We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good breakfast, decent rooms, but they bumped us to a horrible room in the basement on the first night”
Review of Hotel Silla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Silla
Ranked #64 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Hotel Silla is a nice hotel in an excellent location that offers a bargain price. The hotel is clean and well maintained, and the breakfast buffet is very good. The room we eventually got was decent (although with the type of rock-hard bed that seems to be standard in Italian hotels). However, our experience at Hotel Silla was marred by an incident that I find inexplicable and indefensible. We booked our room three months in advance. In our e-mails to Hotel Silla, we expressly requested, and were promised, a room with a view overlooking the park and the river in front of the hotel. However, when we arrived on a Satruday afternoon, exhausted after taking an overnight flight from JFK and a train from Milan to Florence, we were informed that there was "a problem" and that they were putting us in a different room for the first night. Dismayed, we asked if it was a nice room. We were assured that it was. Well, it turns out that they put us in a dark and depressing room in the basement, near the staff's lavatories and the storage rooms, with a hallway that smelled of sewage. To make matters worse, there was only one window, above our heads, that faced a wall, and the room was furnished with cheap furniture. It was a disappointing and depressing start to our stay at Hotel Villa. We asked for, and obtained, a modest refund for that first night (21 Euros), but the monetary compensation did not make up for the breach of trust, and frankly the insult, that we had experienced. Consequently, I would not stay at Hotel Silla again, because I would not want to face the risk of being misled in that way.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 12AlbionStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2010

Not much more to say, the staff were extremely helpful even when we ran short of Euros or needed to leave a bag there for a ferw days while we traveled elsewhere. The only downfall is the noise from nearby streets, but that is due to our open window preference (yes they do open) and easily solved with ear plugs.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bicycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Silla Hotel was great. Walking distance to pretty much everything. Clean, very personable staff, great breakfast and wine happy hour. Recommended by friends - good call! Room was basic hotel room - decent size. Nice bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOLATKA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Silla. The staff on the desk are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located across the Arno about 10 mins walk from the Ponte Vecchio and away from the busy areas. It is mostly quiet except when the nearby nightclubs close, but that was only momentary. Good breakfasts are provided. It is quite reasonably priced for the quality.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Babyduck_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Silla for 5 days while visiting Florence. Its location was great - just across the Arno river in a quiet area, but within easy walking distance to all Florence sites of interest.

The Hotel was spotless, our room very comfortable and an excellent breakfast on a comfortable and scenic terrace was included. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome to their Hotel and city.

We will definitely stay at Hotel Silla during our future visits to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYJacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Enjoyed a glass of wine on the terrance in the early evening as well as being close enough to the museums while located across the river a bit distant from the throngs of visitors. One night did have mild street noise, but not enough from keeping me from returning.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teleslipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in Sept 2010. The hotel is spotless and a great value. Staff are friendly and helpful, for example they made our museum reservations well in advance of our arrival. The location is perfect, an easy stroll to the sites of interest but quiet at night. Good nightlife and places to eat close by. I will certainly stay here again if I return to Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonshine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#150 of 410 in Florence
2,059 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
405 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#47 of 410 in Florence
836 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silla

Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £67 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silla 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Silla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing