We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Hotel--Beds not as plush as most Four Seasons” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Ranked #8 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel--Beds not as plush as most Four Seasons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

This is such a beautiful hotel! I would love to live in this hotel, actually. Right before arriving to this particular Four Seasons, my husband and I had spent almost a week staying at the Four Seasons at the Nile Plaza in Cairo, which is a very different type of property, although just as beautiful in its own way. Whereas the Cairo Four Seasons is ultra modern, the Florence Four Seasons is a renovated former palace--and it is truly so beautiful! Our room was absolutely beautiful, as was the entire hotel. In particular, the lovely bar on the first floor is spectacular and I highly recommend stopping there for appetizers and drinks before heading out to dinner in Florence.

The concierge, Paul, was wonderful! He should be given a raise, as he is 100% there to help guests in every way possible. He gave us some wonderful advice about touring the wineries in Tuscany and helped my husband find wine shippers. He really did go way beyond the call of duty.

There were a few, surprising negative things about this hotel. First, the bed was not at all what I expected. It was VERY hard and as I have a bad back, I was extremely disappointed. After the plushness of the bed at the Cairo FS, I was very disappointed in how hard and uncomfortable the beds in Florence were. When we called to ask if they had a room with a better/softer bed, the staff explained that all the beds were the same; however, they did put some soft padding on the bed, which made it bearable for me.

My husband and I happened to both get ill with colds while in Italy, so one night, we felt so crummy we decided to order room service and stay in. What a mistake! The food was the worst I've had in any hotel--regardless of 4 or 5 stars. I was shocked the Four Seasons should have such low quality food for its guests for room service. Now, I don't know if the restaurant is better if you go there in person but my husband and I would never have dreamed of trying it after the soggy pizza, bland chicken soup, and overall disappointing dinner we ordered. Yuck!

Another small irritation was that after giving us a beautiful basket of fruit upon our arrival, the maid took it away before we were finished with it and I had planned to enjoy a few more oranges and apples--but poof it was gone before we had a chance.

The location is not the greatest in Florence. It's not really a comfortable walk from the center of town where all the nightlife is.

Other than the hard beds, the horrible food from room service, and the too "quick on the draw" maids, I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Florence.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melindaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,179
    107
    33
    14
    8
See reviews for
303
652
37
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

If I could pick what heaven would be like after I die this would be it. Service is unassailable, cheerful. They made me feel like a princess. The rooms are beautiful and the concierges are amazing! Seriously, my very favorite place in the whole world. It's expensive but you'll never be the same after. The best.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pescara, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

The hotel itself is historically magnificent and beautifully restored. The services, the professionalism and the dedication to every detail is outstanding while beauty surrounds you everywhere.
The location is also terrific and walking a few minutes through the streets of Florence to reach the center is by no means a downfall. Everything from our accomodation, room service to dinner was exquisite, we experienced countless personalized gestures during our stay. One in particular was when we returned to find the romantic display of flower petals in the shape of a heart laid on our bed.
The compliments towards this hotel are unlimited so if you are passionate about luxury vacation, art and culture then this hotel is for you to treasure ( Trust, I am Canadian w/Italian hubby and we were both 'wowed' ).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

Excellent service. Professional staff. Beautiful restoration of an old palazzo. Beautiful garden. Absolutely top notch. Location is a little out of way for usual sites, but a great place to come back to after a busy, tiring day.

The rooms are gorgeous. The public areas are jewels, restored beautifully. Fabulous business center with free wi-fi and both Apple and PC in what could have been a small chapel. The most beautiful business center we have ever seen. If you can, you must experience this place at least once.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellow1NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
231 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

We decided to end our holiday trip to Rome with a weekend in Florence. We've always wanted to stay at the Four Seasons Hotel in Florence so it was an easy choice. Surprisingly, quite likely as we booked our reservation on such short notice, the rate was quite reasonable. When we arrived, we were provided with an upgraded room which beautiful. The property was terrific, well located just outside the historic/tourist area but still an easy walk to everything. A highlight of our stay was the service we received, from the front desk, to the concierge staff to the bell staff. Our stay was much too short but quite memorable nonetheless, largely due to our decision to stay at the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donc880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

The Four Season Firenze is an elegant hotel with anazing gardens and a perfect location, but the staff is what puts it at the top of it's class. From
check-in to concierge to waitstaff, the Four Seasons lived up to it's brand in every way. They made our anniversary trip to Italy memorable. Waking up in our luxury bed, large room with huge bathroom and incredible details was lime waking in a palace. The breakfast area and buffet is second to none and the staff takes care of your every need. There is no pretension in these people, they are kind and generous with their time. They take care of every detail and are warm, friendly and courteous. Every city has the must stay hotel and in Florence it is the Four Seasons.... Honestly in Italy as a whole, the Four Seasons is THE hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4MGOBLUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

This truly is the most amazing hotel. from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave.
we asked for a junior suite with a balcony but on arrival we were advised that only 3 of the rooms had a balcony and were no available. We were upgraded to a parlour suite with large windows overlooking the very beautiful garden and didn't need to ask.
The food was exquisite and the service first class. Who ever we spoke to seemed genuinely friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
My wife is a vegetarian and although there were meals on the menu that she could have chosen the chef was only too happy to change the ingredients and on 2 occasions made something special for her.
The concierge was more than helpful and directed to most amazing villa overlooking the whole of Florence for lunch.
Its about a 20 Min. walk from the heart of Florence but the private transfer shuttles you to and from the centre every hour.
If you stay in just one hotel this year stay here you will not be disappointed
Tony and Cathy.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyvaughan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Firenze

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Address: Borgo Pinti 99, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florence
#4 Spa Hotel in Florence
#7 Family Hotel in Florence
#7 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#9 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Firenze 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Four Seasons Hotel Firenze. An enchanted city sanctuary in the midst of Florence, where an art-filled Renaissance palazzo and conventino frame a centuries-old private park. Relax amidst original frescoes and sculptured reliefs, graced by sunlight and airy garden vistas. Sip espresso under majestic trees, lounge by the open-air pool or bask in Italian spa secrets. Wonders of the Uffizi and Duomo are a stroll away. Tuscan hill towns beckon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Firenze
Florence Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing