We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (711)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveller rating
347
288
51
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
288
51
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews corte dei medici homemade breakfast train station excellent location san lorenzo tea coffee making facilities leather market breakfast room recommend this hotel breakfast was included choose this hotel within walking distance third floor quaint hotel the hotel staff would definitely stay here again big room
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 711 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great hotel for its price and star rating. Right in the centre , where all the beauty and action is in florence, A comfortable large room welcomed us after having to squeeze in the smallest elevator I have ever seen, Staff ooze courtesy and provide the personal touch to make you feel at home, Room rates are very reasonable for Florence and I have previously paid twice as much for a more impersonal reception. The nearby San Lorenzo market is also a welcome change from the marvels of its renaissance culture,

Room tip: Ask for a second floor room
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank algan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cortedeimedici, Front office manager at Solo Experience Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear guest,
thank you so much for your review.
All the staff members make their best to welcome our guests.
The position of the hotel, as you underline, is perfect to visit Florence.
I apologize for the small elevator, we had to adapt it to the space we have, at the end of the works we will have a larger one.
We wish to welcome you again.
Regards
Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and had very good stay, cannot complaint about anything. The room we got was really spacious considering it was classic double, with lovely clean bathroom and towels changed daily. Breakfast included in the rate was good enough and varieties to chose from (bread, ham,cheese, muesli, pastries,cake,fruit) with a staff making you a cappuccino! Very good for the price we paid! The reception recommended restaurants to eat and we tried one just few minutes away and it was really nice! I would definitely recommend this hotel to the others if you look for reasonable place to stay in the heart of Florence!

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishiaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cortedeimedici, Front office manager at Solo Experience Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review.
Your appreciation make us love our job.
We know it could be hard to choose a good resturant with all the Florence offer, and it is a pleasure for us to help you.
We hope to welcome you again.
Regards

Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

It's difficult to imagine a more perfect location for a tourist. The hotel spills out onto a large leather market and is only 4-5 minutes walk to the Duomo and a further 8 minutes walk to the Uffizi Gallery. It's also only 5-6 minutes walk from the central train station and is surrounded by restaurants, bars and gelati shops in all directions (best vale, best food restaurant we found was Trattoria La Burrasca near the main market in Via Panicale and the cheapest gelati we found - $1.60 € - was in Via Faenza, both just one block from the hotel). Breakfast was the best we'd had in Italy and the rooms were fine. We had a family room comprising one double and two singles, with enough space and an adequate bathroom. You could also enjoy a free tea or capucinno in the dining room throughout the day ir use the communal area to sit in if needed. At 90 Euros in Winter for a family of four, we could not be happier with this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carperdiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cortedeimedici, Front office manager at Solo Experience Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Guest,
thanks from my heart for your wonderful review.
The staff and me are delighted to know how much our guests appreciate hotel Corte dei Medici.
Hoping to welcome you again.
Best regards
Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Corte dei Medici is indeed hard to find, but thanks to TripAdvisor reviews, I knew to look out for the small building with the green shutters behind the stalls of the leather market. It is actually less than a 10 minute walk from Santa Maria Novella station, all you need to do is get into the "maze" of the plaza and follow signs to "San Lorenzo Market" and there you will find the little street that the hotel is situated upon.

The hotel itself is quite small (elevator only holds 2 people) and seems to be going under renovation, as the hallways look fairly new compared to the rooms. The rooms themselves are quite spacious, bathroom is a good size (and bonus! heated towel rack!), and there is small balcony-like space. The beds are standard, kind of hard with lumpy pillows. The room is dim, wish the lighting was better, but not a huge deal breaker.

Staff is kind and helpful, breakfast is "meh", but location cannot be beat. It is an easy walk to all of Florence's main sights: Duomo, Ponte de Vecchio, Uffizi, shopping, etc.

Since TA doesn't allow half points, I gave it a 4, but it was more of a 3.5 experience.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cortedeimedici, Front office manager at Solo Experience Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest,
thanks for your review.
I am sorry if it was hard to find the hotel cause of the market. From 24th Genuary the stalls in front of Corte dei medici have been removed so now it is easier to find us.
At the moment we have only 14 rooms but we are working to enlarge and renewing the hotel, in the future we will have a larger lift and more moderns rooms (some are just ready, I am sorry you had not one of them).
I apologize for lumpy pillow you find, have you tried to ask a new one at reception? The staff would have been pleased to help you!
I hope you will come bak to see the result of the works!
Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on the first week of November, 2013. We were very pleased with the service quality. The location of the hotel is very central, we even walked to the Michelangelo Hill on foot!!! Piazza Signoria, Republica and Duomo are within walking distance. Our room was facing to the Medici Chapels and we could even see the Duomo from our room window! Room was large enough. The hotel is clean and staff is very helpful. In front of the hotel there is a local open-air bazaar for touristic goods. The only problem about this is that the rooms facing the Chapels are a little noisy during day time.

Room tip: We stayed at the room 102
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ezgi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cortedeimedici, Front office manager at Solo Experience Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear guest,
thanks for your kind words, to know how our guests appreciate the service we give them make us love our work.
I hope to welcome you again in the future.
regards
Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews