We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, clean rooms in a nice neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cinque Sensi Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #242 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Affordable, clean rooms in a nice neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Cinque Sensi is a lovely place to stay in Florence. The owner, Stefano, is very easy to deal with and is remarkably friendly and helpful. He offered us a cappuccino upon arrival in Florence- much appreciated after an early morning train ride! The rooms are large and in a beautiful building. We had heard others complain about noise in the building, but we didn't find noise to be a problem at all. In fact, the shutters kept out the light so well that we overslept on multiple occasions. The bathroom was shared with one other room (although some rooms do have private bath). Room tip: save the money and get the shared bathroom! The bathroom was always clean, and since it is only shared with one other room, availability was never a problem.

The only downside at Cinque Sensi was the distance from the old town, which is about a 20 minute walk. I personally didn't mind the distance at all. If anything, it was nice to escape the tourists! However if you don't like walking a lot, there is also a bus stop very close by.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    32
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
42
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

For our first trip in Florence, I was looking for a clean, affordable accommodation in a safe and not too touristy area. B&B 5 Sensi met our expectations. It is a bit far from the Old town but the 20mn walk is pleasant and allowed us to discover the neighborhood away from the hordes of tourists. We discovered an excellent pastry shop nearby where we had cappuccino and delicious Italian danish and croissant every morning. There is supermarket also a few blocks away, very convenient. The trattoria just next to the B&B is very good : we had excellent gnochettis, calzone and salad the night of our arrival. Great way to start our stay ! Upon departure, getting to the train station was very easy with a direct bus line 1 not far from the B&B.

Good to know: The bathrooms are shared, but this was not too inconvenient as it is only shared with one other room. The rooms occupy one very large apartment on the first floor, so like in any old apartment, you may hear doors and neighboring guests, but this was not too much of a problem as hotel guest were quite civilized but if you are a light sleeper and wish to sleep late in the morning, it may be difficult.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchconnection88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights. Booked online, fairly easy to find with public transport. Not so close to the Old Town, but a 20minute walk through the streets of Florence is always welcome, at least for us it was. Every room is very nicely decorated. The building is old and beautiful. Very quiet as well, which cannot be said about the street below :)
Cleanliness was excellent, bathroom was superb (as you can expect from Italians).
On the downside - the heating was awful, and during the night it was quite cold, so we had to ask for extra blankets.
Overall - a sweet and affordable place for young couples, backpackers and for 2 to 4 nights stay :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had a lovely 2-night stay here. It is not right in the heart of the sights in Florence, but it is an easy walk (about 15 minutes) or bus ride. Stefano was very helpful in orienting us to the city and ensuring that we had the room we wanted (I had asked for a quiet room). He also offered to make us a cappuccino when we arrived and when we left--overall, we found him to be the ideal combination of helpful but not intrusive. The neighborhood around the hotel has restaurants, cafes, and boutiques, and we preferred to take our breakfast at a local cafe rather than in the hotel. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parvaneh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

A short bus ride from the center of Florence, we found the Cinque Sensi a very nice place to get away from the hustle of the city after a full day of sightseeing and walking. We stayed at the Cinque Sensi for a total of six nights. The room was large, clean and well maintained. We shared a bath, but never had to wait. Our host Stefano was very informative about Florence and was really helpful with bus and train information... went out of his way to assist us when a scheduled transportation strike was looming the day we were planning on leaving Florience via train (Thanks again, Stefano!) The Osteria next door offers a wonderful menu too!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennismel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

The B&B was a recommendation of a friend due to its location near to the city centre and a fair price. It is a flat in an apartment house with five rooms. Two of them have a one bathroom the others used the commons bathrooms. The rooms are designed individually and they were cleaned every day. Air-conditioning is missing so that the traffic noise may bother you, especially if the window is opened. By walk the centre can be reached in ca. 15 min. but there are also two buses lines in front of the house. The hirer attended during breakfast time and was very helpful to organize museum reservation for example. For getting to the B&B by bus from the railway station you could take the no. 17 because bus lines have been changed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Really nice room - we stayed in room 2, although we had a shared bathroom we never had to wait to use it. Only paid €160 for 3 nights which I think is great value. Stefano the host was helpful. We found bus 1 into city centre quite easy. Nice restaurant right next door which we loved - authentic Italian!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-Marita2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
B&B I Chivi
#370 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
San Marco
B&B Lady Florence
B&B Lady Florence
#246 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
B&B Firenze Citta
#169 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residenza Le Rondini
Residenza Le Rondini
#194 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
B&B A Casa di Virgilio
#110 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Bed & Breakfast Da Mila
#326 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinque Sensi Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinque Sensi Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cinque Sensi Bed & Breakfast
Address: Viale Dei Mille 154, 50131, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinque Sensi Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing