We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, amazing food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Ranked #11 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
174 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, amazing food”
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights in May and throughly enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer. The hotel is beautiful and the grounds are stunning. The pool had not yet been filled but we were advised that this would be done in the next week. The service from all who work at the hotel is what really makes the experience stand out, the staff have obviously been very carefully chosen, and guests are treated like Kings and Queens. The bar has a great selection of cocktails etc but it is the restaurant that really steals the show. The food is incredible, yes you are paying top dollar, but it is worth it. The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring Florence. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairmont123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,240
    114
    37
    15
    8
See reviews for
330
683
37
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Wonderful service, beautiful grounds and spa. Like a resort within the city. Sunday brunch is a must. Rooms very spacious and elegantly appointed. Ask for tour of the hotel - there are two Palazzo buildings, perfectly contrasting. You ned an additional night to appeciate this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1discerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

We always find personal hotel reviews to be a great source of information and often base our initial impressions of a property on the comments of other reviewers. At the same time, we often question those reviews that seem to find minor fault with what others feel is a fantastic property.

Well, now we fall into that later category ourselves. The Four Seasons Hotel Firenze is a really wonderful property with many terrific features, but it also suffers from inconsistent service. It’s definitely a five star property, but with a few flaws as well.

To begin, we must acknowledge that the hotel is physically stunning. A 15th-century palazzo that took seven years to renovate, the main Palazzo Gherardesca building is truly a work of art. The understated front entrance opens into a stunning interior courtyard and a colonnaded room of frescoes. Quite impressive. The check-in desk and concierge areas just beyond are equally beautiful in keeping with the overall design of the entire property. And don’t miss the subtle elegance of the Restaurant - Il Pilagio. It’s a grand building, in all the best ways.

Our guest room, a junior suite on the second floor, had a beautiful glass chandelier above the bed, a separate dressing area and a huge bathroom with all of the latest conveniences. Remarkably, for the first time in our Four Seasons experience we had an uncomfortable bed. It was almost board-like: very firm. When we asked why it was so firm, we were told that past Four Seasons guests have complained about the “soft” beds, so this hotel decided to buy firm beds when they opened. We’ve visited more than one dozen Four Seasons around the world and never complained about the beds - they’re always wonderful. Odd that this one was so out of character.

The large balcony off the bedroom added even more space to a very comfortable environment. And what a view from that balcony! The main Palazzo building looks out on to a private 11-acre park owned by the hotel. The spa, swimming pool and hotel gym (in separate buildings) are here along with fountains, a grotto, walking paths, a coffee house and the back entrance to the other building (the Conventino) at the other end of the park. It’s really a remarkable property and must be even prettier in later spring when all of the flowers are out and the weather is warmer.

Now, on to the flaws. Although we can’t believe we’re saying this about a Four Seasons property, the service here is inconsistent. When a minor mistake happens once, it’s no big deal. Nobody’s perfect. After the third time you begin to wonder. For example, we never received a confirmation for any of our dinner or spa reservations without asking at least once. It’s a little disconcerting when you’re staying at a Four Seasons to wonder if you have dinner reservations and then not know where, when, or how to get there without repeatedly asking and following up. The concierges were friendly, but they often seemed overworked (we counted at least six different people on the desk, but rarely saw more than one person there at a time). We received confirmation of our spa appointments only after asking and then only a few hours before the appointments - a minor point again, but if the idea of a Four Seasons is flawless service that allows you to relax and let others do the planning for you, that doesn’t seem to work in this hotel.

We had minor service issues at breakfast as well (food not delivered), which added to the overall feeling of not being up to usual Four Seasons standards. Had the hotel been full, we would have understood, but we were told it was only half-booked (and the Conventino building was closed based on the lack of traffic). At any other property, these service issues would not have even been worth mentioning. But at a Four Seasons, they really stand out.

The hotel is still less than a year-old, so it’s likely that the service issues are merely a function of youth - with time, they should get better. At least we hope so.

In the meantime, we recommend this hotel, despite its inconsistent service. It is, after all, a Four Seasons. And the beauty of the building and the amazing grounds make staying here an appealing, memorable experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MJPBAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2009

I spent 2 nights at the Four Seasons with my girlfriend recently and it turned out to be the greatest hotel stay we have every experienced. We are used to wonderful hotels but this was in a class of its own and calling it 5 star does it a dis-service.

We arrived on the friday afternoon and were taken to the Royal Suite. Usually a suite had a lounge area and possibly two bathrooms but this was larger then my own apartment in London and I genuinely got lost a few times. The bedroom was simply stunning with original painted ceilings and antiques all over the room. The bathroom had a full steam room, shower, enormous free-standing bathtub, TV in the mirror and several sinks. A hallway led to the lounge/ living room with huge TV, two full cabinets of books, a grand piano and desk area. The hallway was the best though and I urge anyone to check out the photos of the curved ceilings, original flooring and stuning furniture that adorned it. At the end was a dining room and bar for eight people, with a huge chandelier hanging down. No words can do it justics and, as Conde Nast Traveller also wrote, it can only be described as the best suite on earth.

The rest of the hotel was equally stunning. The communcal areas and lounges were all so unique and so striking. We were given a tour of the property by the best PR we have ever met and she explained the history and rationale of each area. We saw the amazing gardens, the stunning spa, the beautiful restaurant (more of that later) and two different ballrooms both the venues from heaven. This is the most palatial and tranquil hotel on the planet and yet it is within a 10 minute walk of the Duomo.

On Saturday evening the restaurant lived up to its promise. Incredible food made from the finest ingredients, attentive staff and a gorgeous setting. Five courses later and we were full but happy!

My review misses off one thing- just how amazing ever single member of staff was. They made what could maybe have been a stuffy hotel be extremely welcoming full of smiles and fantastic ambience.

I did not have a spa treatment but my girlfriend said it was the best she had experience. The food was the best I have had in a long while. This is the best hotel in the world with the best suite in the world and I would be amazed if anyone went there and could disagree.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel_Girl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marietta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Words cannot possibly describe the Four Seasons in Florence. The hotel has only recently opened (6 months) after seven years of renovations. Even though we're in the midst of a global recession the Four Seasons spared no expense in restoring this 15th century palace.

It is set in the middle of Florence about 1.5 miles northeast of the city center on 13 acres of perfectly manicured grounds. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood and you would have no idea that you are in the midst of a metro area of 1 million people. The rooms are spacious and quiet. We had a premier room that looked out onto the grounds and felt while in the room we were in our own Tuscan villa.

The hotel has a spa and wonderful health club on site. The common areas and conference facilities are a museum to themselves. If you get the opportunity take a tour of the conference rooms, presidential and royal suites (adjectives meaning - Unbelievable). The floors have hand painted artwork, 15th century Chinese wallpaper adorning the walls and the artwork belongs in a Museum.

The staff is exactly what you've come to expect at the Four Seasons. Ask for Leo the assistant GM if you need any help at all. You'll also find him entertaining guests in the bar at night to ensure your stay is memorable. The business center while not expansive (why on earth you would come here to work) is adequate and again adored with 15th century art and decor that will have you drifting off to times of serfs and nobility. If you stay here, you're definitely not a serf.

The restaurant was wonderful; although Florentines do not believe that a hotel restaurant can be that good compared to other options in the city. We even had great fish, which is a special treat in Florence.

Wow, just wow.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fugawee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2009

From the moment we arrived the service and charm of the staff were impeccable
Stunning renovations that have been done to keep the feel of the original palazzo with Murano glass and stylish furnishings. The grounds were the original botanical gardens and are where you find the swimming pool and spa, ideal after a busy day sightseeing. As for location if the Boston reviewer had done his homework, he would have known it is not in the centre of the city. This is what makes it a unique hotel for its quiet location but only 5 minutes walk to the Accademia to see David

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbow0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasil
Level Contributor
168 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2009

Upon arival my husband and I were given an upgrade to a deluxe room ,given complimentary cake and wine for his birthday the folowing date and were pampered in every possible way.Concierge was always prompt to call taxis,make dinner reservtaions,front desk was also perfect as were waiters and cleaning staff..It is hard to have a beautiful hotel feel so cozy airy and light..There s a piano playing in the bar every evening and nice iIalian music on Sunday brunchTaxis in Florence are cheap so it s easy to go downtown and back. and one of the nicest trattorias La Giostra is quie near.To top this al they have a special winter rate ..The bad thing about it is all other hotels pale for the rest of your trip.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeansãopaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Firenze

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Address: Borgo Pinti 99, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#7 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Firenze 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Four Seasons Hotel Firenze. An enchanted city sanctuary in the midst of Florence, where an art-filled Renaissance palazzo and conventino frame a centuries-old private park. Relax amidst original frescoes and sculptured reliefs, graced by sunlight and airy garden vistas. Sip espresso under majestic trees, lounge by the open-air pool or bask in Italian spa secrets. Wonders of the Uffizi and Duomo are a stroll away. Tuscan hill towns beckon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Firenze
Florence Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing