We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Silla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silla Hotel
Ranked #66 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

The Silla Hotel was in an excellent spot not to far from all the main attractions. Quiet area even though there are 2 bars on the same street, no problems with the noise level. The staff at Silla were very helpful. Rooms were of generous size. Would not think twice to recommend this hotel to friends and family and would go back to this hotel on my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    433
    78
    19
    11
See reviews for
256
545
60
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed here for two nights, and would have returned but the hotel was fully booked when we visited Florence again later on our trip. The hotel is situated on the opposite side of the river to the busy areas, but close enough to make most of the sights no more than a 10-15 minute walk away. One word of warning about Florence, if you use the buses from the station, make sure you get on in the right direction as it's not very clear and we weren't the only people to get confused by the bus system! A taxi from the station is only about 10 Euros anyway. The staff were polite - I would say a couple of them were a bit stand offish with us, whereas there was one guy who was unbelieveably helpful and gave us some great tips, so a bit of a mixed bag. Breakfast is continental buffet and had plenty of variety. Overall, we would return here if staying in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boyvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

Thanks to other peoples reviews we booked this for one night in June before moving on to another hotel (not through choice I might add but because of work). The service was excellent- free wifi and use of lap top if need be- all free of charge- friendly staff who took luggage to room and great continental breakfast on the terrace. The hotel is perfeclty located 10 mins walk along the river to the Ponte Vecchio and all other major attractions. Just to the right of the hotel is a great local italian area with great food and wine places full of locals. All in all very satisfied with out choice and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KtHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

We were looking for hotel with florence style, availability of twin room and terrase for a breakfast and for a reasonable value. Hotel Silla meets all the requirements. We booked a room on hotel site for 2,5 month before journey, and it was cheepest because they offered discount for early booking.

Hotel is situated in quiet place, on the other side of Arno river. But Florence historical center is close to hotel: you have to cross bridge for it and that's all.

Double (twin) room is big enough and has all the necessary. Interior is in old style, we enjoyed it. There is room for breakfast on the ground floor, and terrace for breakfast too. When we were here, it was very rainy, that's why we had breakfast in the room only. But the terrace is very very nice.
Breakfasts were exellent. A lot of dishes. Coffee was superb. You can choose: americano, espresso, latte, capuccino, hot chokolate. Many thanks to signiora Lucia.

Very nice hotel which we'll recomend to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

We loved that Hotel Silla was on the south side of the Arno river and out of the fray. As we were driving the fact that they had a garage was a plus and their excellent location for both driving into Florence and being close to the Ponte Vecchia and other sites was terrific. The staff at Hotel Silla is warm and wonderful. Excellent breakfast on the terrace which is beautifully maintained with a garden overlooking a little park was wonderful. Our room was large, unlike other European hotels that offer very little moving around space, very clean and well maintained. All the staff was helpful and friendly. I would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatJour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

This was my third stay at Hotel Silla. This in itself is a good recommendation. Our fourth-floor room looked out over the terrace and the park across the street. It was quiet enough at night so that I didn't need my ear plugs, a rare occasion in Italy. The breakfast buffet was perfect with fresh strawberries, eggs, lots of pastries, excellent coffee and two of the nicest women to wait on us. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with very good foreign language skills. We booked our room several months in advance and received a very fair pre-payment rate. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertNLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed five great days at the Silla Hotel which is located in the Oltrarno and right in the middle of great restauarnts and clubs. The location couldn't be beat within easy walking distance of everyting we wanted to visit in Florence (upper 50's couple). The rooms were as expected for a European 3 star hotel and were always very, very clean. Breakfast was served on the patio amid flowering trees and plants and looked out at the arno. Our room overlooked the Arno and was incredibly quite in spite of being just down the street from some hot new clubs.

The staff was always friendly and courteous at arrival, breakfast every morning, directions and restaurant recomendations. One gentleman even went to the train station for us and purchased our train tickets to Cinque Terre. I doubt very many five star hotels would offer that level of service. When we left early for the train, they made sure that we had our cappuccino that morning as well as some juice, pastries and rolls for the train. It had a calming effect to cross the Arno and go back to our respite on that side of the river. We booked early based upon Trip advisor and received an excellent rate for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncdwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silla Hotel

Property: Silla Hotel
Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50100, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Florence
#49 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing