We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Silla
Nearby Hotels
US$380
US$356
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,184
US$475
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bretagna(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$281
US$249
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$337
US$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$334
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orcagna Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$590
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rapallo(Florence)
US$461
US$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$401
US$330
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$656
US$638
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,440)
Filter reviews
1,440 results
Traveller rating
799
514
93
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
514
93
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the riverponte vecchiogreat locationlovely terraceshort walkwithin walking distancequiet sidean easy walkquiet neighborhoodlovely hotelrestaurants and barspitti palacethe hotel staffhotel is locatedpastriesuffizi galleryspacious room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
801 - 806 of 1,440 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We checked into Hotel Silla as a result of last minute travel plans. It's hard to find hotels in Florence where they have an agreement with parking garages to park cars. It's very difficult to drive around Florence! Hotel was simple but very clean. The bathroom was very clean and had everything we needed...except facecloths..which is normal in Europe. We were travelling with our adult children, and were able to get a room to accommodate all 4 of us quite comfortably. Easy walking distance to Ponte Vecchico and historic town area.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolingv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We have stayed in five different hotels in Florence over the past 10 years, and our favorite by far is the Silla. This past New Years (2010) was our fourth stay at the Silla, which has become like a second home to us. The staff is very personable and helpful, the breakfast buffet suits us very well, and the support staff are quite gracious. We have only stayed in rooms 31, 32, & 33, which vary in size (31 is the largest), where the river views are wonderful. Even if it’s raining you can gaze out the window at the panorama across the river. The public areas are small, but our goal in travelling is not to sit in hotel lobbies. While the location is not in the city core, you are still within walking distance, and the nearest bus stop is not far. But for us the location is virtually ideal because of what you find close by in the San Nicolo area:
Food: two of our favorite restaurants: I Tarocchi (pizza!) and Osteria Antica Mescita.
Museums: the newly re-opened Bardini Museum and Casa Siviero.
Churches: tiny San Nicolo is just around the corner, but straight across the Arno is Santa Croce.
And if you need essentials, on the same block are a drug store, a grocery store, and a tabaccheria (for bus tickets).
The location is ideal for early morning walks, up to San Miniato al Monte, or up to Fort Belvedere, or across to the other side.
If you are into nightclubbing (we are not), there are a couple down the street.
If you like to engage in people watching, Piazza Demidoff (with park benches) is directly in front of the hotel.

Suggestion when booking: look for on-line specials, there are often super offers.

It’s the location and the people that keep us going back.

Adron & Jeannine Ming
Carrollton, TX

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

After reading all the excellent reviews and finding a good price, we booked a few nights here for the end of our Florence vacation. We found that it was quite a long walk from the train station and while it wasn't too far from the ponte vecchio, it was quite a distance from the center of Florence. The decor was strange...clean, but dated and dark. The staff was a times helpful, but also some were rude. The breakfast would have been good, tasty food out on the balcony overlooking the river, but this place has a serious pigeon problem. Brazen pigeons were everywhere, they would land on your table while you were eating and approach your plate. All in all, an okay place to stay, but not somewhere I would quickly return.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaWoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We returned to the Silla again for five nights in October 2009. Everything was just as good as before, very good. We did discover more interesting little strictly Italian restaurants nearby with help of the hotel staff Each restaurant that they suggested this time had not been there last time, and each of them were delightful. I disagree with the reviewer who did not like the furniture. in our room the chairs were fine, the mattress was rather firm, and we liked it that way. One might fairly say that the furnishings are not luxurious, however, we were looking for comfort more than luxury.The breakfast service is very nice, friendly, relaxed. This visit confirmed my previous high regard for the Silla.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We spent 2 days of our 13 day Italian honeymoon in Florence. I found a great deal at Hotel Silla online, and we were not disappointed. The location right on the Arno River was picturesque and close to everything. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They not only made all of our museum reservations for us in advance, but also took the time to help us connect with our bank via phone when we had problems with a debit card not working. I would highly recommend this quaint and friendly accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clemmer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews