We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly welcom”
Review of Hotel Hermes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hermes
Ranked #347 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 25 September 2008

After spending a (pricey) week in Paris, my mother and I were looking for a convenient, clean, but inexpensive hotel in which to stay with my 7 month old daughter while we were in Florence. I searched through reviews on Trip Advisor, stumbling upon the Hotel Hermes.

I can only concur with what others have said before. Patricia, Rosy and the rest of the staff will make you feel like you're long lost family. When we arrived, Patricia had already left for the day, but left a lovely, personal note, urging us to call if we had difficulty communicating with the night person, who spoke limited English. The next morning at breakfast, we met Rosy, who immediately fell in love with my daughter and insisted on holding her while we ate our breakfast. (She or Patricia did this every morning we were there!)

The hotel is close to the train station, as well as within walking distance to the major sights. Patricia will help with reservations to the Academy or Uffizi.

The construction out front cannot be heard in the rooms, which are spacious and spotless. (Slight sewage smell at times in the bathroom - as someone else said, maybe related to the construction.)

Although the hotel did not have amenities for babies, Patricia offered extra blankets or pillows or whatever we needed to make things comfortable for my daughter. (We brought our own bed, so it was no big deal.)

If you are looking to stay within a budget, the 2 star Hotel Hermes will certainly meet/exceed your expectations. We will miss our new friends!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bambinobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2008

Having stayed previously in several hard-to-locate Florentine hotels far removed from the city center, the Hermes was a welcome sight, located only steps from the Florence train station. It is very convenient to all the city attractions and an easy walk to any of the piazzas. The rooms are comfortable, air-conditioned, well-kept, and very affordable, and one would be hard-pressed to find a more congenial and helpful staff. The owner speaks several languages, and can recommend places for sightseeing, dining, and shopping. I have told many friends about this great place!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagnumRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We stayed here only 2 nights in the Italian summer and were very grateful for the well airconditioned, large and clean room. It was very close to the train station and there is only a few flights of stairs up to your room, with a landing along the way if you're struggling!

On arrival, we were so impressed by the lovely personal letter written to us by Pat, the owner, apologising for not meeting us in person that night. She also invited us to a community event being held at San Lorenzo involving free pasta and watermelon!

We thoroughly appreciated Pat's travel advice and enthusiastic hospitality. She also makes a great cappuccino, and has lovely helpful staff.

Unfortunately, the only down point to our stay, was the occasional waft of sewerage smell in our room. We believe that may have been due to the construction work occurring across from the hotel at that time.

We would certainly stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xelar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

The Hotel Hermes is a real bargain for a nice small hotel located in central Florence. Our room with a large window opening into an interior patio was air-conditioned, large, clean and comfortable. It had an attached modern bathroom with shower. Three of us (two parents and a 9-year-old) stayed comfortably in the room for four days. The room had a double bed and a single bed, both with good mattresses and clean crisp linens provided daily. The owner is an expatriate American, brought up in Mexico, who married a Florentine--very charming, speaks many languages and helped book us tickets at the Uffizi and the Academia, and gave us many good ideas for things to see and good restaurants. Our son enjoyed the Cappucino provided with our continental breakfast each morning. The staff are cheerful and helpful and the hotel has a family atmosphere. Many of the guests are Europeans, not Americans. The hotel is across the street from the main railroad station and many buses stop nearby, so it is very easy to get around Florence. We walked to all the sights, however, as it is very conveniently located. Despite its central location, we did not find the hotel rooms noisy at all. I would recommend this hotel particularly for families and students who want to visit Florence, be comfortable, be centrally located, but stay within a budget in an expensive town.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 47yearoldnewmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

At a friend's suggestion, I stayed at this simple and pleasant hotel last summer and highly recommend it. My room was large, comfortable, and very clean. The real attractions of this hotel, however, are its excellent location and extremely helpful staff. The Hotel Hermes is in the middle of Florence, right near the main train station (Santa Maria Novella) -- an easy walk even with luggage. It's an easy and interesting ten-minute-or-less walk to pretty much anywhere in the city. The staff are kind and helpful. The owner knows every inch of Florence. She is a terrific resource. The Hotel Hermes is a great deal. I will definitely stay there the next time I go to Florence -- hopefully later this year!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MissSinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

On our visits to Florence, three since 1998, we stay at the Hotel Hermes. It is located by the train station, the owner is fluent in English, Spanish, French and of course Italian. Staff is always friendly and helpful. We continue to send friends to this conveniently located and clean hotel, and have always had good reports of their stay.
The service has continued to be excellent from our first visit to our latest in 2007.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank happytouristinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

During my stay at the Hermes I appreciated the spotless, spacious rooms, the location, and the friendliness of the staff, but the best part was being able to talk with the remarkable woman who owns the hotel. She is a longtime Florentine with deep roots (and family) in the U.S., so I felt very much at home. Plus I learned more about Italian life and politics in my three days here than from weeks of reading the Herald Trib. I'll stay at the Hermes when I come back to Florence and will be renewing a friendship, not just returning to a great deal on a hotel. Many of the other guests--Europeans, South Americans, and Americans when I was there--seemed to share this feeling. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MargueriteHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#299 of 410 in Florence
242 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#261 of 410 in Florence
255 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#325 of 410 in Florence
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Albergo Giovanna
Albergo Giovanna
#278 of 410 in Florence
53 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#194 of 410 in Florence
701 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#168 of 410 in Florence
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermes

Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 11, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £42 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermes 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small 2 star (7rrooms with private bathroom and 7 which share 3 bathrooms) no frills family run hotel 50 mts. from the main SMN train station and within walking distance of all monuments, museums and historical sites. In Italian, English, French and Spanish we give our guests all the information required to make the best out of their visit to Florence and surrounding Tuscan cities. Cleanliness and cordiality are our priorities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing