We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”
Review of Le Cave di Maiano

Le Cave di Maiano
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Fiesole
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have lived in Florence my entire life, and I am not easily impressed by "fiorentina" steak and tuscan food.

Neverthless, the steak we had in this restaurant was sublime. The meat was so tender it seemed like melting in our mouth. The "Caponata" (mixed vegetables in a traditional tomato sauce) was the perfect side to it and enhanced its flavour remarkably.

We took the Tagliere Misto and the Burrata for appetizers and they were equally delicious. The wine was perfectly good but not amazing, but this was our choice.

Our waitress was nice too, she was always attentive to our needs but reserved and helpful.

The cherry on top was their original dessert with almonds and meringue, of which I cannot remember the name. It was delicious but not heavy at all so it was the perfect ending to a wonderful meal.

My suggestion would be to dine outside, in order to enjoy the romantic atmosphere and the stunning view of the hills of Florence. In the summer, the fresh air and the shade of the trees are a lovely relief from the heat of the city - the restaurant is high on the hills, but not far from the centre if you have a car. I have been here before and had a great experience at lunch too.

Since we dined here in a little group, the owner offered us a complementary bottle of wine as well, which was a very nice touch. It is not a cheap meal, but it is worth every euro.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Letizia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    153
    40
    33
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Will always be a wonderful memory for us”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were married at the Palazzo Vecchio in May 2005 and are Australians. We stayed at the nearby Fattoria Di Maiano for 8 nights with a group of our friends (16)who all flew in from all over the world for our wedding. Every night we would walk up to the Cave di Maiano for dinner and introduce our latest arrivals. On the eve of our wedding the owner gave us 3 bottles of wine to place on our wedding table the next day. We had wonderful meals, wines and a great time meeting lots of new people. One of my favourite meals was the Rabbit Pappadelle.It will always remain a wonderful memory for us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jellat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best dining experience in Florence”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our two week visit to Italy ended in Florence and we had hear nothing but good things about the food and service at Cave di Maiano. We were traveling with four other couples and we have heard nothing but rave reviews on the food and vista offered by this restaurant, we were not disappointed. We were met at the door by the owner and chef, a very personable and affable. A well provisioned wine list added to the enjoyment of the evening. We all enjoyed a variety of our favorite pasta dishes which did not disappoint. As for my self the sirloin for two was out of this world. This is a can't miss location that you must try if you are in the Florence area. It is located about 20 minutes outside the historic district in Florence but well worth the drive. Caio

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bocasoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Undiscovered Gem”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A little off the beaten path but definitely worth the trek to Fiesole. Excellent food and friendly service. And you can't' beat the scenery of the Tuscan hillside and the city of Florence below.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Dominica
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best meal in Florence.”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This restaurant is some 150 yrs old and the traditions and building show it. The atmosphere is extremely welcoming. The staff are very friendly and know everything there is to know about the food and selection of wine. Typical food from the Toscana region, COME HERE!

First we had an appetizer of sliced meat; prosciutto, salami, fresh baked small rolls and chicken liver pureed on top of crostini.

The main course was a 1.5 kg T-bone steak cooked to perfection, enough for 2 people. Presented on a platter, pre-sliced for easy serving. Served with the most delicious roasted potatoes I've had. They recommended the red wine to accompany the meal as they would know what would fit best with the type of meat and pairings.

A few km away from the center of Florence but a must if you are visiting the city. Secluded to make you feel in a a real Italian countryside restaurant but just a stones throw from the city.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Raffaele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cave di Maiano also viewed

Fiesole, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 
Fiesole, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 
Fiesole, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 

Been to Le Cave di Maiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing