We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, wonderful staff, good breakfast, basic clean rooms.”
Review of Hotel Hermes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hermes
Ranked #338 of 422 Hotels in Florence
1 review
“Fantastic location, wonderful staff, good breakfast, basic clean rooms.”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This hotel is a wonderful base for seeing Florence. Patricia, the proprietor, speaks flawless English from having studied in the US. She's a great source of local knowledge and recommendations for good restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyHaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    80
    52
    17
    27
See reviews for
28
138
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed at Hotel Hermes last year due to the reasonable price and proximity to the train station. The immediate area is not very good but it's a 10-12 min walk into the heart of town and the train station is literally across the street. However, the hotel itself is very barebones and I found the bathroom situation to be rather gross. The bathrooms are small and the shower basically gets everything in the bathroom wet. There is a toilet and the European favorite bidet (which they really need to get rid of, given limited space. It's so usless and GROSS). The cleaning staff here is one lady with a dirty mop who we saw clean the toilet and bidet with the same mop she uses in the room...even for the 'decent' price, I expected better standards of cleanliness. Avoid unless you don't care about these things.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingbee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Liked everything about this place except the room we were put in. Aside from being about as charismatic as a prison cell it also suffered from some plumbing issues with the shower turning the entire bathroom and half of the bedroom into a water feature. Maybe you will have better luck on the room lottery!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HaulAss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Hermes in June of 2010, but I am just now getting to writing my reviews. Anyway's, I stayed in one of the rooms with a private bathroom which was very nice and convenient as opposed to a shared bathroom.

The room itself was cleaned everyday during our 3 night stay and the bathroom was very clean as well. There was also a portable air conditioning unit in the room which kept it nice and cold because the weather was very hot in Florence at that time. The room was also quiet and we didn't have any disturbances thoroughout the night.

The breakfast was simple, yet pretty good. It was nice not to have to pay for one meal out of the day because food is pretty expensive in the city.

The reason we chose this hotel is because of its proximity to the train station. As soon as you come down the stairs from the station, the hotel is 2 minutes walking distance across the street. It is a very good location if you are travelling by train to different locations in Italy as we did. And if you want to walk to the duomo or Uffizi gallery or the other sites it is about a 15 min. walk.

And the only reason I gave this hotel an average rating is because at checkout I wanted to pay by credit card and was informed at the last minute that they only accept cash. I explained how is it possible that you only take cash when I reserved online through their website using a credit card. And they told me that they just got a credit card machine a few weeks ago and none of their employees know how to use it. So with 20 minutes before the train leaves the station to take us to Venice, my fiance had to run to the post office to exchange american money to pay for the hotel and we made the train with only a minute to spare. But hopefully they finally taught their employees how to use the credit card reader so anyone that stay's there shouldn't have that problem.

Overall its a very simple hotel, but for the price and location it is one of the better choices in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roblox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I wish that all the hotels we stayed in were like this...

As other people have commented, Patricia really makes the Hermes shine. She's always helpful - she listed several restaurants nearby (and even what dishes to try), how to get the best tours of the attractions and the sites to see (our map was covered with notes and arrows pointing out various buildings or sites).

The rooms are large and airy and the breakfast each morning gets you up and on your feet for a day of exploring and site-seeing.

One thing that Patricia said sticks in my mind. "People arrive as guests, stay as friends and leave as family" and that really does sum up her attitude to her guests.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viking_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

I stayed at Hotel Hermes while I was on a Study Abroad trip in Italy. Patricia and the staff were so accommdating. On our arrival, they gave us maps and great directions to many great places in Florence. She also gave us some great restaurant suggestions. Breakfast was delicious, even though the eating area is a small hallway. The rooms were nice even though the bathrooms were small. It is worth staying just for the great hospitality they provide!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldexplorer1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Hotel Hermes is in the perfect location - literally across the street from the train station and within easy walking distance of all of Florence.

But, even better than the location is the service! Patricia and Rosie are phenomenal! They make you feel so welcome. As an art historian, Patricia knows Florence extremely well and shares many recommendations and little known facts with her guests. She treats all of her guests like family and Rosie makes the best cappuccino you will ever taste.

I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again next time I visit Firenze.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sloncarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#281 of 422 in Florence
232 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#161 of 422 in Florence
382 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#160 of 422 in Florence
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#260 of 422 in Florence
249 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#305 of 422 in Florence
235 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#172 of 422 in Florence
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermes

Property: Hotel Hermes
Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 11, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermes 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small 2 star (7rrooms with private bathroom and 7 which share 3 bathrooms) no frills family run hotel 50 mts. from the main SMN train station and within walking distance of all monuments, museums and historical sites. In Italian, English, French and Spanish we give our guests all the information required to make the best out of their visit to Florence and surrounding Tuscan cities. Cleanliness and cordiality are our priorities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing