We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast La Martellina
Ranked #3 of 17 Fiesole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Beautiful B&B in a picturesque setting. We stayed for 4 days in early September and it was absolutely perfect for us. Relaxing, peaceful, clean and homely. Claudio and Emilio were very welcoming and made us feel at home. And don't even get me started on how GREAT the breakfast was: choices of cheeses, breads, cakes, cereals, fresh fruit, coffee and tea - we stuffed ourselves every morning. Getting into Florence is easy as there is a bus stop 5 minutes away. We actually ended up cycling in every day using Claudio's bikes (for free!). It took us about half an hour and it is an easy path along the river. The room was cool and comfortable and we shared a bathroom with one other couple which was problem-free. The local restaurant was delicious and only 10 minutes walk away. Every evening, after eating out in Florence, we drank prosecco on the balcony and watched the geckos dance on the walls. The whole stay was very relaxing and romantic - I would highly recommend this B&B! Thanks for having us Claudio!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123MayaB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

Great value for money and just loved being in the mill on the river, good location. We then used their bikes to ride into Florence along the river. The host is a great guy. It is not far into the city by bus and out of the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Claudio and Emilio have stolen our heart. We could only survive the crowd in Florence because of the charming and relaxing guesthouse La Martinella in Fiesole.
Its is historical, relaxing and homely. The sweet sound of the Arno when sitting in the garden enjoying breakfast and the hospitality of Claudia and Emilio, that is the real thing.
The old watermill is beautifully restaured.
The distance by bustravel (20 minutes) tot the center of Florence is great, so you don't have to worry about parking.

Room Tip: If it is possible you should choose the tower room with view over the Arno. It is not living like Go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinAndKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

You are instantly made to feel welcome upon entering Claudio's beautiful home. The B&B is set in the most wonderful spot alongside the river & the sound of the river running by is the soundtrack to relaxing & enjoying Claudio's large garden with its quirky hammocks and swinging seats.
We shared a bathroom with one other guest which was absolutely fine, our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. The high ceilings and stone tiled floors kept the room nice and cool.
The breakfasts are well worth staying for, there was a lovely selection of fresh fruits, breads, cheese, cakes and delicious biscotti. We enjoyed sharing breakfast with other guests and sharing stories of our travels and sight seeing plans.
There's an excellent transport link into Florence and the bus stop is only 5 minutes walk away. There's also a lovely restaurant within walking distance.
I feel very lucky to have discovered B&B La Martellina, we hold fond memories of our stay and would certainly return and recommend others to do the same.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOLIDAY_SARAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our second visit to this delightful old B&B and a warm welcome from Claudio and Emilio (the dog). Staying here is more like staying in friend's home than in a B&B. It's relaxed, charming, homely. I caught up with some washing and hung it in the garden.It is lovely to be so close to Florence but away from the hustle and bustle. This time we had an ensuite room with lovely view over the garden and river. Breakfasts are always excellent - plentiful with varied sweet and savoury items, and it was a pleasure to meet and chat to so many different people from all over the world. We used the bikes to cycle along the river into Florence on a couple of days, and walked back another day. There's also a regular bus . Take time to see something of the local community of Girone too. There's an immaculately kept Commonwealth War Cemetery, a small cinema,a good restaurant and if you visit in September dinner at the truffle festival is a must. It's entirely run by volunteers including Claudio with money to good local causes, and the food is delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnshireLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

If you like the idea of staying in a unique property, a piece of history, away from the bustle of the city, with no street noises, just the sound of the river underneath your window, and relaxed breakfasts outside every morning, chatting to other guests and a very congenial and helpful host, then this is the place for you. If you prefer modern, pristine, impersonal hotels in an urban environment, then probably not. We stayed in the tower room with our own bathroom so that really added to our experience. Claudio made us feel very welcome - we felt like we could make ourself at home - it was casual, relaxed, full of interesting objects, a few cobwebs in the corners and a garden that felt lived in rather than manicured (we had to keep an eye out for Emilio's little presents!). A place where you can easily cycle or bus to Florence, or as we did, use as a base to drive around Tuscany - one can quickly get out into the countryside. We really appreciated the time Claudio took to help us decide where to drive every day - and even lent us a map which was a big help. We also appreciated Claudio's efforts with breakfast - lots of variety, and every day a few changes to the offerings (the tuna & artichoke spread was my favourite!). The one thing I missed was being able to have cappuccino, as I'm not a fan of regular coffee, but my boyfriend assured me it was very good. If you feel the cold, pack a warm sweater just for the early mornings/late evenings outside as the breeze from the river can be quite cool. We certainly hope to come again, staying at La Martellina was the icing on our Tuscan cake! Grazie mille Claudio!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MizzCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Nice place to stay and visit, great personality of the owner Claudio, funny humoristic man, great country and seroudings, super breakfast outside in the lovely garden with a great vieuw. A nice garden with pool, differtent places where you can sit and relax, enjoy your vacantion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiesole
Pensione Bencista
#2 of 11 in Fiesole
377 reviews
Fattoria Di Maiano
#5 of 11 in Fiesole
136 reviews
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Demidoff Country Resort
#1 of 1 in Pratolino
454 reviews
Villa Miralunga B&B
#8 of 17 in Fiesole
49 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
La Corte dei Principi
La Corte dei Principi
#299 of 657 in Florence
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast La Martellina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast La Martellina

Address: Via della Martellina 19 | San Jacopo Al Girone, 50061, Fiesole, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Fiesole
Price Range: £52 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Ancient 13th century mill, with charming garden on the river, Florence lies less than 5 Km away. Private parking. The bus stop within 200 meters for the center of Florence. Bikes available. Only the background murmur of the river you whisper in the ears! Located near a small village is completely surrounded by green countryside. A lovely outdoor garden and a hearty breakfast awaits you in the morning and you will spend a pleasant stay with family. The B & B can be both an ideal base to visit Florence or a starting point for hiking or walking and cycling in the Florentine countryside.The garden is a pleasant break after a day visiting monuments and museums. A few hundred meters guests have at their disposal, without having to use a car, an excellent restaurant, bar, pharmacy and various other shops, in addition to the movies. Availability of bicycles for walks or to Florence on the beautiful bike path on the banks of the Arno. The bus stop within 200 meters will allow you to reach the center of Florence, with departures every 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bed and Breakfast La Martellina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast La Martellina Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing