We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location!”
Review of Corte dei Medici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corte dei Medici
Ranked #67 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We have just arrived from Florence, and we can say that we were lucky to stay there in Hotel Corte dei Medici, located in center of tourist zone - some 50 m from Duomo! Also it is very near (some 400m) from buss and railway station, which is very convenient if you want to travel around Tuscany or to Rome, Venice (or/and other places).
It is just opposite of Medici Chapel of Basilica San Lorenzo. It is little bit hardly to find since it is sharing entrance with Hotel Giada and although we knew that, we lost some 2-3 minutes standing in front of the hotel not being sure where exactly is the entrance and wandering are we on the right place. Plate with name of the hotel is small and just beside the door and reception is on the first floor!
This area is very lively since it is during the day full of tourist that wants to shop various kinds of leather products and souvenirs on open market with street stalls. Stalls continue towards Mercato Centrale which is just arround the corner, were you can buy and eat on the spot fantastic Italian food. In the evening this area of San Lorenzo is place where many tourists and lot of locals come in order to take tasty dinner...
Stuff is friendly and willing to help. Ciao Eva, Simona, Giuseppe and Maurizio!! Thank you on your kind hospitality and assistance!

Not impressed with entrance and lift, we were pleasantly surprised with the rest. Room was clean, very spatious, walls of the room very nicely painted, high ceiling, with 2 windows on the opposite sides of the room, very good sound-isolation of outer noise, air-condition, very specious twin bed with comfortable mattress (we slept very well), clean and functional bathroom, plasma TV, free Wi-Fi, safety-box, small refrigerator with bottle of cold sparkling wine and bottle of mineral water. These and fruit basket were courtesy of the hotel to welcome us.
Breakfest was tasty and emple (buffet), but little-bit monotinious. Since the Hotel Medici is sharing breakfest room with Hotel Giada, it is strongly recomended to book the time for next breakfest in advance, since breakfest room is rather small and all in order not to wait untill the table is free, ready and food re-fillled. But in breight mornng having the breakfest looking through the window on Medici Chapel and drinking real Italian espesso made by Maurizio or Eva you find out how the life is good to you.
We have stayed 7 days in the hotel and sure we will return back on our next visit to Florence!

Room Tip: Room no. 108 is spacious, large and excelent mattress, everything is very decent, it is noise part o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoranmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

We could not.find this hotel because it only meant for those who are searching some hotel through online booking. There was no visible notice that this is th hotel you're looking for. I bet the owner had fooled the tax guy good enough by hiding this hotel presence. We were lucky at the breakfast time we just arrived at the dining area which was only 6 table got an empty table. We felt so sorry that the couple behind us had to wait for 20 minutes before they could had their bfast with dissapointment. Try other hotel. In addition when you sleep use a pair of heavy duty earplug. Hundreds of people are pulling their trolley on bouncy alleyway beside this building since and every 4:30am. They all came from every part of this city to set their goods in the area of san lorenzo and piazza duomo.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yohanesbima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Perfect location, but the wifi didn't work (part of the reason why we booked this hotel), the t.v didn't work, the hair dryer didn't work and the bedroom was dusty and smelt very stale. very average, although the breakfast and service was fine.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gatogatogato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

It's right in the middle of the city. You're everywhere within a walking distance of just 5 or 10 minutes. Just a 10 minute walk from the trainstation. 5 Minutes to the Duomo. The rooms are spacious and clean. I read people who are disappointed about breakfast, but breakfast in Italy is never a big deal. Italians hardly take any breakfast themselves, that's probably the reason, that there is not enough attention for a lot of people. But - compared to other hotels that I've been - this breakfast is great. You just have to ask if there's nothing left of the ham and cheese for instance. I stayed here 3 times now and surely will come back next year!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niekie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Very central hotel 2 minutes walk to the duomo, 5 to the central station. Hotel is very clean, rooms are spacious, air conditioned, very clean and newly renovated. Staff was great and very helpful even guy with glasses that everyone seems to complain about was very helpful to say the least. Breakfast was good, not excellent they could do better. Overall, the hotel surpassed all my expectations and is one of the best hotels we ever stayed in, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pacard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I had seen the review from Lorenzoo before we went and regret to report that things have not improved. Upon checking in we were asked what time we would like to take breakfast and it was explained to us that they had limited space. (just 8 tables). However this did not explain why they would only place three or four bread rolls out at a time. They also left out only small quantities of meat, cheese and milk and as a result people were obliged to ask and then wait for them to get more. These request were not usually dealt with either promptly or politely. Apparently youghurt was also an option but we only ever saw it available on one day of our week stay and I imagine other guests never saw any. This was a pity as the hotel could not have been better situated, it was clean and our room was excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duchessofg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

The low rating given for this hotel is due to the extremely rude and aggressive service we experienced and witnessed during breakfast.

Date of Stay: May 2010.

Booking: Booked through Travel Republic who had the best rates at the time of booking. Paid the full balance on booking and handed in room voucher on checking in. No problems.

Hotel Description: The Corte Dei Medici Hotel is behind a locked sliding glass door on the 2nd floor above the Hotel Giada reception. The Corte Dei Medici Hotel shares an entrance, lift, reception and breakfast facilities with Hotel Giada. The hotel is in a good location on the doorstep of the San Lorenzo church, ten minutes walk from the railway station and five minutes walk from the Duomo.

Room: At the back of the hotel which is well away from the street market on Canto de’Nelli. Being at the back of the hotel we did not hear the street market being set up in the morning, there was just the occasional low hum of the lift moving. The room was spacious and had been fairly recently decorated. However, the room had been more recently decorated with the remains of a few mosquitoes. There were several live mosquitoes in the room when we arrived and it took us a few days to catch them all. So if you don’t want to be mosquito food then take some insect repellent. The TV had one English speaking channel: CNN. Initially we were provided with soap and shampoo sachets, but after a couple of days the unused shampoo sachets disappeared. This was not really a problem, just some what unusual. There was a safety deposit box in the wardrobe as advertised.

Breakfast: As mentioned the Corte Dei Medici Hotel shares self service breakfast facilities with the Hotel Giada. Breakfast consists of a choice of 2 cereals, overly-sweet croissants, rolls, bread for toasting but without any actual toasting facilities, unexciting cheese and ham slices, coffee/teas/hot chocolate for kids. In total there are 16 places/seats for breakfast. The Corte Dei Medici Hotel has approximately 11 rooms and the Hotel Giada appeared to have a similar number. Hence finding an available table could be inherently problematic. Although when we turned up for breakfast at around 8:15 most of the time there were unoccupied but not always cleaned tables.

Arriving for breakfast on five of the seven mornings we were confronted by an extremely rude and aggressive man responsible for the breakfast room. He simply could not cope with cleaning the tables and politely greeting hotel guests as they arrived for breakfast. Despite there being available but uncleaned tables when he was on duty he would bellow at guests that they had to wait, and then grunt at them when he was willing to let them sit down at a table. I don’t think the grunting was down to lack of English as he was perfectly able to speak clearly when he chose to. After we waited for a table he seemed reluctant to put out sufficient clean crockery and food. So inevitably he was asked for fresh cups and food, which he eventually would throw down in a huff. If the hotel guests had just broken into the guy’s house and demanded he gave them breakfast then I could have understood his bad attitude. However, we were all paying guests staying at the hotels he was supposedly working for. As a paying guest in a hotel I have never experienced such rude and aggressive service and hope I never do again. The maelstrom created by this short obnoxious guy with glasses was enough to totally ruin an otherwise mediocre breakfast and tainted an otherwise enjoyable holiday. If you do decide to stay at either hotel watch out for the aggressive guy in clear rimmed plastic glasses he may attack you just for asking for a clean table or a croissant. You may get lucky and catch him on the one in five days when he’s merely manic, as he was on our last day. Alternatively you may only meet the relatively laid back taller guy who seemed perfectly able to run the breakfast room with minimum fuss.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Lorenzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#60 of 410 in Florence
911 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#59 of 410 in Florence
524 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#75 of 410 in Florence
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#44 of 410 in Florence
1,881 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,323 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#80 of 410 in Florence
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corte dei Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte dei Medici

Address: Via del Canto Dei Nelli 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#89 Business Hotel in Florence
#104 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £59 - £602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corte dei Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corte dei Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corte Dei Medici Hotel Florence
Corte Dei Medici Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing