We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay in a great B&B with a wonderful host!”
Review of Le Cannelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Cannelle
Ranked #4 of 17 Fiesole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

We had a great 5 night stay here while touring northern Italy. Le Cannelle is lovely. Fiesole is a beautiful, quiet town nestled on a Tuscan hillside outside of Florence. The view from the town is lovely into the valley & city of Florence. The number 7 bus runs several times on the hour from San Marco to Fiesole & takes about 20 minutes..... The view on the ride is spectacular! Very nice to be outside of the city & to explore another Tuscan village during our travels. Sara, the owner, is wonderful..... Assists with all aspects of planning your day, directions, reservations, and more. The rooms are lovely, very clean, and breakfast was the best we had during our two weeks in Italy. I would recommend staying here for one night or many! Thank you, Sara!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soccerboys2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at Le Cannelle for two nights on our trip through Northern Italy in April of 2012. As you can read in most of the other reviews, Sara is what makes this place truly unique and special. Immediately upon arrival at La Cannelle, Sara welcomes you and makes you feel a part of the family. She is attentive and focused on making your stay a pleasurable and memorable one. The rooms are all very nice. Spacious and quiet. The breakfasts provided by Sara every morning are exceptional, and the transortation into Florence on the #7 bus (drops you at San Marco) is exceptionally convenient. The bus stop is roughly 200 meters from the B&B. Visitors coming in by car for the first time should know that you must first pay to park near the main square and bring your luggage up to the B&B (again, about 200 meters), as there is no drop off point near the front door (too narrow of a road). From there, Sara will direct you to a permament parking facility. The same process needs to be followed in leaving. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Sara is a most gracious hostess, and nothing is too much trouble for her. She always makes our stay enjoyable and relaxing. This is a hotel where you can come and go as you please, and the unusual feature is that you can get a cooked breakfast to set you up for the day's walking/sightseeing in the delightful countryside overlooking the city of Florence.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent and very spacious. This is not a noisy town, so you don't have to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMcDIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Sara is what makes Le Cannelle so wonderful. It is also a historic building with beautifully furnished rooms. It is so much better than staying in Florence which is only a 20 min bus ride away on an easy line where you go to the end of the line each way. Sara was so friendly and helpful. She got us a private tour of a local winery that does not do tours which we will always treasure. Her breakfasts are legendary and we find ourselves repeating her delightful phrase often, "everything is possible!!" We can't say enough about the value and quality of Le Cannelle.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarttheDart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We were late after getting on the wrong bus in Florence and going in the wrong direction - but this did not stop Sara waiting into the evening to make us feel very welcome when we eventually arrived.

The rooms were spacious, clean and thoughtfully laid out with good quality period furniture and personalised stencilled graphics, giving a unique feel to the house.

Arrangements for breakfast were simple, with Sara overseeing the cooking of eggs and toast.

Key holders were welcome to come and go - please keep the noise low and take care stepping out on to the street.

Fiesole is a great base for getting away from Florence - in fact we spent 50:50 of our time over 5 days just in the immediate area of Fiesole. Walks, monasteries, villas, musuems and markets as well as all the places to dine - why go to Florence?

Use Sara's 'La Cannelle' as a perfect base to explore the area.

We even discovered the Casa Del Popolo, built by Sara's father and grandfather, with its community Saturday night pizzas!

Room Tip: Room 3 or front rooms on top floor for windows and some views. Room 5 was poorly lit for our liking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManxViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Le Cannelle is wonderful. The rooms are spotless & Sara is a fantastic and an absolutely helpful host. Fiesole is a very pretty town overlooking Firenze with very easy access to Florence. Breakfast is great & Sara poaches eggs to perfection. I would stay here every time I visit Florence.
Karin, Australia

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We trusted the other Trip Advisor reviews and were happy that we did! Le Cannelle is a charming, comfortable, home away from home, located close enough to easily reach Firenze quickly and far enough away to get out of the crowds and bustle. In fact, my husband and I stayed here two weeks to rest and enjoy the museums, food, and history of Firenze and Fiesole. We enjoyed the lovely breakfasts Sara served each morning, but her conversation was a real highlight of our trip. She was eager to please her customers, cook eggs to order, and offered coffee, yogurts, cereals, tea, croissants, and tasty sweets each day. Our room was spacious and cool, even through summer in July. The bathroom was modern and quite lovely. Sara's family has owned the property for several generations and it has been restored, holding such Italian beauty! We had a room off the back, which was usually quiet, very clean, and quite roomy. We unpacked easily and rested comfortably. Nearly every day, we either took the #7 bus to Firenze, or we walked on foot (which was fun and downhill!). Public transportation was very easy to use. In addition, we were able to have laundry service next door and enjoyed several restaurants just two minutes walk into the square. I highly recommend Le Cannelle. We will definitely stay there again, and I cannot imagine choosing a hotel in Firenze instead. I recommend taking a few extra minutes and head to the Fiesole hills, where the view is unbelievable, the town is quieter and quite lovely, and La Cannelle offers a wonderful, comfortable, convenient location to stay. Sara's friendly nature, willingness to help, and charming company is worth it alone! In closing, I also recommend asking for room availability, even at the last minute. We were surprised to see rooms available in spite of these outstanding TripAdvisor reviews. I am not always a Bed and Breakfast kind of person, but this was an outstanding experience, and I look forward to staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room #5, but did not see the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fiesole hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Villa Bonelli
Hotel Villa Bonelli
#8 of 11 in Fiesole
197 reviews
0 mi away
Antiche Scale B&B
Antiche Scale B&B
#6 of 17 in Fiesole
56 reviews
1.2 mi away
Florence Country Relais
Florence Country Relais
#3 of 17 in Fiesole
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Villa Di Campolungo Agriturismo
3.5 mi away
Bed and Breakfast La Martellina
0.1 mi away
Guest House Casa Sofia
Guest House Casa Sofia
#9 of 17 in Fiesole
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cannelle

Address: Via Antonio Gramsci 52-54/56, 50014, Fiesole, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Fiesole
Price Range: £67 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in the heart of the ancient town of Fiesole. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Cannelle Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing