We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super taglia di manzo!”
Review of Le Cave di Maiano

Le Cave di Maiano
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Fiesole
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super taglia di manzo!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Get this steak and your steak definition will change!
Really nice place for food, wine and views. Prices are fair.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    156
    44
    34
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Food delicious, service mediocre, the damage that we are only one day in Fiesole I would gladly go back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Podrozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Perfect Experience”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The Cave di Maiano is the place in Florence to go for a special meal. Florentines go there for their special occasions. The cab-drive adds to the sense of occasion and expectation. It really is in the countryside - but only a short distance from Florence. This is a restaurant for all seasons. I have been here for lunch in biting cold winter and had dinner during the summer, sitting out on the terrace. Every time, in all seasons, it has been perfection. After Sunday lunch on one Spring day, we walked the hill track behind the restaurant. Magic! Bring walking shoes!

The food here is classic, old-fashioned, reliable Florentine cooking. However, this is not about the food - it is about the whole experience. The service is brilliant - no other word to describe it. The waiters here are the nicest people one can meet. There is a certain glamour to this restaurant - I do not know why. It all starts when you walk in, see the lovely flowers and receive a warm welcome. After that it is just complete perfection. All I know is that I could not visit Florence without eating here. This is without doubt my favourite restaurant in Italy. Florentines rightly love it and treasure it. Hopefully you will too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RomileyJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfecto in Firenze!”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

This was the best meal we had during our stay in the Florence area by far! It is on a hillside in Fiesole with an Italian only menu but the staff was fantastic recommending dishes. We had the prosciutto with fried dough, gnocchi with sausage and truffles, balsamic glazed filet and the zuccotta, all were amazing. With all that and a bottle of wine it was very reasonably priced. If we go back to the area we won't miss it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed at the Fattoria di Maiano and walked up to here on a rainy night to have dinner. The staff were so friendly and attentive. The food was AMAZING!

When we arrived completely soaking wet, they offered us some nice warm apperitif's to cheers us up, and a free glass of proscecco which was such a lovely added touch.

The portion size was very large, but the food was absolutely delicious. We're going back to stay at the Fattoria di Maiano, and we will most definitely be visiting the Cave di Maiano again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee8118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cave di Maiano also viewed

Fiesole, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 
Fiesole, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 
Fiesole, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 

Been to Le Cave di Maiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing