We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Rex
Nearby Hotels
US$167
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Navy(Livorno)
US$107
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$97
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Il Romito(Livorno)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Al Teatro(Livorno)
US$113
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Europa(Livorno)
US$96
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$108
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
39
101
67
46
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
101
67
46
40
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We had planned to stay at Hotel Rex for our final few days in Tuscany. It had four stars so we were expecting a certain standard. Once we arrived at hotel, we realised it wasn't what we had come to expect of four star hotels in Tuscany. It was bland, dated and in desperate need of an upgrade.
Neither is it in Livorno but quite a few miles out. We asked for a restaurant recommendation. They recommended a restaurant 30 mins away by taxi. Once there - it was in an industrial estate - the food was good. However we could not home- not one taxi could be got. One of the restaurant staff had to drive us back. It cost us 65 Euro for the taxi and lift home alone. The hotel staff just shrugged when we told them. No real customer service.
The restaurant does have a private beach!! Yeah right - you are packed in like sardines in a concrete pier type thing - you may as well sunbathe on the street. Needless to say we didnt bother.
Thankfully we got a hotel in Lucca for our final night - another four star. It was fab.
This rating system doesn't seem to be constant for hotels in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

It is quite difficult to rate such an hotel. I visited it for a reunion of my former class mates, 40 years after we all joined the Navy (Livorno hosts the Italian Navy Academy). From 1971 to 2011, I think absolutely nothing has changed inside the hotel. But do not misunderstand, it is in excellent conditions. Except that in the room where I was, all was like it was in 1971! The floor in glass tiles, the bed very low, the bathroom tiny and with a typical 1971 shower space (thank God I have not put so much weight in 40 years, I could still - barely - fit in it. If you are overweight..... mmmmhhh.... wait for rain, it's better).
The view (I did not have a room with view) from the restaurant/balcony is amazing, right on the water. Breakfast was really standard.
So, difficult to judge. For the view alone, 5 stars. For the historical/memory point of view, this is how hotels were in 1971 and it is worth the money because if brings (and it did to me) back memories.
If you are looking for luxurious comfort, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask a room with sea view
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Great location just outside the large and interesting city of Livorno.Take the number 1 bus directly outside of main rail station and get off at last stop fare 1.70euro on-board takes about 20/25 mins depending on traffic.The views are spectacular from the dinning room.Staff are so pleasant and helpful.

The only downfall is the need to reserve your table for the evening meal on the lower floor situated at sea level as it is so popular with local Italian residents who live locally as has a great reputation, the menu changes daily A great hotel and a further point is that residents of the hotel have free access to the safe but Rockey beach normally you would pay 15euros per person /day any where else,a greatplace to stay.

Room Tip: Buy you rail/bus tickets at the tobacco shops 25% cheaper do not forget to validate your tickets befor travel or endure a heavey fine!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bournemouthkevi... w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

really lovely hotel, with excellent reception staff!
the amazing terrace to have breakfast was perfect, and you can see the beach easily!
the hotel haas a resturant too, whcih was very nice and the price was good.

there is a bus nearby that can take you to the town centre which is not far.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony not facing the main road
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancinggirl88London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Livorno and hotel Rex was our base for the trip to tucany in mai/june 2011.

perfect located for trips in to lovely tuscany with rental car, about 25 minutes from Pisa and 80 minutes from siena.

The hotel standard is back to the 80's but we found that very charming. Italien hotelstandard is rather poor... but this hotel is not as bad as many others. the location is on the beach, not sandy but rocky and they built a plattform of concrete, good clean water. a lot of free sunbeds to hotelguests. a small cafe at beachlevel with good pricelevel. in the weekends its a lot of local peoples using the beacharea.
it can be hard to find place to park the car on daytime because of this.

the rooms are big, and have nice balconys with seaview. breakfast was ok, like all italian hotels the breakfast are rather simple, but good.

Good value for the money, free wifi at the rooms and a good base for trips in to tuscany.
its a must with car, and its located outside of centre of livorno, so if u look for nightlife, try something else!

Room Tip: choose rooms with seaview
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runjarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews