We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay at le cannelle”
Review of Le Cannelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Cannelle
Ranked #4 of 18 Fiesole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good stay at le cannelle”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

we stayed with sara for a few days, rather than write another review the comments by others, (read magneticman_uk review) is pretty much how we found it.
parking is a real problem, if you aren't prepared to lug your bags up a long way from the free parking areas. the streets are VERY narrow.

Overall Sara did make our stay a very enjoyable visit.

catching the bus to florence was easy.

The only comment to make was that we found it slightly more expensive to stay there than other areas of italy. ( after spending many weeks travelling in a lot of parts of italy) ie: what you get for what you pay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoalbay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    15
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
59
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I are not long back from our latest holiday in Tuscany. Florence is a must see if you have not been there before but finding accommodation near the centre especially when you are in a hire car is a bit of a problem. Not fancying the idea of taking my car too near the city centre I started looking further afield and I stumbled upon Fiesole and then onto Le Cannelle itself.

Le Cannelle has no free parking close by but we managed to pull into a lay-by nearby when we arrived where we could unload the suitcases and make a dash to the B&B. Doing a bit of homework using Google maps and 'Street View' beforehand proved to be very useful so you know what to expect. The street gets very busy and narrow in places and so it is probably best not to arrive by car bang in the middle of rush hour. If you try and park directly outside to drop off your bags, well....good luck! We dropped our suitcases off and the owner Sara immediately popped out with myself and took me to where the car could be parked free of charge. There are lots of hills in Fiesole so be prepared for some uphill walking from the car back to the B&B should that be a problem for you.

Le Cannelle's main feature is probably Sara herself. A little bundle of energy with interesting tales to tell, who makes big efforts over breakfast and seems to speak quite a few different languages. Our room was on the 1st floor overlooking the busy narrow road but there was hardly any road noise once the double glazed windows were shut and after around 9.00pm the road seemed to turn very quiet indeed. We had no problems sleeping in the large comfortable bed. Our room was very spacious with a nice bathroom. The shower was over the bath and there was no shower curtain which made showering an interesting challenge. In the end, I opted for a low water pressure approach to avoid splashing water everywhere.

Fiesole turned out to be a very nice area with a small town charm about the place. There is a steep walk up to a church from the main square in the town. From the top you can get fine views over Florence itself. There is a Roman amphitheatre just off the main square area. We went there around 5.00pm after a long tiring day in Florence and we had the place virtually to ourselves. We ate out at a restaurant called 'Perseus Fiesolano' which was just about on the main square and we were very impressed with the food and cheap house wine. The elder Italian waiter there who spoke hardly any English had a 'no problem' attitude about our lack of Italian language skills and just made everything so simple for us.

To get into Florence (Firenze) was simple, you just hopped on the number 7 bus marked 'San Marco' and got off in Florence when the bus reached its final destination and when everyone else hopped off it too. From there it is about a 5 to 7 minute stroll to the main Duomo. Coming back, you pick up the bus in the same place and the final stop in Fiesole is in the main square. There is a Tabac/bar place only a few doors away from Le Cannelle where we bought our bus tickets. We bought a ticket covering 4 trips i.e 2 people into Florence and 2 people back out again. From memory, it was about 4 Euro's and 70 cents? Once on the bus, you insert the ticket into the machine to get it franked for each person travelling and then that covers you for 90 minutes worth of journey time, more than enough for the 20 minute ride into the city. The bus runs every 20 minutes and the last bus from Florence gets in around 1.00am. Sara can provide you with all the information you will need.

For us, Le Cannelle was in an ideal location being 5 miles out of the main city and it had its own unique atmosphere. The owner Sara made our stay very enjoyable and it was sad to eventually be moving on to our next destination. It all went so quick.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ferrisburg, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

wonderful, friendly place to stay, US friendly, and very helpful. We were preparing for a group tour so just wanted an evening to get over jetlag and a day to get oriented. Sara was SO helpful--aside from being a very lively, inspiring young woman, she gave us all kinds of useful information that was historical, practical, and interesting. When she offered to make a dinner reservation for us and the restaurant didn't answer the phone, we found out (later) that she ran down to appear in person for us! Also got us an early in the morning cab to the airport in Florence. Definitely a place with cherished history, family, and community involvement.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very welcoming homey atmosphere with attention to details in a super clean setting suitable for couples and families.
Warm and spacious rooms with high-quality classic Italian style furniture.
Try Sara's special omelette stuffed with bread, ham and cheese with side cherry tomatoes.
Complimenti Sara!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ennio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights.
A very friendly, informative and entertaining hostess. All guests ended up staying an hour at breakfast listening to Sara's anecdotes.
Rooms were clean. Converted convent. Rooms decorated by Sara herself.
If travelling with a car one downside for some people would be that the free parking was close but required travelling up a lot of steps.

Fiesole was just a short walk from the B&B.
Sara's restaurant suggestions were excellent along with her other tourist tips for Fiesole and Florence.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pokerofaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake forest, ill
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

If you want hospitality, charm, Italian culture,in a small town environment,then Le Cannelle in Fiesole is perfect for you. The towns situation provides easy access to Florence and it's owner Sara is a walking Wikipedia of knowledge . The owner provides beautiful and specious rooms with wonderful breakfasts while she helps you plan you day excursions. I highly recommend this charming B&B.

Room Tip: There are five rooms and all ware beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Oh, gosh! I love this place! In November 2012, while touring through Italy, I asked for suggestions on where to stay in Firenze (Florence). I had two different people suggest we stay in Fiesole, just a 20 minute bus ride from the main train station. We found Sara and Le Cannelle and it was truly a highlight of our trip! Sara was so helpful in giving suggestions on where to visit/eat, including making reservations to see the David and for our dinners. Her breakfasts went above and beyond! It was really great to stay at Le Cannelle! I would recommend it to anyone travelling through Florence or looking for a getaway. I hope to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oklamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fiesole hotels
0.3 mi away
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pensione Bencista
Pensione Bencista
#2 of 11 in Fiesole
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond Villa San Michele
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Bonelli
Hotel Villa Bonelli
#8 of 11 in Fiesole
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Aurora Hotel
Villa Aurora Hotel
#10 of 11 in Fiesole
151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa dei Bosconi
Villa dei Bosconi
#7 of 11 in Fiesole
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cannelle

Property: Le Cannelle
Address: Via Antonio Gramsci 52-54/56, 50014, Fiesole, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in the heart of the ancient town of Fiesole. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Le Cannelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cannelle Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing