We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure but in Montenero NOT in Livorno”
Review of Hotel La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Vedetta
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A treasure but in Montenero NOT in Livorno”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Certainly finding this hotel was like geo-cacheing/ orienteering but once you struck the jackpot it was worth the effort. When you get to the centre in front of the famous church look for a small hotel sign attached to a wall near the church and go up a very narrow street to the hotel. We were never more than 500m from the hotel but in the dark it took us 2 hours to find it after the GPS failed to help and the map on my i-phone ran out of battery. A lovely young local couple had never heard of it but rang and got directions for us then took us there, following them on their scooter. Parking is a problem if the place is busy. Our room was nothing extraordinary but rooms on the first floor would have had a view looking out over the city. There is a large patio where all can enjoy the view. It is definitely a tranquil sanctuary after the nerve wrack of driving on Italian roads. We liked the local paintings which were displayed in all the main areas - a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachViews49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    213
    73
    25
    7
See reviews for
118
262
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, Calif.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We had a room on the 3rd floor with a million dollar view of the sea, O just thinking about it makes me want to be there again. We loved it. Convenient to get to town with the funicular (little train). Loved Livorno and the Hotel. We took a taxi from the train station and he knew right where it was. We loved it.

Room Tip: Get the sea view, it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,700 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Well I had no difficulty at all in finding it - I got the hotel to send a taxi to meet me off the ferry!

The hotel's on Montenero, which is a few miles outside central Livorno, but means there is a fabulous view. (I imagine in summer it also means it's slightly cooler, with a breeze.) The hotel building is an old villa, with a terrace outside. Inside it's more just a normal hotel, with rooms on the ground floor and wide corridors, so it might be a good choice for people with mobility problems. Comfortable modern room, good shower, good breakfast, stupendously helpful concierge on front desk, who spent over an hour locating the Livorno residences of Keats, Shelley, Byron and Smollett for me.

I liked Livorno and I'd like to go back. If I do, I'll stay at La Vedetta again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

We stayed here one night having arrived on the ferry in Livorno. We would have been there in 15 minutes from disembarkation if we could have found the hotel - it was dark by the time we were trying. My tip here is, once you find the signs, stay strong and keep going up the hill EVEN when you think you have left the village - you will eventually find another sign... due to our late arrival, the restaurant was technically closed but we begged and were served a meal based on what was left available - it wasn't the worlds best but we were beyond caring. The room was OK, nothing stunning, a bit too modern and jaded to fit the period but it was comfortable and the bathroom was good.

In the morning, we explored the hotel grounds and discovered the terrace. I dont think many of the rooms have a sea view but there is a good view from the terrace. Definitely better than a hotel in Livorno.

NB. We were on a motorbike. There is a private car park that you can not watch from your room but its relatively secluded and hidden from the road. There were other bikers staying there and the receptionist gave me a sympathetic grin when I arrived so I think they are used to bikers...rooms are big enough for stashing bike boxes without breaking an ankle.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mad194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2007

I would echo the same comment as some other reviews and definitely get directions. This hotel is VERY hard to find. Our agent copied the description from the hotel of "enchanting panorama and view of the sea". However, we had a very small window with no view and the sea is miles away. The room was of the motel variety with scratched up furniture and non-descript desk, TV on stand. Bed was standard with comforter that was not very pretty. Actually, the room reminded us of a lodge. It was quiet, though.

The dinner at the restaurant was always outside on the terrace which was nice but the service was usually performed by young teenagers who were unfamiliar with the menu and the two nights we stayed there, some things were not available (we ate fairly early by European standards).

Hotel was clean but don't think I would stay there again as we felt totally isolated but not for any good reason.

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — Distance from anything
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellamom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calvi - Corsica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2006

We booked this hotel based on TA reviews, and have to say that we're not quite sure what the fuss is about. We were arriving in the evening by ferry in Livorno and so the hotel seemed perfect as it was nearby yet out of the city, and it sounded so nice. As everyone else says, it is quite hard to find, but the setting is great. The hotel itself is a beautiful Tuscan villa, but the interior unfortunately somehow had the air of a Travelodge-type hotel, and was lacking in character. The bedroom was clean, functional and faceless. The bar felt like a being in a youth hostel, it was stark and lacking in atmosphere. Perhaps it is better in the summer months, there weren't many people staying while we were there apart from a few businessmen, and it was too cool to enjoy the terraces. We went into the village square for dinner and plumped for one of the two restaurants open. It was ok, nothing special. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, breakfast was alright but the coffee poor. It's possibly the best choice in the Livorno area, but nothing to write home about.

  • Tips/Secrets — Get the hotel to send you specific directions
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Casa-Paradis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2006

After finding the hotel which was a bit tricky we were thrilled with the room, the views, and the quiet. The staff were helpful and everything was of an excellent standard. We stayed for 3 nights and it was a beautiful escape after the pace of Rome. And the foreshore cafes of Livorno are only a few minutes away ... if your looking for something out of the city that captures Tuscany then this is it.

  • Liked — The lovation - views
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livorno hotels
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo  – MGallery by Sofitel
4.6 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#2 of 21 in Livorno
556 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#4 of 21 in Livorno
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Il Romito
Hotel Il Romito
#6 of 21 in Livorno
316 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Navy
Hotel Navy
#7 of 21 in Livorno
154 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Duca
Hotel Gran Duca
#12 of 21 in Livorno
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vedetta

Property: Hotel La Vedetta
Address: Via della Lecceta 5, 57128, Livorno, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Livorno
#1 Best Value Hotel in Livorno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Livorno
#3 Business Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Vedetta 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1700, La Vedetta has a hilltop location with panoramic views across Livorno and the surrounding green hills. It offers air-conditioned rooms, a large buffet breakfast and free parking.Your room at Hotel La Vedetta comes with satellite TV, a minibar and inexpensive Wi-Fi access. Each bathroom features a hairdryer and toiletries.Once a minister's residence, La Vedetta Hotel now features a large sun terrace, a bar and a Tuscan restaurant open from May until September.The hotel is 5 minutes' walk from Montenero Church and Sanctuary. It is a short drive from the seaside and 10 km from the centre of Livorno. The port, for ferries to Sardinia and Corsica, is 15 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vedetta Di Montenero Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing