We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Bonelli
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent 3 star hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Bonelli as part of a wedding group. Simon, the proprietor was wonderful right from the start. He coped efficiently and so politely with our constant emails altering dates and numbers of our party. This is an absolutely typical, Italian 3 star hotel and has everything that it says it does. A choice of outside patios with tables to relax and an area surrounded by stunning walks and views. The rooms, in fact all of the hotel, was absolutely spotless and could not be faulted. We had room 15 and the double bed and bathroom was fine, although I could appreciate that the shower might be a little small for today's build of UK men folk. However, unless it's a brand new hotel, I think UK visitors would find this to be the case with most Italian bathroom showers. Extra towels and more clothes hangers were provided without any fuss and within minutes of requesting them. Some might have found the mattresses a tad hard but ours was ideal for us. The air con worked and also heated the room. There was plenty of extra blankets if required. The room was cleaned and restocked daily to an excellent standard. The breakfast was a choice of fruit juice, 3 cereals, breads, pastries, croissants, cheese, ham, salami and a large bowl of fresh fruit, which is a typical continental breakfast in southern Europe. The 2 cheerful and pleasant ladies who supervised the breakfast room provided a prompt pot of water for tea (tea bags were excellent). There were various coffees available but (following advice on Trip Advisor) asking for a jug of Americano latte ensured we were given a large jug of very smooth, excellent coffee and either cold or hot milk to go with it. Simon would provide us with a pot of English tea at any time of day either in our room or anywhere else in the hotel. There was someone at reception whenever we required it. You would be lucky to find any hotel in Fiesole that didn't involve a hill or tight corners and Bonelli's is found via a sharp, narrow right hand turn and on a hill. BUT it is ideally situated just yards from the road which runs directly through Fiesole and all the restaurants etc. We were surprised how, within 48 hours, we were coping with all the inclines without a problem and the car remained in the garage! The only advice I would give is DO NOT hire a large car. We had a Renault Clio and that really is the largest I'd recommend for these roads. Simon has parking for a few cars within the hotel but you need to book ahead. It is cheaper than parking on the road and you have to pay wherever you park on a road in Fiesole. We explored Fiesole and Simon and his staff were really helpful with answering any queries and providing suggestions of where we should go. All in all Simon and his staff went out of their way to accommodate all of our needs. This is a lovely little 3 star hotel and we were sorry that they only provided breakfast. But it was no problem picking up a large Tuscan bread roll and pastry to bring back with us after a few hours of walking to enjoy with a pot of tea delivered by the ever smiling and quietly efficient Simon. The hotel has WIFI. I would recommend this hotel for all types of groups because the owner and staff are so happy to go out of their way to cater for all needs and there is a choice of different types of rooms. The hotel situation is ideal for exploring Fiesole or for visiting Florence. I'd confirm what other reviewers have said re. the No. 7 bus and you can also board either the red or yellow tour bus in Fiesole square, which will take you on a lovely sightseeing tour (one hour) to and around Florence. Our one regret is that we bothered to hire a car at Pisa airport. We'd now recommend going by train or bus from Pisa to Florence and then catching the No. 7 bus to Fiesole. The public transport system is enviable and so easy. A lovely few days made even more enjoyable by the friendliness and helpfulness of Simon and his staff.

Room Tip: Room 15 was perfect for us as a couple. spacious and with an adequately sized bathroom and shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sprite_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAMM959, Direttore at Hotel Villa Bonelli, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Sprite_9,

We have received your review about our hotel, and we are happy to read that your stay with us was satisfactory. We are always paying much attention to the suggestions received from our clients in order to try to improve more and more the overall quality of the hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    59
    55
    21
    11
See reviews for
33
94
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Kilbride
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Most tourists who visit Florence don't bother to take the No 7 Bus from Piazza San Marco up to Fiesole the Etruscan village in the hills above the city.They miss the spectacular views and the tranquility away from the crowded city.Villa Bonelli a small hotel located in Fiesole is an ideal place to enjoy the 'Best of Both Worlds'.Because of its proximity to the city it is possible to visit the sights there and to 'go home' to the village after a hard day of tourism.!This small hotel is a bit like a chalet with fine views across the Tuscany hills to the north and is easily accessible from the bus termius in the main square.It is a clean no-nonsense residence with a friendly and helpful staff..The breakfast is 'continental'and adequate..It is a quiet environment ideal for a good nights sleep...

Room Tip: Room number 23A has an excelllent view.There may be other rooms with an even better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestKilbrideWullie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAMM959, Direttore at Hotel Villa Bonelli, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear WestKilbrideWullie,

We have received your review and we thank you very much for your time. We are glad to see that you had a lovely stay with us, and that you enjoyed the environment where the hotel is located.
Your judgment is very important to us, as we are trying daily our best to meet clients' expactations and to improve the overall standard of our service.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Though a 29 min. bus ride from the train station it is well worth the time. The village is small but has all the services and great restaurants.. The views over Florence are epic.
Villa Bonelli is very well situated. The room we stayed in had no real window coverings and a street light that shone brightly all nite, the bed was firm very very firm and the walls do not offer much sound protection.
The breakfast was good with the option of sitting outside or in. The location is marvelous but overall I'd say the hotel is average.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spurky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soroca, Moldova
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I really enjoyed the Villa Bonelli. This was a great 3-star hotel and well worth the 100 Euro per night rate. We did not want to stay in Florence do the crowds and Fiesole was a great back-up. The view of Florence from Fiesole is beautiful and there are few really good restaurants in the vicinity (Le Cave di Maiano and La Reggia) The hotel was clean and the room was very big with a separate lounge area. We were very happy to be able to open all the windows and sleep with fresh air. The breakfast was ok, but I usually don't eat a big breakfast anyway. The reception desk was also helpful and available.I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

On arrival, the hardest thing was finding somewhere to park. Eventually, the place we found involved us having to climb steep hills and a long flight of steps to the hotel - no joke with luggage in 30 degrees! We asked at reception if there was anywhere else to park, and were just given a shrug of the shoulders. Bear in mind we are not young - my husband is 64 and I'm nearly 60, and I felt that response was a little discourteous. However, then we were shown to room 23, which had the most amazing views. This almost made up for the steps! Our last night, we had to move rooms, and the one we had was small and dark, and the air conditioning was poor. The breakfast was very disappointing. Cold meats, cheese and yoghourts were laid out - uncovered and unrefrigerated, which put me off. The croissants seemed leathery to me, so I went for toast after that. Apart from the initial shrug over the parking, the staff were reasonably friendly, and the rooms were kept very clean. The towels were spotless.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rectoryrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAMM959, Direttore at Hotel Villa Bonelli, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear Rectoryrebel,

We have received your review and would like to thank you for it. Regarding to the shrug of shoulder you mentioned, we are sure it's a misunderstanding as nobody wanted to be discourteous with you. We are happy to read you enjoyed your room, and the room you staied in the last night, it was a little bit smaller than previous one, but it has two windows to be opened and make it as bright as you can desire. Finally about the breakfast, we are now going to change the equipment in order to increase the overall quality, even if all the products used comes fresh every day.
We are taking every comment received very seriously, to meet as much as possible our guests' expectations, therefore we do thank you again for your writing.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

stayed 4th - 8th June - central for access to Fiesole and to Florence- no more than a 10 minute walk into centre of Fiesole although the hill on the way back up is steep enough in town but the last 100-150 yards was worse however a local lady, several decades my senior put me to shame. Property is clean, tidy, basic but the beds were comfortable however the bathroom was snug and the shower a very close fit - don drop anything if you are over a size 10 - you cant pick it up without opening the door. Breakfast was more than adequate - regarding the coffee, just ask for an Americana and a large jug of fresh, hot coffee is provided. It would have been nice to have a kettle in the room; we had a a small terrace which was a nice bonus. Manage and staff very helpful in arranging taxis, etc. Just the job for a short stay.

Room Tip: 18 has a nice shared terrace to the front access of property - no view but pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAMM959, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Bonelli, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Holidayloop,

We would like to thank you for your time in writing a review about our hotel. All suggestions received are very much appreciated and kept in high consideration in order to improve more and more the service and overall quality.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

First impressions count so when I first stepped into the Villa Bonelli I was very pleased indeed to be greeted by an absolute gentleman for who nothing was too much trouble and it remained that way throughout my stay.Simone,the gentleman concerned also having worked throughout the world in hospitality is fluent in English,Italian,French,Spanish and German which is a great bonus to the single
language traveller.
All in all I had a wonderful stay......great location,bright and clean room and a hearty breakfast.I recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in Fiesole or needs a base to explore Florence

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAMM959, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Bonelli, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Chris G,

We would like to thank you for leaving us a review. We have taken the hotel over recently and we are trying our best to meet more and more our clients' expectations.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fiesole hotels
0.3 mi away
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pensione Bencista
Pensione Bencista
#2 of 11 in Fiesole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond Villa San Michele
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa dei Bosconi
Villa dei Bosconi
#7 of 11 in Fiesole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fattoria Di Maiano
Fattoria Di Maiano
#6 of 11 in Fiesole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dino Hotel
Dino Hotel
#5 of 11 in Fiesole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Bonelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Bonelli

Property: Hotel Villa Bonelli
Address: Via Francesco Poeti 1, 50014, Fiesole, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Bonelli 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Bonelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonelli Hotel Fiesole
Hotel Villa Bonelli Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing