We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silla Hotel
Ranked #69 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

Excellent hotel. Found it in the Lonely Planet - Italy, then checked Trip Advisor. Great location, away from the 'madding crowd', not too far to walk into main areas. Staff very helpful, especially as we were caught up in the Volcano chaos, and were happy to book extra nights as we needed. Breakfast buffet good, rooms were lovely too. Recommend it! We recommended to friends and they have since stayed and enjoyed it too.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gratchplusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    433
    78
    18
    11
See reviews for
253
543
60
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, SC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

within walking distance to all of Florence.
Helpful staff for local restaurants and how to get around.
Very good breakfast buffet with coffee bar (no extra charge for cappacino or latte).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy_and_Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

My husband and I stayed three nights here and were a little worried that we might be too far from the Center of Florence. However, we actually like being across the river and had an easy walk to every place we wanted to be. WE enjoyed being so close to our hotel when we walked to the church on top of the mountain behind us and listened to the monks chanting! We did have to take a cab to the train station on the last day but that wasn't a problem. The staff was very helpful, some more than others, but the restaurants they recommended were excellent! I would stay there again even thoguh it wasn't the most luxurious place we stayed in Italy.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcmmbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

We checked into Hotel Silla as a result of last minute travel plans. It's hard to find hotels in Florence where they have an agreement with parking garages to park cars. It's very difficult to drive around Florence! Hotel was simple but very clean. The bathroom was very clean and had everything we needed...except facecloths..which is normal in Europe. We were travelling with our adult children, and were able to get a room to accommodate all 4 of us quite comfortably. Easy walking distance to Ponte Vecchico and historic town area.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolingv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

We have stayed in five different hotels in Florence over the past 10 years, and our favorite by far is the Silla. This past New Years (2010) was our fourth stay at the Silla, which has become like a second home to us. The staff is very personable and helpful, the breakfast buffet suits us very well, and the support staff are quite gracious. We have only stayed in rooms 31, 32, & 33, which vary in size (31 is the largest), where the river views are wonderful. Even if it’s raining you can gaze out the window at the panorama across the river. The public areas are small, but our goal in travelling is not to sit in hotel lobbies. While the location is not in the city core, you are still within walking distance, and the nearest bus stop is not far. But for us the location is virtually ideal because of what you find close by in the San Nicolo area:
Food: two of our favorite restaurants: I Tarocchi (pizza!) and Osteria Antica Mescita.
Museums: the newly re-opened Bardini Museum and Casa Siviero.
Churches: tiny San Nicolo is just around the corner, but straight across the Arno is Santa Croce.
And if you need essentials, on the same block are a drug store, a grocery store, and a tabaccheria (for bus tickets).
The location is ideal for early morning walks, up to San Miniato al Monte, or up to Fort Belvedere, or across to the other side.
If you are into nightclubbing (we are not), there are a couple down the street.
If you like to engage in people watching, Piazza Demidoff (with park benches) is directly in front of the hotel.

Suggestion when booking: look for on-line specials, there are often super offers.

It’s the location and the people that keep us going back.

Adron & Jeannine Ming
Carrollton, TX

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

After reading all the excellent reviews and finding a good price, we booked a few nights here for the end of our Florence vacation. We found that it was quite a long walk from the train station and while it wasn't too far from the ponte vecchio, it was quite a distance from the center of Florence. The decor was strange...clean, but dated and dark. The staff was a times helpful, but also some were rude. The breakfast would have been good, tasty food out on the balcony overlooking the river, but this place has a serious pigeon problem. Brazen pigeons were everywhere, they would land on your table while you were eating and approach your plate. All in all, an okay place to stay, but not somewhere I would quickly return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaWoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

We returned to the Silla again for five nights in October 2009. Everything was just as good as before, very good. We did discover more interesting little strictly Italian restaurants nearby with help of the hotel staff Each restaurant that they suggested this time had not been there last time, and each of them were delightful. I disagree with the reviewer who did not like the furniture. in our room the chairs were fine, the mattress was rather firm, and we liked it that way. One might fairly say that the furnishings are not luxurious, however, we were looking for comfort more than luxury.The breakfast service is very nice, friendly, relaxed. This visit confirmed my previous high regard for the Silla.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silla Hotel

Property: Silla Hotel
Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50100, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Florence
#49 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Silla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing