We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable experience”

La Loggia Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 52 Restaurants in Fiesole
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A memorable experience”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The Villa San Michele in Fiesole is absolutely stunning overlooking Florence.
The entire staff has been very attentive, professional and friendly without being overly formal. Quality of food is impeccable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    32
    18
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Best meal of our 5-week trip”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our trip to Italy was based around having lunch at La Terrazza restaurant at the Hotel Splendido in Portofino (see separate review) so, when we read a magazine article about the sister hotel in Florence, we made a reservation for lunch there too.
A shuttle bus runs from La Rinascente department store at La Repubblica square in Florence but we just missed it so hailed a taxi instead. It's a fair way out of Florence so the shuttle is worth getting in order to avoid a pretty hefty taxi fare. As it turned out, we followed the empty shuttle for the last few minutes of the drive up to the hotel.
The hotel and grounds are spectacular with sweeping views over Fiesole and Florence. Unfortunately, this day was a bit cool and lunch was being served inside the restaurant rather than out in the loggia. However, noting our disappointment, the maitre'd suggested that we could have a drink in the loggia bar instead. It would have been a bit cool for a long lunch but it was fine for a martini and a margharita and, even though our reservation was for 1.30pm (the earliest booking time on their website), they seemed in no hurry to usher us inside for lunch.
The dining room is relatively small but quite beautiful and a few other diners were already seated. Three couples and a larger table of business types. We appeared to be the only diners who weren't hotel guests.
We started with risotto with taleggio cheese and pear for me and tagliatelle with a pork ragu for her. Both absolutely fantastic. We had discovered Amarone wines on this trip and, having covered up the two most frighteningly priced bottles on the extensive wine list, I asked the waiter for his recommendation from those my fingers weren't covering. His recommendation, La Poja Allegrini, was still frightening at 154 euros but not as terrifying as some of the others and was a perfect accompaniment to the entrees and our main courses. I had the duck breast and she had the tuna in a pistachio crust. Again, wonderful.
We hesitated about dessert but decided to go for broke and I had the strawberry millefeuille and she had the crunchy cappuccino. Both excellent and accompanied by glasses of dessert wine recommended by our waiter. We had coffee out in the loggia after a stroll around the garden and only just caught the 4pm shuttle back to town. Throughout the meal, the service from the tuxedo'd waiters was impeccable and good humoured and each course was delivered to the table on a trolley and served with great flourish. A wonderful day of eating and drinking in magnificent surroundings. At 449 euros including the cocktails, it was our most expensive meal of the trip but it was also by far the best meal of the trip and we ate at some great restaurants. Highly recommended for a very special day if you want to splurge.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwegwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
198 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Atmosphere Atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Absolutely wonderful - so entranced by being there I don't remember the food. Felt like I was in a movie

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank raymond p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great view though a bit breezy”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The view is magnifcent:rolling countryside and Florence's Duomo.Great wine and food,great service.An example of one mealL:wild green salad,alnuts and capers with herb sauce;followed by Siena psta served with wild duck ragout;followed by turbot medaillon stuffed with artichokes etc etc.What can you dislike?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cemre_birand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, at a high price”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The tables at the open window area are terrific, and the food and service were excellent. Go a little early and walk around the gardens for a half hour to relax, if there's any light left this time of year. Bill for two, with wine, was $332, so be warned. We went mid-September.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank billinsugarloaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Loggia Restaurant also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 
Fiesole, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 
Fiesole, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Loggia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing