We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartments”
Review of Residence I Colli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence I Colli
Ranked #98 of 305 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely apartments”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while we visited Florence and were very happy with our room. When we arrived the room was night quite ready by everything was done to get it ready asap - while we waited the owner made us feel very welcome. We were pleasantly suprised with the room as it was actually a mini-apartment with a seperate kitchenette and lounge area. It was clean and safe in pleasant surroundings.

Whilst the hotel is out of the centre of Florence it is about a 45min walk from the main tourist attractions but there are regular buses running from the Piazza 5 mins away, getting around was not a problem for us. An excellent choice for anyone heading into Florence for several days with there own car and wanting to prepare/cook their own meals.

A lovely place - we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bex147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    21
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
21
29
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rebekahkelk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We booked to stay 2 night at the Residence i Colli through Airmiles. We were slightly apprehensive about it since we picked this place as it was the only place we had enough airmiles for, and therefore was the cheapest. But once we got there we were simply amazed at how much we had struck gold!!

The location first of all is stunning. It is just outside the city walls and among so much greenery. Walking around the area you could see quite a few embassies and consulates, so it was a nice, safe, clean area.
The residence was a stunning stately-looking villa, with cottages on the land too. We were in the main building. We were given the apartment(!!) on the top floor (we were only expecting a room!) and we had a kitchenette/sitting area, a hallway with a bathroom off, and a lovely bedroom too. All the decoration was in keeping with style of the villa.

As for location with regards to the city centre, it was fine. It's located just outside the city walls. Porta Romana is the piazza near by which is only a 2 or 3 minute walk away. At Porta Romana you can catch the Bus 11, 36 or 37 into town, which takes 5 minutes. Or you can walk straight into town... it takes about 20 mins to get to the Palazzo Pitti, 25 mins to the Ponte Vecchio. And it's a very easy stroll.
Also highly recommended is taking Bus 12/13 to Piazzale Michelangelo where you get stunning views across Florence. For those who really into their walking, I would imagine the walk would take about 45mins - 1 hour. (You can actually walk from town up to the piazalle too - it's a bit of a steep walk and would take about 15mins).

Every morning at Porta Romana there's a fruit stall, and the fruit is so fresh, or as you walk down the road going into Florence there many bars and cafes where you can have the italian breakie.

All in all, I couldn't fault this place, especially having got it on Airmiles. We will definitely be coming back to Florence, and to the Residence i Colli.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebekahkelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We booked a room for 4, including our 2 college age kids. When we arrived at Residence I Colli were were pleasantly surprised with a very roomy, well furnished apartment, including a grand piano. Plenty of room for all of us in a villa with a beautiful courtyard. We sat out in the courtyard and enjoyed a bottle of wine in our quiet residential neighborhood.

If you are looking for the hustle, bustle of the city, this is not your place. We loved being a 10 minute walk to the city center, in a beautiful, safe residential area. It was a welcome oasis at the end of a day of tourism. The staff was very helpful, although they are not always in the office. You must plan ahead with arrival and departure but it was not a problem. (This is the only reason we did not rate the hotel a "5")

Comfortable beds, efficient kitchen, nice linens all made for a great experience. We would definitely stay here again and have family staying there this week on recommendation. It was a wonderful surprise!

Room Tip: ask for the apartment for 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

this was an excellent, clean and very comfortable place to stay while we were in Florence. it was set on a large estate with a number of cottages in the back of the property, but we were on the 1st floor of the main building.
the room was very clean, comfortable, easy to get to, really nice views and very quiet surroundings. it was nice to just sit in the room and enjoy the fresh air with the windows wide open (and not have to worry about the city noices and car exhaust).
i highly, highly recommend this accommodations if you are looking for quiet and self catering ones in Florence.
oh ... and getting in and out of the city centre was easy as ever with a 5 minute stroll to the bus stop that took us right into the main rail station.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BDinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My husband and I had a comfortable stay here for 3 nights in April. It's in a quiet and leafy residential area and we were given a self contained cottage at the back of the villa. It was well fitted out, big, cosy and clean with everything you need if you felt like making a quick meal if you get sick of dining out. Breakfast is not included so again, you can get some supplies to have breakfast in or go to a nearby cafe. The young lady in reception had excellent English and was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the lovely Boboli Gardens and just further on is the Pitti Palace with it's amazing art treasures. It's also close to the Porta Romana area where you can find a supermarket, cafes, laundromat and internet cafe. If you keep walking down via Romana you come to the Ponte Vecchio and other landmarks so the villa is quite well situated without being right in the main tourist areas.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Turning up you see a beautiful stately home-esque house.. you are then shown to your own little gite.. which was so quaint!!
Sorrounded by trees and flowers it really is a relaxing and tranquil place.. being self catered is great you have you own kitchen and there's a supermarket 5/10mins walk down the road (this will actually save you money!!)
Just a 15minute walk into the centre of Florence.. or jump on a bus and be there in 5!

Very helpful staff who gave us tips and short cuts! and helped us out when we had a night train but had to check out at 10am. Great place to stay in a beautiful area!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bendigo australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

What a pleasure finding a little gem like Residence I Colli. We arrived by car on a Saturday morning a little bit too early for check in. Staff did everything to get our rooms ready for us. In the meantime Carlo - the owner and a film maker gave us a rundown on the history of the place .
We had 2 studios , which were perfect for our 4 night stay in Florence.
Residence I Colli is located just behind the Boboli Gardens and it takes about 15 minutes to walk to the Ponte Vecchio.
Free car parking off the street behind security gates was a big bonus.
Only thing missing in the rooms was a toaster - but I guess the Italiens are not into toast and vegimite in the morning

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timetraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#233 of 422 in Florence
591 reviews
Classic Hotel
#218 of 422 in Florence
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#213 of 422 in Florence
310 reviews
Poggio Imperiale Apartments
#69 of 305 in Florence
76 reviews
B&B Residenza Cantagalli
#242 of 675 in Florence
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence I Colli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence I Colli

Property: Residence I Colli
Address: Via Michele di Lando 7, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 305 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence I Colli 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence "The Hills" was made ​​in the complex of Villa Pignatti Morano, nestled in a park bordered by the Avenue of the hills, a few steps from Porta Romana and just minutes from the pedestrian area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence I Colli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence i Colli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing