We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Fiorentina Steak, entertaining waiters”

Ristorante Mamma Gina
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 4/24
20:00
Ranked #625 of 2,723 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Santo Spirito
Reviewed 3 October 2016

In this review I'll try to give you a sum up of all the other reviews about the restaurant Mamma Gina:
- the food is ok, nothing great however the Fiorentina steak won't leave disappointed (if you are vegetarian, this restaurant isn't for you)
- not everyone will be amazed about the service. The waiters are tired after many years of service but at the same time the find the energy to entertain you in a fashionable way.

Considering these two points I can recommend this restaurant only to foreigners that wants to eat a good fiorentina and get a different service from usual. Some Italians won't love the jokes of the waiters or their arguing between each other whilst serving food.

For families they have a high chair for children however there is no kids menu. (pasta with bolognese will be the most common choice)

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scodeggio_official
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 215 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2016

This was a wonderful experience, the Steak was excellent and the ambience was a perfect neighbor restaurant experience. Service was quick, friendly and the entire meal was perfect!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We came across this place and decided to give it a try. It is just over the Ponte Vecchio, and was pretty full, with several people returning for food. We felt very welcome, and it had a lovely Italian feel to it. I had pici with meat sauce and my wife had aubergine with parmesan, and we shared a wonderful raspberry dessert. The food was very tasty, and the house red was good. The waiter spoke a few words of Czech, so was happy to try them out on us, and we liked the atmosphere a lot. We were very happy to have come here, and enjoyed our visit very much.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nobletim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

This was highly recommended! This is the only restaurant we went to that we felt so unwelcome. The staff appeared to simply ignore us. The food was ok. However, we did not order dessert. We were not giving up another cent! Instead go to La Fettunta! Amazing food and $8 to $10 wine

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank JDV841
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Perfect restaurant for a typical Italian food taste! We had some anti-pasti, perfect charcuterie selection & some prawn avocado salad - very good! Then, home-made pasta Bolognese & chef's special (beef) - again, very good, tasty! Completely worth it, totally recommend it! Personnel is also lovely - typical Italian seniors, very nice and always taking care of you!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Catalina Mrs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Mamma Gina also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante Mamma Gina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.