We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home far, far away from home...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast La Martellina
Ranked #3 of 18 Fiesole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home far, far away from home...”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

While planning a 2 week trip throughout Italy, we stumbled upon Claudio's lovely home and were lucky to get a reservation for 3 nights. If the reviews didn't sell us, Claudio's video about the property was enough to seal the deal.

The house is a 700 year old mill, a true piece of history - 25 minutes from downtown Florence by a very convenient bus and 10 minutes by car from the ruins of Fiesole (and an incredible view of Florence).

There is something very serene about the property that is likely a combination of the decor, the very vocal house cat, the ever so sweet St Bernard that guards the house, and Claudio's whistling as he goes about tending to his guests.

Breakfast was amazing. Different every morning, and always included hot food - which is not typical of a European breakfast.

There is not much around the property if you want to hang close. The restaurant down the street was so good that we ate there 3 nights in a row. The service was also great.

Back to the property - we stayed in a room with a shared bathroom, which wasn't an issue at all. We had all of necessary items to make our stay comfortable. Claudio even let us do laundry, which was very appreciated.

I hesitated before writing this review - I would love for this B&B to remain a secret so that we can re-book when we return to Italy.

Simply lovely. Our time at Martellina was definitely a highlight.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courts555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    54
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
58
162
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The building itself and the gardens are just beautiful, situated right on the river. Also it is a 3 minute walk to the bus stop where you can catch the bus into Florence for 2E and nearby to a lovely restaurant and ice cream parlour. The rooms were clean, well appointed and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was also spotless, had a hair dryer and great shower.
The breakfast was delicious - fresh fruit, boiled eggs, cured meats and breads, as well as cereals and pastries all on offer. It's normally served outside but it was a bit chilly while we were there.

Claudio the owner was incredibly friendly and couldn't have been more helpful.

I would really recommend this very reasonable guest-house, it was half the price of anywhere else I checked but the service and accommodation are of a very high standard.

Thanks a million Claudio - hope to see you again!!

Room Tip: Olivio and Leccio are both lovely rooms, they have a separate shared bathroom, making them even more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosats148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Rouret, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were attracted by the nice pictures. The reality was over our expectations. Claudio has transformed this old mill into a terrific space of calm, nature and conviviality. Not mentioning the generous breakfast. Congratulations for the hard work and the magic of the result. Hopefully we will come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martellina, Proprietario at Bed and Breakfast La Martellina, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Xavier can I say? Thanks for appreciating my efforts to transform a beautiful place in a warm home, for guests seeking peace and beauty. I very much hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VT/VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My husband and I reserved a five night stay at the bed and breakfast, La Martellina in Girone, Italy in late Feb., 2013 (based on the reviews that we read on tripadvisior). We stood by the b&b's gate awaiting the owner, Claudio, to welcome us to his artfully renovated villa. In those few minutes we remarked to one another that our relatively short stay here would meet our needs; after all, we are seasoned, well informed travelers who thought we knew what kind of travel adventure we had organized. Were we ever wrong! Our stay ended up being twelve nights longer than we had anticipated and for reasons that we had never considered; we fell in love with Claudio, La Martellina, Girone, and even his sizable dog, Emilio. So what accounts for this unanticipated lengthy "home" visit? Just that......we found a home, a very special home.....at La Martellina, with Claudio, and in Girone.
Our extended stay with Claudio allowed us to access and experience Italian life. After enjoying Claudio's artfully served gourmet breakfasts each day, we ambled along the Arno River walking path from Girone into Florence. We ate great meals in Florence restaurants and in Girone, we explored most of the neighborhoods in Florence on both sides of the river, we visited the museums and parks, we gorged ourselves with locally made gellato, we discussed local politics, Italian history, and life in general with Claudio, and we went to sleep each night in comfort with the incredibly soothing swish of the Arno River by our window. In summary, we experienced a total immersion in Italian life. We recommend this b& b with enthusiasm and without hesitation because it's just simply outstanding in every way AND a conduit to explore the Florence area with ease and under the caring tutelage of Claudio as well.

Room Tip: We selected the room with a private bath; the room is large, well furnished (charming), and extremel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatstay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martellina, Proprietario at Bed and Breakfast La Martellina, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Andrea & Richard,
I thank you for your wonderful description, if I did not live to Martellina already want to go there :)
Your long and unexpected stay was a wonderful experience for me and convinces me of the wonderful choice made to share my home with guests from all over the world.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at the B&B recently and it was great experience! I wish our stay was longer so we could’ve hung out at the B&B to take in the beautiful views. Claudio was great and I felt very comfortable there. We didn’t know how to get to his place – it’s the street furthest to the left when you get off the bus. Luckily, we asked the bus driver or we would’ve been walking around aimless. Even though it’s 20 minutes out of Florence – it was nice to get out of the city and have peace and quiet at night. There is also a nice traditional Italian restaurant up the street. The breakfast was amazing both days! My husband and I will stay there again if we ever go back to Italy. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a true B&B experience and a need to get out of the Florence craziness. Oh…and of course Emilio was great too!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I had a wonderful time staying at la Martellina. The room, the garden, the hosts Claudio and Emilio, I will remember it all with love and sunshine in my heart. I will specially remember the breakfasts in the garden that Claudio made, different things every morning!
The connections with the bus were great and the small resturant in the village served nice italian food.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malinimalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Claudio's B&B is great and he serves up an excellent breakfast. The place is a 15-20 minute bus ride to Florence's city center (right by the Duomo). The bus is really easy to take and runs until 1am or so, so no worries about getting stuck. Perfect if you want a romantic getaway in a beautiful landscape, but you also want to go sightseeing in Florence.

Room Tip: The shared bathroom is great if you choose one of the smaller rooms, but the ensuite room is absolut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler_3933_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fiesole hotels
3.3 mi away
Belmond Villa San Michele
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Bonelli
Hotel Villa Bonelli
#8 of 11 in Fiesole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pensione Bencista
Pensione Bencista
#2 of 11 in Fiesole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.6 mi away
Florence Country Relais
Florence Country Relais
#2 of 18 in Fiesole
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fattoria di Poggiopiano
Fattoria di Poggiopiano
#5 of 18 in Fiesole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast La Martellina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast La Martellina

Property: Bed and Breakfast La Martellina
Address: Via della Martellina 19 | San Jacopo Al Girone, 50061, Fiesole, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Ancient 13th century mill, with charming garden on the river, Florence lies less than 5 Km away. Private parking. The bus stop within 200 meters for the center of Florence. Bikes available. Only the background murmur of the river you whisper in the ears! Located near a small village is completely surrounded by green countryside. A lovely outdoor garden and a hearty breakfast awaits you in the morning and you will spend a pleasant stay with family. The B & B can be both an ideal base to visit Florence or a starting point for hiking or walking and cycling in the Florentine countryside.The garden is a pleasant break after a day visiting monuments and museums. A few hundred meters guests have at their disposal, without having to use a car, an excellent restaurant, bar, pharmacy and various other shops, in addition to the movies. Availability of bicycles for walks or to Florence on the beautiful bike path on the banks of the Arno. The bus stop within 200 meters will allow you to reach the center of Florence, with departures every 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bed and Breakfast La Martellina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast La Martellina Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing