We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Poggio al Sole
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This B&B has an unbelievable setting up high overlooking a beautiful valley of olive trees, wineries, flower gardens and many beautiful things. The home made pastries and breads served in the breakfast dining area , that has a very tranquil and warm setting with a fireplace is outstanding ..
Room is spacious and there is a great sitting area outside of the room which overlook the outside garden.
Giovanni is always around and is helpful on advising you how to get around town.
You definitely must have a car to get up to this great place .
One of the best things about staying here is that it has the best restaurant across the street...La Casa del Proscuitto .

Room Tip: Eat at La Casa del Proscuitto across the road to the left
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koifishvenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    15
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
70
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

It had been a dream of mine for as long as I can remember to stay on a farm in the Tuscan countryside. So, there was a lot for Poggio al Sole to live up to in my expectations! And I'm so pleased to say that it absolutely lived up to - and even exceeded - my expectations. Giovanni was a perfect host, full of information and tips to help us make the most of the week that we stayed with him. He is rightly very proud of his farm and its excellent produce, which we enjoyed at breakfast (always fresh and something different each day) and during the evening, when we had the farm's olive oil on freshly baked bread as we watched the sun set behind the valley. We tried to be back at the farm each evening by sunset for this reason - it truly is a sight to behold! Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and wonderfully quiet.
We were originally not going to hire a car but we were very pleased we did, because it opened up a lot more opportunities for us than if we had been relying on the bus into Fiesole (which runs infrequently). For this reason, I recommend having a car if you are wanting easy access to Florence and the surrounding cities/townships. However, I could easily have spent the whole week relaxing on the farm, walking into Fiesole occasionally and taking hikes through the nearby valley and hills, so if this is what you're wanting to do, a car really isn't necessary!
I highly recommend Poggio al Sole, and I can't wait to be able to return for another visit. Thank you, Giovanni, for making my dream of a beautiful Tuscan escape come true.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poggioalsole, Proprietario at Agriturismo Poggio al Sole, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Google Translation
Gentilissima Laura,

è con piacere che leggo queste poche righe che riaffermano un principio da noi sempre affermato e riaffermato : siamo un agriturismo, non siamo un hotel ...non possiamo offrire molti confort alberghieri..e promuoviamo , sepppur nel nostro piccolo di azienda agricola familiare , dare la massima accoglienza e assistenza all'ospite. Questa è la nostra mission.! Se non ci riusciamo siamo i primi a dispiacercene. Sappiamo che chi viene da lontano e sceglie una location su internet le attese sono molte al pari dell'ansia di scegliere in luogo non corrispondente alle proprie aspettative. Sono grato delle belle parole sulla nostra prima colazione con tutte le marmellate fatte in casa e i dolci anch'essi fatti in casa che variano di giorno in giorno.... oltre alle informazioni che noi al pari dei migliori agriturismi dovrebbero sempre dare sui dintorni da fare a piedi o in bici o sulle bellezze di Firenze. L'auspicio e' di rivedervi di nuovo per poter apprezzre la "musica" della natura e tramonti su Firenze...

giovanni da poggio al sole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrey, Utah
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our experience with Giovanni & Antonietta at Poggio al Sole lived up to our expectations! Giovanni made it clear when we checked in, that we were on his farm. He really has a passion for his flowers and loves what he does. ... We received several helpful maps and instruction when we arrived which proved useful. We left our rental car and took advantage of taking Bus #7 down the mountain to San Marco Square, in the heart of the city, which worked out fine. ... We tried two different local restaurants (Dino & Casa del Prusciutto) while here and enjoyed dinner at both. ... The clean air, cozy room and quiet evenings away from the blare of the city made this one of our favorite stays on our trip to Italy!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our cozy room in the Farmhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

If you're looking for a magnificent view of the Tuscany countryside, a comfortable bed and a scrumptious breakfast, then Poggio al Sole is for you! Giovanni and Antonietta complete the picture by being fabulous hosts: being there when needed and on call whenever you just want to sit back and enjoy the panorama. We stayed for two weeks and would return in a heartbeat. There is something so natural and relaxing about being surrounded by olive groves, fig trees, lavender bushes, the fragrance in the air and the sheer peacefulness of nature. I would not recommend staying here if you do not have a car, however. Getting into Florence downtown will take about 45 minutes. The excellent Casa del Prosciutto (closed on Tuesdays) is literally 2 mins walk from Poggio al Sole, so is a good choice for an evening meal if you don't want to get into your car. There are many places to explore close by, both for hikers and those who prefer to use their cars. A special word of thanks has to go to our hosts, Giovanni and Antonietta, who went out of their way to make us comfortable, along with sharing wonderful recipes and information on saffron.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gianna51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I spent eight days at Poggio Al Sole, a few miles east of Fiesole, in late September. The location is perfect for exploring Florence and the Tuscan region.
Fiesole has bus service to the heart of Florence every 15 minutes until midnight - the best way to avoid the parking hassles near Florence.
To say our hosts were more than helpful would be an understatement - Giovanni gave us lots of great tips about travel & exploring the region. They are a genuinely nice couple!
The room we had was very clean and quite, tidied up everyday - his farm is picturesque with the most stunning views of the countryside - he grows olives, pears, saffron, tomatoes, grapes, walnuts and figs (which I helped him harvest one beautiful day).
Deer and, on occasion, wild boar can be seen from the property.
Antoinetta's breakfasts were also wonderful - varied each day with most items made in their kitchen.
On reason that we picked this agriturismo was that it had NO POOL - thank god!
To us, a true farm vacation would seem weird with the yelling and splashing of kids around a pool - Poggio Al Sole was a quiet dream for us. We will surely return someday and Giovanni promised us that he would never put in a swimming pool on his beautiful farm.
Bob & Kathy Franklin - Seattle

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

If you wanted another home away from home then Poggio al Sole is it: Giovanni is not just the owner of a home stay: he's a member of your family the moment you arrive. His warm smile greets you and immediately you feel the sincerity of his hospitality. Our room was large and overlooked Mugello on one side, so at night the lights twinkled in both the windows. There were little sachets of homegrown lavender on each pillow which smelled heavenly.

It was the little things that make Giovanni and his wife so special: in the mornings, we (my mother, sister and I) would find a place card with the name of our room at the head of the table just so that we could sit together, because we were the only odd numbered guests.

Breakfast was always an adventure, lovingly cooked by Giovanni's wife: from pies to jams made from saffron which they grow. We learnt so much about breakfast food in 3 days!

Giovanni took time off from his busy schedule as he runs his olive and saffron farm to take to Fiesole when we couldn't catch the bus. And when we wanted a wine tour he made the phone calls and drew up the itinerary for us. All this he did like an family member. He would wait till we got back at the end of the day, tell us his plan, and make the calls to change things even if it meant doing it pass 6pm.

It was easy to see why Poggio al Sole was so popular as people were always checking in and checking out! We wondered how Giovanni could keep up with this pace, but he thrives on making people happy.

A wonderful host in wonderful setting - who could ask for anything more!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georjina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, B.C.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I, along with our 14 year old son, stayed at Poggio al Sole this past August for 3 nights. Our stay was so pleasant, restful and enjoyable .. we so wished we could have stayed for several nights more.

We followed the directions that we’d be given by Giovanni from Florence, following the road up into Fiesole and then several kilometers more to get to Poggio al Sole. Giovanni and Antonietta welcomed us upon arrival and we immediately felt at home. The view from our room was like a post card and the breakfast offerings, which included Antonietta’s homemade baking and preserves, were delicious. Everything was so thoughtfully offered and arranged. Giovanni assisted us with directions to various places that we headed to during our stay and they always turned out perfectly. (One of our day trips was to Siena via “the Chianti Road” which was fantastic.) In the evenings we always returned back in time for dinner at La Casa del Prosciutto, which is literally across the roadway from Poggio al Sole’s driveway. Their food is uncomplicated and delicious with excellent owner/hosts. It was so wonderful to wrap up your day where you can enjoy a glass or two of vino and walk just a few steps to get home.

Our room and beds were very comfortable. We were able to sleep with the windows open at night as they were fitted with screens that scrolled up and down like a blind, which was much appreciated, as it was very warm in Tuscany in August. We went to sleep with to the sound of frogs and crickets and were even treated to an incredible thunder and lightening storm one night. The grounds were an inviting place to rest and recover from our daily travels and our bedrooms were pleasantly furnished, clean and comfortable.

I know some have mentioned they took the bus from Fiesole, which is a short drive from Poggio al Sole. We had a little rented Fiat 500 and we did find having a car in this area most convenient. (We picked it up in Florence and Poggio al Sole is an easy drive from the rental offices in Florence.) I did have to encourage our little car to get up the steep driveway on my first attempt, but by our second day I mastered the technique perfectly and really enjoyed driving the little roads of the region. On the Sunday there were many bike riders that looked very professional and it was great fun to follow them along at their quick pace, snaking along the winding road into Fiesole and down into Florence.

Our entire stay at Poggio al Sole was ideal. Giovanni is obviously an expert on Tuscany and next time I would not miss getting more of an education and guidance from him on the area. (I noticed some of the books on Tuscany in our room were written by the modest Giovanni too late to mine his knowledge on this trip.)

I hope we return to this magical little spot in the next few years. In the meantime I hope things stay much the same, as this truly is a beautiful little Tuscan gem. We all will fondly remember our few days here. Our son says it was one of his favorite places of our two week European vacation.

Grazie Giovanni and Antonietta!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NativeVictorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fiesole hotels
4.3 mi away
Pensione Bencista
Pensione Bencista
#2 of 11 in Fiesole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
4.0 mi away
Belmond Villa San Michele
4.1 mi away
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Fattoria Di Maiano
Fattoria Di Maiano
#6 of 11 in Fiesole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Bonelli
Hotel Villa Bonelli
#8 of 11 in Fiesole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dino Hotel
Dino Hotel
#5 of 11 in Fiesole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Poggio al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Poggio al Sole

Property: Agriturismo Poggio al Sole
Address: Via Torre di Buiano 4, 50014, Fiesole, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggio al Sole lies in the midst of the magnificent scenario of the Florentine hillsides, and leans over the gentle slopes of the Mugnone valley. It rests on a 450 m hill, 6 kilometers from Fiesole in a neighbourhood called Torre di Buiano, only 8 kilometres from Florence. This viewpoint surrounded by olive groves, cypress trees and fruit trees is named after the sunny position it offers from sunrise to sunset, in summer and winter as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Poggio al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Poggio Al Sole Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing