We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing stay outside Florence!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast La Martellina
Ranked #3 of 17 Fiesole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My 18yr. old son and I LOVED our stay at La Martellina! It was a nice break from being in the midst of all the tourist in Florence. The rooms were big, clean, comfortable, and had the most amazing and relaxing views. The building had a lot of character and charm. Even though it was about 6 miles from the City Center of Florence, the owner, Claudio, provided us with bikes and we had a GREAT ride along the river to the city. It was easy, fun, and very safe!! Finally, Claudio provided us with the most amazing breakfast we had in Florence!!!! I would stay there again!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Bed and Breakfast La Martellina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Claudio, Emilio and Tiger! After the tourist packed city of Florence it was a delight to get on our bikes and ride back to Claudio's place, where the rippling sound of the river Arno made us fall sound asleep. In the morning we were offered a splendid breakfast and we would be ready again to face the dive into the glorious city of Florence.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Idomeneo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I am very thankful that La Martellina is a B&B, and not some bar or restaurant or pub! My stay was wonderful and I had the best of both worlds - the city and the countryside. What's a Tuscany trip without the countryside, anyway! I look forward to having an early evening rest and slow morning start everyday, cos La Martellina was indeed home away from home. It is clean and Claudio and Emilio are very friendly pals.There's a restaurant nearby, recommended by Claudio, that serves great food with excellent service.

La Martellina is perfect for those who want to slow down their pace. However, if you only have one day for Florence, a place near the churches might be a better choice for you.

I would love to return to La Martellina for a honeymoon stay (hopefully soon).

Room Tip: I stayed in the Leccio room, and it was spacious for me and my boyfriend. But we're asians, and...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junexh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

If you need the places with an atmosphere, La Martellina is for you. I'm not an expert in the hotel matters, but I suspect there are not so many of them in the world, which can boast a career as the water-mills in the past. So, first of all, LM is unusual. Further, a water-mill is always full of mysteries; all that was needed was not to scare them away, not to turn the place to banality. Signore Claudio has not only kept them all intact, but even added his own, new ones. He himself looks somewhat like a miller, and as we, in Russia know, all the millers are sorcerers. Add to this the giant black dog, that is exceptionally human-friendly and has a gift to win the hearts immediately and irresistibly. All this is much; but if I remind you what a river the wonderful water-mill stands on... Arno! To put it shortly – LM is a place you're guaranteed to wish to be in once more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I spent 10 wonderful nights at La Martellina in September. This B&B is in the most magical of settings right beside the river Arno, just 7km from the centre of Florence. Close enough to enjoy a relaxing bike ride alongside the river to the city and back, yet far enough from the hussle and bustle to feel truly idyllic and relaxing.
It was a joy beginning each day with the delicious breakfast that Claudio prepares. The rooms are all clean and well presented. Guests also share an upstairs lounge with fridge and coffee facilities which was a nice spot to relax (when not at one of the outside tables) and share travel stories over a glass of wine or two in the evenings. Many other guests came and went during my stay there and all seemed to share the same favourable impressions of Claudio and his hospitality.
This is the first holiday accommodation of any description that I've genuinely felt sad to leave. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend La Martellina to anyone looking for somewhere special to stay whilst in Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Tucked in a quiet neighborhood on the banks of the Arno. An old mill building, converted to B&B. Comfortable surroundings, excellent food, very reasonable pricing, and an easy ride into Florence or out into the countryside. Claudio is a delightful man, and an excellent and knowledgable host. We would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We found the B&B on Hostelworld, and were very happy with our stay. It is only a short bus ride into Florence, and if the weather is nicer than when we were there, you can borrow bicycles for free. The rooms and bathroom are lovely, with lots of tourist information in the common area. Claudio was a very kind and helpful host, and gave us truly amazing breakfasts. The local restaurant has been recommended here by others, and we would say the same. We arrived late on our first night and expected to grab a quick pizza in a quiet local restaurant, but instead we had a fantastic meal for two, and very reasonably priced.

We had a fantastic time staying at La Martellina, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P- K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiesole
3.1 mi away
Pensione Bencista
Pensione Bencista
#2 of 11 in Fiesole
372 reviews
3.3 mi away
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
515 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fattoria Di Maiano
Fattoria Di Maiano
#6 of 11 in Fiesole
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa dei Bosconi
Villa dei Bosconi
#7 of 11 in Fiesole
80 reviews
7.1 mi away
Demidoff Country Resort
Demidoff Country Resort
#1 of 1 in Pratolino
449 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa Miralunga B&B
Villa Miralunga B&B
#6 of 17 in Fiesole
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast La Martellina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast La Martellina

Address: Via della Martellina 19 | San Jacopo Al Girone, 50061, Fiesole, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Fiesole
Price Range: £50 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Ancient 13th century mill, with charming garden on the river, Florence lies less than 5 Km away. Private parking. The bus stop within 200 meters for the center of Florence. Bikes available. Only the background murmur of the river you whisper in the ears! Located near a small village is completely surrounded by green countryside. A lovely outdoor garden and a hearty breakfast awaits you in the morning and you will spend a pleasant stay with family. The B & B can be both an ideal base to visit Florence or a starting point for hiking or walking and cycling in the Florentine countryside.The garden is a pleasant break after a day visiting monuments and museums. A few hundred meters guests have at their disposal, without having to use a car, an excellent restaurant, bar, pharmacy and various other shops, in addition to the movies. Availability of bicycles for walks or to Florence on the beautiful bike path on the banks of the Arno. The bus stop within 200 meters will allow you to reach the center of Florence, with departures every 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bed and Breakfast La Martellina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast La Martellina Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing