We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High level service, attention to details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Villa San Michele
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High level service, attention to details”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is truly an exceptional property, service is first class, the view amazing... You can relax in the gardens or by the pool and be able to reach Florence downtown easily. We'll come back for sure!
Don't miss a Bellini at the Bar!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hoftrav682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron K, General Manager at Belmond Villa San Michele, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Hoftrav68,

thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor and your wonderful review of your sojourn with us I am delighted to read that you truly enjoyed the Hotel and facilities we offer and that my team took wonderful care of you.

I do look forward to welcoming you back with us on your next trip to Florence.

With my best wishes

Aaron Kaupp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    50
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
73
217
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have stayed in this Hotel several times. It is wonderful. The last time we stayed there was when Michael Caine was there with his wife and his good friend Michael Winner, who is no longer alive. It is situated in a beautiful country setting overlooking Florence. There is a good hotel shuttle service which takes their guests to and from the centre of this romantic city. The service is excellent. Dining in the enclosed terrace area is very relaxing and the food is good.

Room Tip: The hotel doesn't have any bad rooms!. This is not a spa hotel, but there is a nice quiet swimmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FITASC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

In your life, if you are lucky like us, you find yourself so engrossed in a scene or a moment that you "lose yourself." Your brain has taken a "device time-out" like a computer that is having issues. Sitting in La Loggia, the restaurant that is essentially an open air balcony, staring down to Florence and the Domo and some smoke billowing from a house on the hillside-my device took a t time out. The scene is breathtakingly indescribable and you have to look through the beautiful grounds and bright red flowers around you to even get to that point. The smell combines fresh flowers and centuries old walls and grounds.

We got upgrades on our rooms so they were in the hillside with a similar view of Florence. You have to walk up some substantial stairs so if you have challenges with that - this could affect your room choice.

The wine selection is extraordinary and the food is as good as Italy has to offer. The service is formal, but not pretentious. They custom made some entrees for some of us that were on special diets. I had a pasta, off menu, with various sea food that I want to have again soon and I got help pairing it with an extraordinary Brunello de Montelcino. Don't be afraid to ask for what you want or be intimidated by the formality.

But my favorite part - the piano player at the back of the restaurant. We sang fun songs together with our group of 6 while we sipped champagne and toasted my wife's birthday.

I know the 3 days there were expensive - but honestly at checkout - I just folded the bill and put it in my pocket. That is the highest compliment I can give.

Room Tip: We stayed i the hillside rooms which have great views but are a bit of a walk. They are close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cashnickerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I always wanted to stay at this hotel because of its reputation, but could not justify the cost. This year we spent one night here when our favorite hotel closed for the season. The view is beautiful and the room was lovely. The dining room was a disappointment. We were wedged at dinner between a family with a screaming child and smoking parents and a group of loutish Russians who were smoking like chimneys and totally disruptive of our dinner. There was no attempt to do anything for us so the dinner, which may have been ok was totally ruined. Staff was generally professional but impersonal. At this level I think a hotel should be exceptional and not indifferent. We agreed we would not be inclined to return. Hideous mustard colored towels and robes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jmcneil771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MNovella, Direttore generale at Belmond Villa San Michele, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear jmcneil771,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Villa San Michele. We are deeply sorry if your experience was somehow spoiled and it did not meet your expectations. We would have done everything that was in our hands to satisfy you if we had knew your disappointment.
Unfortunately we cannot change a situation that belongs to the past but we really look forward to have the chance to welcoming you back soon and to make you leave with a better feeling.

Best regards,

Marco Novella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Peaceful with great views and wonderful attentive service. If you don´t care to be away from the center of Florence, this is your perfect hideaway. After staying here and Ritz in Madrid I am becoming an Orient Express fan.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel is simply the best! The staff is so friendly and helpful, they upgraded the in-laws room as well as ours, we were in the garden level suites and I have to tell you the bathroom was larger than most hotel rooms in europe! we were only here for 2 days but they were the best two days hotel wise of our two week trip! I highly recommend this hotel if you've got the bucks! I feel very fortunate to have been able to stay at such a luxury hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d1zzyg1rl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

From the moment we entered the long driveway, lined with trees and lush sculptured shrubs, and welcomed by friendly, attentive staff, our entire stay at the hotel was nothing short of magical.
The elegantly decorated suite featured the conveniences that you would expect from a luxury hotel. But it was the trimmings for the kids that really made it stand out. The kids were given cute t-shirts and a stuffed toy lion to match the mascot of the kids club, and to match mummy and daddy, they had their own kid-sized slippers and bathrobes. So cute!
The motorised recessed television was neatly stored in the end of the master bed and could be summoned with a press of a button. But the bathroom was definitely the showstopper for the adults. Featuring double marble vanities and an enormous walk-in shower room, it was the largest I’ve ever seen anywhere in the world.
Villa San Michele really captured our attention as they cater for families with a daily kids program called the Smile Club. Running from 10:30am to 5:30pm for 4-12 year olds, it is perfect for parents who desire a little kid-free quiet time or to take a romantic day trip around Florence. Our kids loved it!
Breakfast was served each morning in The Loggia Restaurant, situated on a terrace overlooking Florence. Along with a buffet spread of fresh fruit, cold meats, pastries, yogurts, juices and cereals, a hot breakfast could be ordered from the menu. And the dinner & lunch - to die for!
A convenient complimentary shuttle operated by the hotel transports guests to the centre of Florence and back on a regular basis.
A luxury hotel would not be complete without a lavish swimming pool. In this case, an outdoor heated pool overlooks the terraced garden and scenic Arno Valley.
I highly recommend a stay here, even with the kids it is truly romantic. You can read more and see all our pictures on our blog.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_with_Bender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiesole
Villa Cora
#7 of 422 in Florence
886 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 422 in Florence
1,457 reviews
Il Salviatino
#94 of 422 in Florence
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
768 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 422 in Florence
1,243 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 422 in Florence
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa San Michele

Property: Belmond Villa San Michele
Address: Via Doccia 4, 50014, Fiesole, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa San Michele 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from the centre of Florence, Belmond Villa San Michele is housed in a 15th-century monastery with a façade designed by Michelangelo. It is surrounded by a large, wooded park and lush terraced gardens boasting magnificent views of the city and the Arno Valley below. The 45 bedrooms and suites are simple, peaceful and elegant while the Renaissance splendour of Florence is a mere 15 minutes away with the complimentary shuttle service, running every 20 minutes. La Loggia Restaurant provides a unique dining venue where guests can enjoy their lunch or dinner, based on Italian and Tuscan cuisine, while admiring the view over Florence. For a light lunch or a snack, the Pool Restaurant, situated directly by the hilltop panoramic swimming pool, is the ideal place. For food lovers, the renown Cooking School offers hands-on lessons to learn how to prepare the best Italian specialties. A Kids' Club and a dedicated Kids' Concierge are available to make the stay of younger guests truly unforgettable. The new Davanzati Room offers privacy and tranquillity thanks to its exclusive location, and a spacious terrace with a view for small banquets, cocktails and coffee breaks. Ideal for hosting meetings, launches and presentations, it also serves as a space for banquets for up to 100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele By Orient-Express Hotel Fiesole
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel
Belmond Villa San Michele Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing