We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”
Review of Corte dei Medici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corte dei Medici
Ranked #67 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Difficult to find is a real understatement. The directions given on their website were also confusing. There is just a small plaque on the wall behind the stall. The elevator is very small. That said the location is excellent. Close to everything. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They were eager to please. If you are use to fine hotels you will be disappointed. If you are use to budget places with local charm you will do just fine. Our room was small but clean. Since we were there during a heat wave we were very appreciative of the good air conditioning. It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Corte dei Medici
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

The place was always clean, the service excellent, good location, good value for the price we paid, and we slept relly well while staying at this place.We'll recomend this palce to my friends.
Thank you.
Maria and Bernard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank BERNARD K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The place is next best to a hostel basically. You will get that feeling when you check in their reception area. The staff was very nice though. Our room was tucked away in the back i prefer it being a one big room instead of a sorta one bedroom. It just wasn't like the photos at all, however the bathroom is updated and more modern style. We had a fridge in our room but there was a moldy cheese in there and few rotten fruits so that makes me wonder if the rooms are being cleaned properly or cleaned at all and oh boy did that stink up our room and since we were constantly needing bottled water, we had to open and close that fridge several times.

I would not stay there again if I was to go to Florence i would spend the $$$ to get a descent "hotel" instead of a motel style/B&B. Glad we were there only for 1 night. The area was okay but because it is in the markets area once again it's a little shady.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesie_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Good day to all travelers,

We are a family of 4, with young kids. Went there for a 2 night stay in Florence. yes, it was tricky to find but this is Italy.... lots of little street and markets! Be aware that the door is indeed behind one of the stall of the market but you can ask them once arrived to San Lorenzo Market and they will help you find it... sometimes the jewels are hard to find... :)

once you arrive you have an elevator so it's easy to bring your luggages to your room. We had a family room with windows to the little street which was cute, spacious room wih air conditionning and cleanliness was my musts, the rest really didn't care... it's not a new building, you are staying into history... so don't expect modernity, you are there only to sleep!!! and this place was wonderful for this.

Breakfast was included and you have to reserved the day before seeing there is lot's of people and they want to make sure there is food and space for eveyone, which is normal...just reserve!
Food was very good and you have plenty of if so you are good to good until your next snack (which for us was gelato @ arount 10am...lol).
The staf was very nice and courteous. They helped us to find good places to eat - which I can tell you right away, one of my favorite was Garibaldi restaurant which we went a couple of times...it's at the end of the corner street, but there are others.

Everything is at walking distance. So we never took the car... oh yes, important information:
if you travel by car, park your car at the market San Lorenzo which is near by and ask the reception for the daily parking ticket since they have an agreement with them and it is absolutelly cheaper then if you pay the market parking directly!

everything was faboulus and I dare you to climb the stair to the clock at the Duomo, was breathtaking.

CIAO a tutti a CORTE DEI MEDICI!!!
Lara & Family,

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LARAGIUSTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Little confusing to find - got there in the morning and was a bit discombobulated with the market going on. The place is actually part of another hotel so when you book make sure you have the details. The doorway was actually behind a stall so it was not easy to find. I had written the directions to get there from the train station and might be able to repost and share. In any event, its close to the train station - make sure you walk out the FRONT of the train station.

The place is in the San Lorenzo market, which is great for shopping. My room was facing a courtyard so there was no issue with noise - I imagine if you were out there on the market side it might be noiser.

Rooms were clean, breakfast was great, convenience - you could walk directly to Ponte Vecchio in probably 15-20 minutes and there are tons of shops, etc along the way.

Florence is not the Florence of 15 years ago - its changed so much and not for the better. But that hotel is great.

If I went back to Firenze and chose this area again, I would stay here again. They were really gracious and friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Chan C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I just took students to this hotel. While the location is very good for touring and the rooms were quiet and we had a nice view, the rooms were very worn (carpeting old stained and over perfumed with carpet powder, cheap comforters and cheap minimal and soap in bathroom). The management was also less than amenable. They did not give us the wake-up call we asked for, and the balding strange man with glasses we dealt with in the extremely small breakfast room ordering everyone around, arguing with both staff and guests, was awful. This could be a good place to stay, but they need to review the meaning of customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank italyprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#58 of 411 in Florence
501 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#83 of 411 in Florence
1,180 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#56 of 411 in Florence
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#53 of 411 in Florence
1,246 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#54 of 411 in Florence
800 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#52 of 411 in Florence
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corte dei Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte dei Medici

Address: Via del Canto Dei Nelli 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Business Hotel in Florence
#104 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £76 - £619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corte dei Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corte dei Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corte Dei Medici Hotel Florence
Corte Dei Medici Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing