We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel,disappointing food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Ranked #10 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Superb rooms and location but the food whether at breakfast or dinner by the pool is very disappointing. This hotel is way too Americanized in a bad sense. The rooms are sublime and so are the gardens though...maybe the thing to do is to avoid the food and just stay there. Don't forget to use the Bentley to get back to the airport!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DukeofMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

983 - 989 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have stayed at the Savoy, and the Helvetia, prior to The Four Seasons. These properties do not compare. Four Seasons IS a property, a rare thing in Florence, actually having beautiful grounds filled with flowers and ancient, gigantic trees, filled with singing birds. The service is incomparable, with Paul Lydka perhaps the BEST hotel concierge we have met in America or Europe. I have heard criticism that this property is "too far" from Florence City Center...that is one of its virtues, keeping one AWAY from the massive and dreaded crowds of Florence!!
Why not enjoy a daily 30 minute walk into the city center? Or take the shuttle? This is not a criticism worth entertaining!
The price of Four Seasons is exorbitant, certainly...so its appeal may be limited, but it should not deter one from a trip to the property and a tour of the magnificent grounds, a glass of Prosecco or Chianti enjoyed while relaxing there...see the property website from details of the amenities and photos...

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room with a balcony facing the gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cardiacwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My only disappointment is that I cannot rate this idyllic spot in a bustling city 6 or & stars.
For years I have rejected the view and oasis of the must-take-a-car-to Villa San Michele or even very-long-walk Villa Cora (recently redone and re-opened) for the close proximity of Savoy or Helvetia & Bristol. I liked to be in the heart of Firenze; a lazy man’s walk from everything I wanted to visit.
But when the Four Seasons announced they were opening, being a 30 yr Four Seasons Fan I could not wait. I was not disappointed!!
They have done a fabulous job restoring the old palazzo and the convent across the private bucolic park.
Sitting in this quiet garden with birds chirping, anytime is magical.
And they have a pool too.
My favorite vitello tonnato by the pool in the rose hued Tuscan sun. To me, that is the paradise painted by Michelangelo.
Before they opened Florence was, to me, always about bustling crowded history crammed into a small area, always with noise and crowds.
Now there is a spot that you can dilute this history and excitement with a tranquil oasis.
From either side of the large property you can exit and take the short 15-minute walk to the Doumo. Or you can take their regular complimentary shuttle into the heart of town quickly, which makes getting home after dinner and wine as easy as being in the heart of Firenze.
This has changed Florence for me from a 3-day visit, preferably not in the hottest July or August to a summer vacation spot. One can both enjoy the fabulous art, history and buildings on the city and enjoy a quiet beautiful resort with good food and great.
The rooms in the main palace are all different and fabulous. They have done a superb job of carving some magnificent rooms and suites from the old building.
The convent across the park was easier for them to redo, and is more what you expect from a Four Seasons room. We liked the quiet there.
The service is Four Seasons superb. The staff was warm and friendly and from various parts of the world.
For me, a frequent Florence visitor this is paradise. For those who are not as familiar with this beautiful icon, they may want to be in the heart of the scene so the sights choose them
I know what sites to choose and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSFlorence, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dearest Guest,

I cannot tell how pleased I was, reading how much you appreciated this property with its fascinating history and peaceful gardens.

I am sincerely honoured to learn that you would have rated us with 7 stars and that you compared us to Michelangelo painting.

After this wonderful acknowledgement, we will do our very best to keep the outstanding service level you received from the staff.

Thank you once again for your extremely positive review, and looking forward to welcoming you back to Florence in the near future.

Sincerely,


Patrizio Cipollini

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Located on the most beautiful and spacious property in Firenze proper...a gorgeous and lush park! WOW! For 5 consecutive nights our room was immaculate, the staff prompt and courteous and welcoming. It really felt like a home away from home. We walked everywhere with no hassles from the hotel. The concierge set up things just as we asked.....perfecto! There is NO NICER hotel and staff in Florence than at The Four Seasons... I promise you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This has to be one of the nicest hotels in an urban center anywhere in the world. The hotel looks somewhat ordinary from the outside which is why, after you walk in, you are blown away by their property. They have nearly the entire city block inside their four walls just for the hotel guests! You can stroll around in the perfectly manicured garden for 30 minutes and have no idea you are in a private yard inside of a major city. Whoever had the idea to turn this into a hotel is a genius. What a wonderful way to stay centrally in a city but not have the stress of staying centrally in a city.

Separate from the property, the staff is professional, attentive, kind, and speaks impeccable English. They pointed us to great restaurants and helped us come up with a very fun sightseeing plan. The food -- especially the brunch -- was superb. Be sure to have a cocktail at sunset on the back patio.

Three cheers for this hotel. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welltraveledsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I visited Florence alone last March and stayed at this hotel for several days. Everyone of the staff recognized me by name. My limousine drive (rather a body guard) was very helpful and courteous. My personal tour guide recommended by the hotel was just perfect. I learned all the history of the city from her. I have to appreciate the warm hospitality of the entire staff and their Executive Chef. It was in this hotel that I had the best scones and suckling pig. Their Sunday brunch was just marvelous. The hotel owns an 11 acres garden which is so beautiful in Spring.

It's a very romantic hotel yet family friendly.

The rooms are spacious with a large marbled bathroom.

Everything is first class in this Firenze Four Seasons Hotel with a taste of italian classic. Will certainly like to go back and recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden is sunny and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank monique l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Will never forget this place, it is an exceptional venue to stay in. We stayed for 3 nights and could not fault a single thing, the rooms were amazing, they saw from our details that it was my birthday and sent up a bottle of prosecco and a (large and delicious!) birthday cake complimentary! The attention to detail was incredible, we have been fortunate enough to say in many lovely 5 star hotels in Europe but the Four Seasons tops all of them, by a long shot!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSFlorence, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dearest Guest,

Thank you so much for posting such a nice review on Tripadvisor.

Reading positive comments makes our job more beautiful because we get to know that we succeeded in making your stay a good experience, that will remain in your memory.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our Four Seasons Hotel Firenze in the near future.

Most Cordially,

Patrizio Cipollini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 410 in Florence
1,312 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 410 in Florence
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lungarno
#9 of 410 in Florence
1,288 reviews
Villa Cora
#4 of 410 in Florence
1,009 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Firenze

Address: Borgo Pinti 99, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florence
#4 Spa Hotel in Florence
#7 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £395 - £1,199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Firenze 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Four Seasons Hotel Firenze. An enchanted city sanctuary in the midst of Florence, where an art-filled Renaissance palazzo and conventino frame a centuries-old private park. Relax amidst original frescoes and sculptured reliefs, graced by sunlight and airy garden vistas. Sip espresso under majestic trees, lounge by the open-air pool or bask in Italian spa secrets. Wonders of the Uffizi and Duomo are a stroll away. Tuscan hill towns beckon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Firenze
Florence Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing