We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful way to see Florence”
Review of Family Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Family Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

For us, to stay in an apartment beats a hotel any time. The location here was excellent, a view over Piazza Della Signoria and lots of food stores and a supermarket around the corner, makes for the most relaxing city holiday you can find. Doing pretty much what you want, sightseeing, eating, resting, at any time you want since it's all at your doorstep and leisure. This is what you get here.

Service was excellent. The owner Umberto was easy to communicate with per email, and he and the housekeeper, Barbara, extended their services to make our arrival and departure as easy as possible w.r.t. time and luggage etc.

The rooms are clean and nicely equipped. Sleep quality was actually no problem for us, but it must be admitted that the square is busy until around midnight (as far as we know). In the morning the preparations and garbage men start early, but it is a nice way to wake up, hearing the city awake. Anyway, it was no problem what so ever for us to sleep.

We miss 'our' flat already.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jan Even N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

My friends and I try to visit Florence at least 2x a year and we always stay at Signoria Apartments. The service is incredibly helpful and friendly. The apts are spacious, clean and within perfect walking distance to the major sites and shopping areas. I highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynthiakwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi Cynthia, thank you for your revew!
One of the best part of our job is to meet every day lot of people, but we' re sorry when they leave, because we know that most of them will never come back to Florence. We' re really happy to see our guests, like you, more than one time. Every month we have news that we like to share (are you following us on fabook?). For example from March 2013 we have four new apartmens, and we' ll get other ones soon, so you have the chance to choise the best one for your needs!
Hope to see you soon again!

The Staff of Signoria Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The office is a bit difficult to find but the staff were helpful and walked us 10mins away to the apartment. They have a separate apartment near the university which is where we stayed. It has a lounge/dining, a bedroom and ensuite and a small kitchen. There's a little attic bedroom which our 14yr old immediately chose over the sofa bed in the lounge room.

It was an OK apartment, a little dated in decor but large enough for us. We didn't cook so can't comment on the kitchen but did wash a load of clothes - unfortunately, we only realised after we put them on that there was no dryer. I'd really recommend adding one.

The bathroom was a little odd (so many bathrooms in Italy seem poorly designed). The shower is open with no shower stall and sprays directly onto the toilet. You had to move the toilet paper to have a shower otherwise it would be soaked. The toilet was also leaking.

An OK stay but I'd recommend updating the apartment soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozallens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for this accurate review, we' sorry you' re not completely satisfied of your staying.
We need this kind of review to improve more and more our apartments and to help us to know what we have to change and specially what you would like to find inside them.
We want to advise you that we followed your suggestions about the Library Apartment, we made a complete restoration of it: we restored the bathroom extending it and putting a "real" shower inside and we changed the furniture with a more modern one.
About the dryer in Italy we use to dry clothes on the drying racks and they are in every apartments, we also have a dryer in the office so if someone need to use it, it could come here with clothes and we can dry them for free (sorry if did' t advise you about it).
Hope to see you again in Florence, so we can show you all the news!

The Staff of Signoria Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Our apartment was in a great location near beautiful Piazza Della Signora, making it easy to get to Palazzo Vecchio, Uffizi Gallery, Santa Croce, etc... A short eight minute walk to the train station. The apartment was a tight fit for six, however the location and newly updated amenities made up for the lack of space. Like all of Italy the apartment had lots of stairs, but the staff met us at the apartment to help us carry our luggage up and down the stairs. Additionally, they allowed us to leave our luggage after check out so we could do some last minute sightseeing and provided lots of help with directions and recommendations for places to eat. The definitely believe in offering great service, communication, and clean accommodations. I would recommend them to others and stay with them again myself.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladonnasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for the fantastic review!
As you said in Italy is really difficult to find places with elevators, specially in historical centers, so we always suggest to read the descriptions of them to know where they are located (we have also apartments on the ground floor) and if there' s or not the lift. Anyhow we are pleased to help you with luggages at the check-in and at the check-out.
What a better position to visit Florence? Palazzo Vecchio and Uffizzi Gallery are just around the corner, and Santa Croce, the train Station and Pitti Palace which are at the extremes of the historical center are only ten minutes walking away!
We' re really glad that you recommend to others to stay with us, we hope to see you again here!

The Staff of Signoria Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

As noted several times, this apartment has an incredible location in Florence. In addition, the service is excellent especially by Fabio who will do whatever he can to make your stay more enjoyable. We needed cotton pillows for my wife's feather allergy, and he ran out and got them for us. He responds very quickly to all problems and issues. If you are sensitive to noise, then I would think twice about renting this apartment as it is so well located that you are literally above one of the most popular streets in Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if you do not like steps and away from the main streets if you are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EncinoJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi Jason, thank you for your review!
It' s really satisfactory for us that our work is appreciate from our guests and if we have the possibility to improve their staying we don' t think twice about.
We' re sorry for the noise but as you wrote your apartment overlooks one of the most important streets in Florence. We have also other ones more silent, located in other places or which face to internal court, but of course the view is not the same: it' s priceless to watch all that people in Via Calzaioli doing shopping and eating ice creams, they' re so happy and they transfer this happiness inside our apartments. The choice of the place it' s really important and we are always able to suggest the best one for any need.

Best Regards

The Staff of Signoria Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A great location right in the thick of things. One street back from the ufizzi and the palazzo. We had the orange apartment. Travelling with our 2 older children who are 13 and 15. Surrounded by 100 gelati places, the kids were happy. Our apartment was ready on our arrival. Quite a few steps up to the elevator to put our luggage in the lift but these places weren't originally designed to have lifts so you can understand it. Our apartment was huge and the kitchen was well decked out so I was able to cook a couple of nights and manage very well. After a few weeks of eating out, our boys were happy to have a couple of nights eating in so they could relax and catch up on their Internet interests. The wifi didn't miss a beat which was a relief. When travelling with teenage kids, its nice that the wifi is reliable. It seems to be one of the major factors that influences how they rate an establishment!! They had on site management during the day and the management were most helpful offering advice on things to do and always happy to help out. Fabio was fantastic. We had a great time in Florence and the apartment was fantastic. I'd have no issue recommending signoria apartments to others or staying with them again in the future!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi Mariejohn, thank you for your great review!
Our orange apartment is really suggest for kids: they want to be in the center of everything and they have the possibility to "touch the street" being inside, so you had the possibility to relax some hours without make them nerve. To serf on internet is also very important for them and all our apartments have free WiFi, but we think that the major factor that influenced your ones were ice creams!
The historical center it' s full of places were you can eat good specialties of Italian cuisine and we' re really interested to know what you think about (we always ask to our guests what' s in their opinion the best place where they tasted an ice cream, where thy had a good dinner ...), so we are updated every day and we' re able to recommend wonderful places.
Hope to see you in the future too!

The Staff of Signoria Apartment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this place is its location. The one bedroom we stayed in is about half way between ufizi and duomo so it's right in town. Walking distance to everywhere including leather markets and ponte vechio. Stairs were a bit annoying but probably a good thing given the plethora of delicious gelato stores on that street. Only a 10 euro cab ride from the train station (well it was when we were there). Room was clean and the service was really friendly and helpful. They give you a map and show you where you are compared to other attractions which really helps. If I ever go back to Florence I would go back here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceNewcastleAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#62 of 410 in Florence
815 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#43 of 410 in Florence
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Forte16
#2 of 326 in Florence
502 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#3 of 326 in Florence
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Apartments

Address: Via Dei Cimatori 16/R, 50122, Florence, Italy (Formerly Signoria Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 326 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range: £71 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Family Apartments 1.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Apartments offers a selection of apartments for rent especially equipped to accommodate families during their turistic stay in Florence, providing all the comfort and a 24/7 assistance, for a peaceful holiday, away from the everyday stress. Our apartments are fully equipped for parents and children, with all the necessary for daily needs and also fun for the whole family. For you this means : Certainty from the booking not to have the usual stay in Florence, but a specific service to meet the needs of the whole family; Family Apartments guarantee the availability of its apartments and staff. Family Apartments staff is available 24 hours/24, 7 days/7 and is ready to intervene for any eventuality or need in less than 30 minutes from the call ; Family Apartments can meet the really important needs and resolve important matters in case of need of medical care for example; More rest and fun for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Family Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signoria Apartments Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing