We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to ferries”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Europa
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Europa on our way to Sardinia and we liked it. There is a private parking lot, which was ideal as our car was packed with luggage. You have to pay extra for it, but I think it is worth it. The hotel itself is good: you wouldn't want to spend your entire holiday there, but its rooms are large and clean - nothing fancy but the room rates reflect the simplicity of the place. The staff was helpful. The area seemed absolutely safe, just a short walk from shops and with several dining options in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a hotel of thirteen in a dozen, good for an overnight stay, waiting for the boat to...., but has nothing to remember. Rooms o.k., location quite well, but in a very noisy district. Parking available.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the street side if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Molen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

First of all, I was looking for a good location. But wait a minute, how did you find yourself in Livorno? My purpose was to see the city and this location is the best for this purpose. Just in the very centre of Livorno, near principal squares, charming Venezia Nuova, shops and bus stops from which you can go to see other places farther ahead or even go to the beaches (almost outside Livorno), or just to the train station to catch a train to see Pisa in 20 min. If you're not interested in all that stuff and it's just, for example, a layover during your cruise journey, may be there are also some nice hotels closer to the port area.
I loved the service. They were very welcoming in their greeting email, and they rest the same during our visit. I always try to practice my poor Italian but I know that many of them also spoke English well.
The room was on the second floor (they have an elevator), medium-sized, air-conditioned, very clean and cosy. I didn't fancy one thing in the bathroom design: the shelf was opposite the sink but near the toilet pan, so I accidentally dropped something from the shelf right there:) Anyway, the problem is easily solvable. We also didn't have a minibar as it was stated in the booking confirmation but we didn't ask about it and it was not a real minus for us.
WiFi signal was excellent. I often have a bad luck with a hotel Internet but here I was absolutely happy.
It's absolutely worth its price. However, I was suprised to discover that Livorno is not super budget friendly considering hotels' prices.
Anyway, I would definitely recommend this place for someone coming to visit Livorno.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank R0zaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I were traveling south to our ship and decided to stay here. The person at the front desk did not speak English very well and we had a hard time understanding him and him understanding us. The hotel is located on a street near nothing. The room was extremely small, but cool. We never stayed for breakfast as we both wanted to get out of the hotel fast. The area has nothing to offer. I will not be returning back to this hotel.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Nothing bad to say about it. It is on a quiet street and even has own parking. The double room is simple with everything you need - TV, free WiFI, Minibar, AC, hairdryer, clean bathroom. Nothing is outdated, the price was ok too.
Just the breakfast was a little bit to short coffee and some snacks, but it was already in the price. If you have to pay extra for it, don't, there are plenty of places to have nice breakfast and big grocery store is just around a corner.

Room Tip: don't pay extra for breakfast, the room is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

A reasonably priced hotel in the middle of the town of lovely Livorno. Clean, equipped with the basics and settled in a quiet corner but still close to everything. For the price, this is all we expect. There was nothing hip and shiny about this place but everything works. We were very happy with the staff who went out of their way to buy a UK plug converter when we needed one (at no extra charge) and offered us coffee beyond breakfast hours while we were waiting for a taxi. Free internet (by the hour internet cards you can get from the reception) is also provided which even most five star hotels would have you paying! We highly recommend this place for travelers who want to enjoy Livorno on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

This was a very nice hotel. The desk clerks were most helpful in finding a laundry, suggesting a place for dinner and getting a taxi in the morning. It was a little far to walk to the ferry port in the morning. The cab was quick though. It was also a quick cab ride to the train station (too far to walk). There wasn't much English spoken but we did ok.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MsLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livorno hotels
1.5 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#2 of 21 in Livorno
637 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 21 in Livorno
622 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#5 of 21 in Livorno
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Duca
Hotel Gran Duca
#12 of 21 in Livorno
400 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Navy
Hotel Navy
#8 of 21 in Livorno
169 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo  – MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Dell'Angiolo 23, 57123, Livorno, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
Price Range: £59 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing