We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hermes
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
C-Hotels Joy(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aurora Hotel(Florence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Embassy(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Adler Cavalieri(Florence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Londra(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
c-hotels Club(Florence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
100
81
55
22
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
81
55
22
34
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2008

Just to confirm what others have said - that Patricia is beyond helpful, and will do her best to help you out with any advice - she booked our museum trips for us at no extra charge. We visited Florence for 4 nights with our 13 year old son and had a wondeful time in the Uffizi and Academy and eating at places like Za Za (although the Pound could have been stronger against the Euro!). Patricia is a very interesting host and always gave us her time and attention - thanks Patricia for making our stay in Florence so enjoyable.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank peteali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

When you stay in a 2* property and pay a 2* price, I think we should not expect a 5* property.

Me and my family stayed here for a week in Sept 2008 and we absolutely loved it. Sure it was different from the St Regis Rome where we stayed before coming here but we decided to save money on the hotel and spend it on shopping and were we glad that we did it.

If you are planning to stay in the hotel most of the time, then this hotel is NOT for you. But if you are planning to go out and discover what Florence and Tuscany has to offer, have some cash for shopping and eating and just treat the hotel as a place to rest overnight, then you can't go wrong with the Hermes.

Location wise, it is right next to the train station. There are 2 supermarkets within a stone's throw of the hotel and the SITA long distance bus terminal was also a 5 min walk away. It was convenient to get anywhere from this hotel. Getting to the Duomo and the Uffizi was also easy... Florence is not that big a city anyway.

Yes, there is no elevator and you will have to lug your bags up the stairs but if you book in advance, ask them for a room on the same floor as reception... We did and we got a nice room on the 2nd floor. The included breakfast was basic but good enough to start the day and they made a good cappucino for us every morning to start the day.

Service.... Ah... this was what really set the Hermes apart. When my sis got her mobile phone stolen, Patricia called our hotel in Rome to check without us even asking. She then pointed out the way to the Police station on a map and told us the bus number to get there. We managed to get there with no fuss and got the report made.

She also recommended some good restaurants to us and gave us accurate advice on our trips out of Florence. Her other colleagues Rosie and Paulo were also super nice and went out of their way to help us whenever they could.

Would I recommend this place, I sure would! But only for those who want a clean place with the basic necessities to spend the night. If you are on a honeymoon, you may want to spend more and stay at a nicer place since you won't be leaving the room much. :) But for tourists like me who want to sightsee and shop and just spend about 7 hours in the hotel to sleep, Hermes is a great find in expensive Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailaway75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

I can't believe all of the excellent ratings for this hotel. I just don't get it. Yes, Patricia is extremely helpful, fluent in several languages, and goes out of her way to make you welcome. That said, the place itself is a bit of a dump. It is a very inexpensive hotel in an expensive city, but the whole place was a bit dated, had a institutional odor to it, and had the charm of a funeral home. Walking up the steps to the hotel, my girlfriend and I had to step over a condom, yes, a condom, on the steps. Lots of guys hanging around the desk and hallway. My girlfriend swears it was a house of prostitution. Patricia did arrange a taxi for us the following morning, we stayed only one night, but did give us wrong information as to the cost of the fare. The rooms are clean, large, the bathroom very small. It was passable for one night, but I was glad to leave the following morning and would not recommend it for an extended stay unless you are on a very tight budget and don't care about the look and feel of the place.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jodicarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2008

After searching for a hotel for our six day break,we booked this hotel after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. Its a great little hotel very clean and in a great location near to both the train station and the bus station. The staff are lovely,Patricia,Rosie and Settimio are so helpful and friendly. Florence hotels are quite expensive but this hotel which includes a nice continental breakfast is excellent value. Would definately stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

B & R Liverpool

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We booked this hotel based on the many good reviews made by other travellers on trip advisor.

We were hoping to get some of the pleasant experiences that other travellers have had and well, we weren't disappointed.

Hotel Hermes is a charming, clean, family run hotel, superbly priced and fantastically located in the city and also close to the train station (which we were desperately grateful for at the time as the wheels on one of our bags had been violently dislocated courtesy of a certain airline during our flight to Pisa and so I was dragging a heavy bag at that time).

For the time being there is some road construction going on near the hotel, which is no big deal in my opinion, but this detracts somewhat for the quaint frontage of the hotel, but this construction seems to be well advanced and will no doubt be finished soon.

Having stayed in Florence before, I know the hell that can await in some of the budget hotels in the city. Budget, rustic, accomodation in this city, if you can get it right, pays big dividends as luxury accomodation is, in my opinion, not even close to being worth it in Florence.

The staff are a delight despite some of the language barriers, but this is more than made up for by one Patricia, who takes hospitality to new frontiers - she welcomed us like friends with perfect and eloquent english, booked dinner for us at the last moment by getting on the phone and ringing a local favourite, and made sure that everything was in order at all times during our stay and even afterwards (by email). When we arrived we were also given a map and a quick whistle stop guide to the important sights of Florence. Good stuff! Bravo!

The room we stayed in was immaculately clean, large, with huge ceilings, and venetian style wood windows opening into a small atrium/courtyard. We also had a private bathroom (shower only) which was spotless, fairly modern, a little on the small side, but it was more than satisfactory. With these huge rooms and small corriders, the 'accoustics' of the hotel aren't great and the movement of some louder guests during the run for breakfast can sometimes be heard from bed. Not a big issue, and in fact the only negative thing I can say about the hotel.

Help or assistance is never more than a bell ring away, and Patricia and her staff bent over backwards to make sure we were not strangers in our favourite city in Europe, for which we are very grateful.

We will be back soon (hopefully easter), and Hermes is first on our list as a home away from home.

We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Hamish & Danielle

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamHada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews