We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”

Osteria Vecchio Cancello
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 4/24
20:00
Ranked #7 of 2,723 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £8 - £31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Piazza dell'Indipendenza
Description: Lovely family restaurant in Florence center, in a quiet street near the train station, 10 minutes to the Duomo and very close to Fortezza da Basso, with a nice indoor garden. Here you can find Own Organics Wines and Extravergin Olive Oil directly from our farm, located in the middle of Chianti hills. Our Specialties are the very good quality Meat in particular the Florentine T-Bone Steack and Game Meat, Homemade Fresh Pasta and everytime fresh vegetables dishes. The owner's daughter, has dedicated the name of this restaurant to the farm of her uncles, wher she was born and raised.
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Absolutely excellent meal, homely, rustic surroundings and amazing staff!!
Eleanora, our waitress, was extremely friendly and made exceptional recommendations wrt wine & dessert. We had the osso bucco and beef in red wine sauce for second course, ravioli in truffle sauce for first course and meat platter as starter. The paté was exceptional on the starter...
Dessert was apple cake & chocolate cake served with ricotta cheese...and the evening ended with limoncello for me & coffee for him. ❤️❤️❤️

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank 544angelinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 412 of 3,033 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a pleasant, cool haven away from the heady street atmosphere of the San Lorenzo district. The Cancello is such a place. We settled in comfortably and chose starters of prosciutto and melon and Casetorre - wonderful blend of vegetable terrine in a cheese sauce followed by a plate of sliced steak ( not quite the Steak Fiorentina but combining tasty well seared exterior with melt in the mouth, medium rare beef) and a pasta dish like ravioli stuffed with seafood. We washed it all down with fine Montalcino. Service is attentive and pleasant.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank paul_deirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Service was amazing, food was even better.
We came here after a long day of walking and we were sooo hungry!

We tried the carprese to start, it was delicious.
I had the ossobucco with marrow and it was incredible - highly recommend it. I cleaned the plate.

Their deserts are also amazing, try the berries!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We had 1 kg Fiorentina steak with 2 salads , 2 glasses of house wine Cuco if I remember well, and 1 tiramisu for desert. With water it amounted to cca 90eur.
We had a very nice experience with the manager, Eleonora.
Definitely recommend this place!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2017

My husband and I came here last night for a honeymoon treat and did not regret it! We started with the Tuscan cheese board to share; all 5 cheeses, the honey, the jam (couldn't figure out what type of jam it was and forgot to ask!) and the walnuts were full of flavour and absolutely delicious! I even enjoyed the gorgonzola, although I usually dislike blue cheese.

Then I had the octopus and my husband had the quail. Both were absolutely wonderful; the wine sauce that the octopus was cooked in was incredible and it was perfectly tender and delicious, and the quail (which I've never had before) was full flavoured and the bacon crispy.

Even the fried potatoes- which were somewhere between crisps and chips- were exceptional.

The wine was also lovely, light and smooth.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GwendolenSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Osteria Vecchio Cancello also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria Vecchio Cancello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.