We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Family Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Since booking the Lungarno Apartment in April, we learned about the Mondiali di Ciclismo and the fact that it ran right in front of the apartment. What we didn't know was how hard it was going to be to get to the apartment. I hired a cab to drop us off at the corner of Lungarno della Grazie and the Ponte Grazie bridge. But we had to walk with luggage through a tight corridor to Santa Croce, around the block and wait for a long queue until we could cross the race and then walk a long corridor back. My wife was having knee problems and I would NOT have booked this if I had known the reality. When I expressed my unhappiness, I was basically told tough. I believe that they deliberately withheld information so we would not cancel. The apartment was nice, but the Moniali made it much less enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Racer042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest, thank you for your review. We completely understand the difficulties you may had due to the Mondiali of Cycling. Florence, as you noticed, it is a small medioeval city and this is something that anyone who visit it knows since the beginning.We need to inform you that - as you already wrote - you were aware of this event while booking. We did not withhold any information from you ( even because this is not an event that can be held as a secret ). Our staff was/is at your disposal for any need you may had. Best wishes, Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

WARNING - THEFT

We started out thinking this apartment was okay value. It's extremely basic, but good location. However, after a week there, someone stole a number of our belongings from the apartment. It was clearly an inside job, as there was absolutely no sign of forced entry and the door was definitely locked. If you're thinking this wouldn't be an issue for you because you don't leave anything of value in the room, think again... They even took my shoes and clothing. When we reported the theft to the employee at reception, he acted as though we were lying, and refused to call the police for us until the following morning. Needless to say, we checked out a week early as we didn't feel safe staying there when someone untrustworthy obviously still had access to the apartment. We were not offered any sort of refund for the early checkout.

We have travelled extensively worldwide and in Italy (including Naples) and have never had an issue before. All in all, we regret ever booking at Signoria Apartments. Unless you plan to carry every article of clothing and every pair of shoes with you each time you leave your accommodation, and don't mind barricading the door so that you can sleep safely, I would advise against staying at Signoria Apartments.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Libra419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danilo1, Proprietario at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest

we read with attention your review and we're very sorry about your staying, and of course what happened is not good for anybody.

We are taking care about this case already, we just started an internal investigation; anyway we are 100% sure, that it has not been our staff member's faul, the accusation that this theft is an internal job is something that hurts deeply.
In Italy there is a period of work depression, and it is also not convenient for anybody of us to risk the job in this way, especially during the time that you mentioned, between 5:30/7:30 when the all the staff were working downstairs at the reception.

In addiction we are daily working for the safety of all our guest, by putting cameras in the common area and looking to the entry.
We already change the lock to the main entrance and to the apartment.
We also think that a thief may have entered through the window, and we are working also to install the grates.

We want that this unpleasant incident will not tarnish our good job made it till today.

There are just two things that we would like to argue:

1) is not true that our staff treated you as liars or that they did not want to make the police report the same day, it was you who ask us to make the report the next day as you wanted to make an inventory of things missing in 'apartment first.
On the next day, our receptionist called the police, and they came here at the reception, to make the report, taking all the receptionist's I.D. How can you say that we didn't want to call the police?

2) we wanted to make a refund of the last 4 unused nights, but you left so quickly that we do not have given the time, and for that we are very sorry.
Please contact us directly and we will arrange the refund of the remaining nights.

We also remind that inside the apartment there is a safety box. Every apartment is provided of.

We are very sorry for what happened and we hope that such unfortunate incidents do not happen nevermore!

Sincerely

Danilo Beltrante- Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Excellent location at the heart of Florence, we rented a 2 bedroom apartment which is huge for me and my family (5 pax) kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need - it's only a pity as we haven't had time to use it as we are out the whole day and too tired to cook anything when we come back in the evening. The location is superb, very near Duomo and Piazza Dela Signoria,few minutes walk to Ponte Vecchio, with lots of shops, restaurants, gelatteria and souvenir shops- what more can you ask. Very helpful staff, not that we ask too much but , they are always willing to help when needed. We will definitely stay there again if we will have another chance to visit Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi Lani, thank you for your review!
We are really happy that you liked our Two Bedrooms Apartment, it is bright and spacious, with high ceilings, elongated windows and prime views of lively Via dei Calzaioli. It is ideal for family like the your one thanks also to the kitchen (we hope you have the possibility to use it next time), although is difficult not to be influence by the good smell of the restaurant of the Historical Center! See you next time if you have the chance to visit our city again!

Regards,

The Staff of Signoria Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The customer service is great and so are probably some of their apartments, but unfortunately not the one we had, La Corte. It was clean, modern style furniture, the floor all marble. But, it was also dark (few and small windows), looked already a bit run down and it the neighbors food smell was hard to miss. All in all acceptable for the price, but not a place we would want to stay longer than the 2 days we did.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ihaveaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest, thank for your review. Regarding the ''darkness'' we are sorry if you felt uncomfortable. Being in a historic building it is a usual structure that some of the apartments do not have the necessary brightness. Best wishes, Executive office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The apartment was in a great location with all the amenities and the staff was accommodating of an early check in and helpful with other requests (calling for cab, restaurant recommendations etc.). We originally booked the apartment with the intention of using the kitchen to cook some meals but never did get around to doing it, so for us it turned out to be an overpriced option (we paid $1500+ for four nights for a two bedroom apartment). There was nobody on site at the office during the late hours which made us a bit uncomfortable. We had a situation of the electricity going out when we ran the washer and thankfully someone was available to help but just the thought that we'd be on our own if it had happened overnight, was a bit disconcerting. No complaints about the apartment itself -- it was clean, well equipped with all the amenities, and within stone's throw of all the major sights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Virginia, thank you for your review. Regarding the value of the apartment, it is something that you booked and you already knew it from the beginning. We understand that being around all day after a very busy day it can be weary for someone to cook any meal, but this is up to the clients and the value of the apartment ( which is one of the most competitive prices in the city ) cannot be a negative reason for the price. As for the hours that you did not found someone at the front desk, we remind you that our structure is not a hotel, and respects an other time slot ( from 2.00 am - 8.00 am) and this is also described in our site. However for any problem you might had you could have called the emergency number which was given to you at your check in and someone of our staff within 30 minutes would have come. Best regards, Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The apartment given to us (5 people) was beautifully crafted in an old house in the third floor with all the amenities. The location was the best asset, just few steps from the Piazza della Signoria, totally worth the money we spent for three nights in Florence (around 1000$). Simon met us at the corner of the house and helped us with the luggage, a msut appreciated gesture having to get up three stories up through the narrow stairs. The he took us to the office situated at a walking distance and also fixed for us a garage to park the car. Everything worked perfect in the apartment, the AC with the remote in both the living room and in the main bedroom. The apartment has a second floor with another bedroom with a double bed and a third on with a powder room with one sinle bed. The master bedroom in the main floor has also a double bed and another single. Totally 6 people could fit in easily. I highly recommend the service provided by the Signoria Apartments if you are a family and want to be in the center of Florence.

Room Tip: I do believe all apartments share a centric location, but always call them ahead of time to secure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi Raul, many thanks for your review!
We know that is hard to move form city to city by car, to find a parking place, to carry luggage ... it' s for this reason we help, as possible we can, our guest with their need and doubts, so once you are in the apartment you have only to think how ot enjoy Florence.
We' re also happy that everything worked perfect, we are very keen to maintenance!
Designed to be comfortable for up to 6 people, it's a great choice for parties wishing to explore the city together while returning to the seclusion of separate sleeping quarters.

Greetings,

Signoria Apartments Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

11 Borgo Santa Croce - the sidestreet to Piazza Santa Croce. The apartment suited our needs very well. Its central location made it very handy for all of the major sights - at an affordable price. The facilities were also as advertised - all very modern and 21st century, including good air conditioning. The apartment was also cleaned in the middle of the week at no extra cost too - which wasn't advertised. The office staff were also helpful for booking taxis - excellent English speakers, and sympathetic to those who like to practise their italian. Also good at telling you about local sights to visit.
On the downside, there are 72 steps up to the third floor with no elevator - but this was advertised and accounts for the reasonable price in such a central location. Some smell from the drains when sitting out on the terrace but this may have been because of the very hot weather in August 2013.
For those looking to save money, you could also fly to Pisa on the budget airline (cheaper than flying to Florence) and catch the regional train to Firenze SMN, which only takes an hour and costs about 8 euros. Taxi then costs about 10 euros to the apartment - good idea if you have suitcases - there's a taxi rank at the train station. You then just ring the office at 16 via della condotta and an English speaker will come on a bicycle and let you in - within about 10 minutes. One of you will then need to walk the 5 minutes to the office to pay when you arrive - not a chore since you pass the Piazza Signoria! .
All very transparent and honest. Bit more of the real Italy than a package holiday too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi Ian, thank you for your comprehensive review!
As you said Pisa is the cheapest solution to get Florence by air, you need only to take a train or a bus and in one hour you are already in the middle of Florence, then you can get a taxi and in 10 minutes you' re inside the apartment!
Our apartments in Borgo Santa Croce are perfect during summer time because of their terraces, we are sorry that you were not able to make the most of them, you' re right, this August was very hot, so maybe you spent your time inside, where air conditioning helped you to forget the incredible sun of that period.
Hope to see you again in Florence, perhaps in the cold months! :)

The Staff of Signoria Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#53 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#62 of 410 in Florence
816 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#44 of 410 in Florence
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Forte16
#2 of 326 in Florence
503 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#3 of 326 in Florence
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Apartments

Address: Via Dei Cimatori 16/R, 50122, Florence, Italy (Formerly Signoria Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 326 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range: £67 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Family Apartments 1.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Apartments offers a selection of apartments for rent especially equipped to accommodate families during their turistic stay in Florence, providing all the comfort and a 24/7 assistance, for a peaceful holiday, away from the everyday stress. Our apartments are fully equipped for parents and children, with all the necessary for daily needs and also fun for the whole family. For you this means : Certainty from the booking not to have the usual stay in Florence, but a specific service to meet the needs of the whole family; Family Apartments guarantee the availability of its apartments and staff. Family Apartments staff is available 24 hours/24, 7 days/7 and is ready to intervene for any eventuality or need in less than 30 minutes from the call ; Family Apartments can meet the really important needs and resolve important matters in case of need of medical care for example; More rest and fun for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Family Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signoria Apartments Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing