We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good steak! But not 5 stars in my book”

All'Antico Ristoro di Cambi
Reserve with
All'Antico Ristoro di Cambi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #313 of 2,676 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good steak! But not 5 stars in my book”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Saw this place on Rick Steves tour of Venice lol. Decided to go, as we were looking for a break from pasta and pizza. Place seems to have a fairly large local presence, though fair amount of tourists too. Service is friendly and they speak English, though menu was in Italian only. I gather their speciality is meat, and specifically their steak. You buy the steak by weight - they have pre sliced slabs in the 1kg range that are designed for two people. They brought the piece over to us and asked if it was ok, also letting us know the exact weight. They cook the steak one way - relatively rare. It is not heavily spiced just a bit of salt, and I think the idea is that the meat should speak for itself. Overall, I thought the taste was good, though not among the best steaks I have ever had, though I am particular about steak. Price for steak is 40 euro per kilo. Had the prosciutto and mozzarella appetizer as well. Hard to go wrong with that anywhere in Italy. Dessert was a piece of chocolate cake; seemed microwaved to be honest.

Overall, I would recommend, but not quite as good as Rick Steves had led me to believe.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russianoligarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    882
    816
    267
    105
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Good Bistecca!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our table had the tuscan crostini, salumi plate, chianina beef ragu, and the bistecca with beans. Everything was top notch. The bistecca was incredibly tender and had a wonderful taste.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sap0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
128 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing fiorentina!!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Fegatini Toscani and Fiorentina are incredibly good. The place is noisy but the waiters are very friendly and super fast.
Love the Tignanello vine glass too!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lululullina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great steak!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We have been eating so much pasta and pizza as we have spent so much one in Italy! I am excited to be eating italian food but I was so pleased when we came here to get some great steak! It was a welcomed departure from the carbo load that Italy is! The steak was cooked to perfection and had a modest yet perfect taste! The chicken was also very good! The waiter was a bit short and never really waited until our order was complete before he left the table.. but hey... could have been an off night for him! The restaurant is also a great find because it is away from all of the tourists! The steak was 20 euro!

Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fairly inexpensive, and the best steak I've ever had”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Listen up, Americans. Our steak is good, but for a real experience have a bistecca chianina. It's expensive, but it's so darn good. Go here. My Italian friend took me since he remembered a good meal from several years back. Glad he did!

(Actually my "fairly inexpensive" is based on my guess from the menu. Naturally, my friends, being Italian, insisted on paying for everything.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed All'Antico Ristoro di Cambi also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to All'Antico Ristoro di Cambi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing