We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable trip from Livorno”

Santuario di Montenero
Book In Advance
More Info
US$78.73*
and up
5-Hour Electric Bike Tour of Livorno with Lunch
Ranked #3 of 89 things to do in Livorno
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aussichtspunkt mit Blick aufs Meer
Stamford Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable trip from Livorno”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Visited the hilltop location having caught the service bus number 2 from Livorno which terminates at the funicular railway. Catch the railway to reach the mountain top visit and spend some time wondering around the Church and look at the stunning views of the bay of Livorno from the terrace.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    205
    42
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
L'Aquila, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice view out of the crowdy places”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Wonderful view, better air, nice spots and restaurants.
The monastery is also very good and deserves a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Giuseppe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Peaceful, eye opening...”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We didn't know what we were going to see and went by the funicular railway and expected only to get a magnificent view... but we found peace and tranquility as we walked the grounds. We didn't eat up there but there were plenty of options.
The railway cost E1.40 but you only have 75 minutes to go up and back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank webBorehamwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing views.”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Stopped here before getting the car train Livorno. It's a great little place with amazing views over Livorno, the sea & mountains. Choices of a couple of local Italian restaurants. The one we tried, Il Contino was fantastic. Great food and very good value for money. We sat on the sun terrace looking out over the view. A wonderful respite before the chaos of boarding the train.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Karenagrace44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livorno, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very suggestive”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

i think this is one of the most beautiful and suggestive sanctuary in Italy, but i am sure it is the best in Tuscany. it is located on a hill situated about six kilometers from Leghorn and the wiew is spectacular.you ca get there or by car or by the small and very carateristic funicular that i recommend you. the church is dated from the eigteenth century and the legend said that the Virgin Mary appeared to a shepherd and told him ton build the churh. there is a rich collection of " ex votos " housed around the chrurch, because the Madonna of Montenero miratulated so many people!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank rosanna204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santuario di Montenero also viewed

Livorno, Province of Livorno
Livorno, Province of Livorno
 
Livorno, Province of Livorno
Livorno, Province of Livorno
 

Been to Santuario di Montenero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing