds. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Lovely terrace for the breakfast buffet or for relaxing. Room was small but had all of the essentials; possibly doubles are more generous than singles.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank suzannah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We normally stay at the hotel Balestri which is now closed for renovations. A friend recommended the hotel Silla, and since we knew the location, we opted to stay there. We were very pleased---large room, breakfast daily on outside patio, friendly, helpful staff--no complaints! Reliable wifi throughout hotel. Would certainly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Roberts08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was my 3rd trip to Florence and my stay at the Hotel Silla was similar priced to my two previous lodging costs in Florence, but it was a much better experience do to the good quality and location of Hotel Silla. The hotel is located in a residential area away from the crowded tourist attractions. Yet, it is only a short walk to the Ponte Vechico or other bridges to cross the Arno and access the tourist areas. They serve a nice breakfast on their large 2nd floor terrace which has a great view of the river and city. A glass of wine on the terrace in the evening is quite pleasing as well.

Room Tip: We booked four rooms and nobody had any complaints regarding the rooms or service.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank jim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#154 of 409 in Florence
2,038 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 409 in Florence
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 409 in Florence
2,815 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
833 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#45 of 409 in Florence
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silla

Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Florence
#49 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £66 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silla 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Silla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing