We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm memories of Toscana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo Poggio al Sole
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Victoria, B.C.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Warm memories of Toscana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I, along with our 14 year old son, stayed at Poggio al Sole this past August for 3 nights. Our stay was so pleasant, restful and enjoyable .. we so wished we could have stayed for several nights more.

We followed the directions that we’d be given by Giovanni from Florence, following the road up into Fiesole and then several kilometers more to get to Poggio al Sole. Giovanni and Antonietta welcomed us upon arrival and we immediately felt at home. The view from our room was like a post card and the breakfast offerings, which included Antonietta’s homemade baking and preserves, were delicious. Everything was so thoughtfully offered and arranged. Giovanni assisted us with directions to various places that we headed to during our stay and they always turned out perfectly. (One of our day trips was to Siena via “the Chianti Road” which was fantastic.) In the evenings we always returned back in time for dinner at La Casa del Prosciutto, which is literally across the roadway from Poggio al Sole’s driveway. Their food is uncomplicated and delicious with excellent owner/hosts. It was so wonderful to wrap up your day where you can enjoy a glass or two of vino and walk just a few steps to get home.

Our room and beds were very comfortable. We were able to sleep with the windows open at night as they were fitted with screens that scrolled up and down like a blind, which was much appreciated, as it was very warm in Tuscany in August. We went to sleep with to the sound of frogs and crickets and were even treated to an incredible thunder and lightening storm one night. The grounds were an inviting place to rest and recover from our daily travels and our bedrooms were pleasantly furnished, clean and comfortable.

I know some have mentioned they took the bus from Fiesole, which is a short drive from Poggio al Sole. We had a little rented Fiat 500 and we did find having a car in this area most convenient. (We picked it up in Florence and Poggio al Sole is an easy drive from the rental offices in Florence.) I did have to encourage our little car to get up the steep driveway on my first attempt, but by our second day I mastered the technique perfectly and really enjoyed driving the little roads of the region. On the Sunday there were many bike riders that looked very professional and it was great fun to follow them along at their quick pace, snaking along the winding road into Fiesole and down into Florence.

Our entire stay at Poggio al Sole was ideal. Giovanni is obviously an expert on Tuscany and next time I would not miss getting more of an education and guidance from him on the area. (I noticed some of the books on Tuscany in our room were written by the modest Giovanni too late to mine his knowledge on this trip.)

I hope we return to this magical little spot in the next few years. In the meantime I hope things stay much the same, as this truly is a beautiful little Tuscan gem. We all will fondly remember our few days here. Our son says it was one of his favorite places of our two week European vacation.

Grazie Giovanni and Antonietta!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NativeVictorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    15
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
68
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed with Giovanni in the Summer when going to a wedding. He could not have been more helpful. We arrived during a festival and did not know where we were going, but Giovanni negotiated the festival traffic and, though delayed and substantially inconvenienced, good-humouredly picked us up, chatted to us and delivered us to his lovely home/farm/residence. The rooms were large and cool, the situation utterly beautiful and really relaxing. We had a lovely time and would heartily recommend for a really de-stressing stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had such a lovely stay at Poggio al Sole. Giovanni is a wonderful host, very accommodating. The wifi was not working near our room, so Giovanni was constantly trying to fix it for us in addition to providing eggs at breakfast (not traditionally Italian). The B&B is situated just outside of Fiesole, a great little town with some fantastic restaurants. And we were surprised at how close Florence was. Overall, a great stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Dc
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We booked three nights here two months in advance. Multiple emails and confirmations later we arrived in Italy. On our way to Fiesole we stopped over in Pisa to see the tower, and called Poggio to let them know we would be arriving late that evening. The owner said his lodge was closed because he had no reservations. He had no recollection of our reservation or record of our emails, and he refused to "open" the lodge... whatever that means. I'm under the impression that he lives on the property, as most of the B&B owners there do. The only reason I didn't give this place one star is because he called his friend next door who had one room for two of us and made arrangements for the other two of us to stay at another place a few miles away. He admitted to his friend that he forgot about our reservation and didn't put it on his calendar, but didn't even apologize to us. Fortunately the place next door was nice and the owner was very helpful with recommendations. If you decide to trust Poggio al Sole with your reservation make sure to touch base a few times in the weeks and days that lead up to your trip. Tuscany is BREATHTAKING. Don't forget to spend some time in Fiesole's small downtown that looks over Florence. The most beautiful part of all the cities we visited while in Italy.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank dcdavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poggioalsole, Proprietario at Agriturismo Poggio al Sole, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Gentile Signor DAVEL, mi spiace di quello che le è successo ma non ho alcuna responsabilità. Le confermo di non aver mai riservato un soggiorno a nome Davel da Washington nella date in cui lei mi ha telefonato( alle 21.30 di sera da PISA). Vi puo’ esser stata una confusione, in Firenze vi sono diverse aziende agricole Poggio al Sole. Oppure ho dato la disponibilità generica senza riservare a Lei il soggiorno. D’altronde lei non ha potuto dimostrare -- su mia espressa richiesta - di aver pagato un deposito cauzionale o con carta do credito il soggiorno. Nonostante tutto mi sono la sera stessa attivato per farlo soggiornare in una struttura di un amico limitrofa alla mia. Per ragioni familiari ero a mille km di distanza e l’agriturismo era chiuso, altrimenti l’avrei ospitata. E’ questa la nostra professione. Mi spiace per lei ma questa è la verità.

Kind I, regret Signor DAVEL of what has happened her but I doesn't have any responsibility. I confirm her to never have reserved a stay to name Davel from Washington in the dates in which she has phoned me (to the 21.30 in the evening from Pisa). It is able you' to have been a confusion, in Florence they are you different firms agricultural Knoll to the Sun. Or I have given the generic availability without reserving to you the stay. Of however she has not been able to show--on mine express application - to have paid a cautionary deposit or with paper I give credit the stay. Despite everything I am me the same evening activated for making him/it sojourn in a neighboring structure of a friend to mine. For family reasons I was to thousand km of distance and the agriturismo it was closed, otherwise I would have entertained her. And' this ours profession. I regret for her but this is the truth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Giovanni gives you a warm welcome and that sets the perfect mood. Has whole stories about his honey, safraan and jam (his own production). These fresh products are served during breakfast! Rooms are clean, and authentic. Beds are good. Of course, this is not your average hotel, this is Italian agriturismus. Little details put by the owner, such as candle lights up the stairs, etc. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bclout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I booked a room in this agriturismo on a very short notice (the night before arrival), and there was availability, but unfortunately I was told that we would need to change rooms after the first night. It was fine by us.

First of all, the place is absolutely gorgeous. It looks to the west, onto a valley and the nearby hills. You can enjoy every evning a marvellous sunset!

Anyway, the first nice surprise was that Giovanni and wife managed to make us stay in the same room, without the need to move. That was a nice gesture for having really booked lastminute.

At arrival, we got all the necessary information on how to reach Firenze, where to leave the car (free parking) in Fiesole, where to eat out nearby, what was worth visiting in the surroundings...Basically, all we needed! It was a bit overwhelming after a long day&drive, but left us without questions.

We were shown out room, given all information on the breakfast. We immediately took the wooden chairs out of ex-barn's the common area, and sat in the garden, reading, sipping a drink and enjoying nature, the amazing view&sunset...That's something I recommend to make time for.

Next day, we liked the rural breakfast, inlcuding several kind of jam, honey and cakes, all produced by Giovanni and his wife. We also joined a tour of his land&bees, given by him.

I would especially like to stress Giovanni's kindness and availability! He would always come over during breakfast and have a chat, explain about local produce etc. Other than this, for instance, my wife needed to prepare a medical tea every morning and evening, so we needed boiling water. Giovanni then asked the cleaning lady to prepare us a small set with an electric kettle and cups for two, to keep in our room for our stay! Once back in the evening, evenhough we haven't asked, we also found a selection of teabags in our room! These are those nice small details that make your stay really pleasant and particular!

He also offered us his own pair of bycicles to ride to Fiesole, instead of driving! Caught by the relaxed atmosphere, we haven't actually taken upon the offer, but this was once again a sign that he cared.

This place exceeded our expectations, in terms of human warmth and location. If you don't care about these things, if you don't care about having a closer and friendlier relationship with your host, if you want full 5 star comfort, forget this place! But if you're ready to sulk into a warm and friendly atmoshpere, ready to truly appreciate a rustic location and what it has to offer, waking up with no other noise than birdüchirping and a slight breeze, in clean and spacious rooms, and true countryside breakfast then look no further!

Grazie Giovanni! Sto parlando bene di lei a tutti i miei amici ed alcuni hanno già in mente di fermarsi da lei, quando saranno in zona!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hunjox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

we stayed here 3 nights in June 2013. on arrival we were met by giovanni the owner he explained to us the area the buses to take to get to town (we had no car) the best places to eat in the area and was very delightful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. the views were amazing our stay here was nothing but fantastic. We tried the local restaurant which was to our expectations great. the breakfast was great and the whole stay was one of relaxation.
Definitely will stay here again worth recommending and it want disappoint.
Giovanni keep up the great work.

Room Tip: there are lots of great walks from this spot worth doing the one to the monastery
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tezza5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fiesole hotels
4.3 mi away
Pensione Bencista
Pensione Bencista
#2 of 11 in Fiesole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
4.0 mi away
Belmond Villa San Michele
4.1 mi away
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Fattoria Di Maiano
Fattoria Di Maiano
#5 of 11 in Fiesole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Bonelli
Hotel Villa Bonelli
#8 of 11 in Fiesole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dino Hotel
Dino Hotel
#6 of 11 in Fiesole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Poggio al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Poggio al Sole

Property: Agriturismo Poggio al Sole
Address: Via Torre di Buiano 4, 50014, Fiesole, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggio al Sole lies in the midst of the magnificent scenario of the Florentine hillsides, and leans over the gentle slopes of the Mugnone valley. It rests on a 450 m hill, 6 kilometers from Fiesole in a neighbourhood called Torre di Buiano, only 8 kilometres from Florence. This viewpoint surrounded by olive groves, cypress trees and fruit trees is named after the sunny position it offers from sunrise to sunset, in summer and winter as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Poggio al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Poggio Al Sole Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing