We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Max Hotel Livorno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Max Hotel Livorno
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
Baltimore, US
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

I would recommend this hotel, if the price is right.

The hotel is a 15-minute walk from the train station. However, I was forced to walk on the road in a couple of places. The front desk attendants spoke fluent English. The hotel provides free Internet. I found the breakfast to be OK and the restaurant staff somewhat lacking in
customer focus.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    305
    102
    16
    7
See reviews for
84
188
17
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

these is a glass door to the bathroom, you even cannot lock it, there is an opening between this door and wall about 3-4 inches(10 sm), so you can enjoy(?) the view and smell of the person using shower or toilet!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank al52ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is situated a couple of km out of town and twenty minute walk from the train station - a taxi to the centre of town or the port is about 20 Euro. The hotel is right next store to a fairly good shopping centre. The room was good and the bathroom had a bath. The staff were courteous and professional. The breakfast was pretty good. We would certainly stay there again for a one night stopover although something more central would be preferable although for that price for quality ratio it would be hard to beat

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOHJAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

A website said the location of the hotel was less than a km from the train station. This may be the case but it was a route I would not walk with my 12 year old son. We stopped in Livorno for one night to catch the ferry to Corsica, and chose this hotel because it was supposedly close to the train station -- after settling in we planned to go to Pisa and being close to the train station cuts down on taxis. The room was lovely - very fresh style, new finishes. The bathroom was beautiful but the shower door leaked like crazy. The breakfast is ok - lots of breads to choose from but not great on the selection of proteins. The staff were friendly -- would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We spent one night here having arrived on the ferry and before travelling onward by train the next day. Internally, the hotel was clean and comfortable - no complaints, however the location was a downside for us. Perhaps we should have researched it more thoroughly but the website claims it is 'a few minutes from the train station'. This is true if you are in a car, but on foot it is a brisk 10-15 minute walk along a main road. The hotel is part of an out-of-town shopping complex, with no restaurant facilities in the vicinity. Fortunately we discovered a great little local pizzeria around 20 minutes walk away, just past the station - Pizza e Torta- unassuming from the outside but great, cheap pizzas. We didn't breakfast at the hotel. Overall, a good hotel if you have a car and are in Livorno as a stopover, but on foot we wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank South_Chelt_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

A modern hotel but off the beaten track. Cost of 25 eoro from the ferry port. It is out of town. We were dissappointed with the service in the restaurant. The description of meals on the menu was not what arrived on the table. Breakfast was disasterous as, at 09.00, there was nothing left except croissants and toast. The cook had gone home and no more hot food would be provided. There was still one hour before breakfast finished.

Room Tip: Book early for the best rooms and prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andycap_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

I stayed one night with my family to catch the morning ferry from Livorno to Sardinia.

The hotel is offsite, next to a half abandoned shopping hall that hosts a terrible pizza fast food place (I wonder how such a place can exist in Italy). Anyway, you need a car to get to the hotel and also to get back to civilization.

What we liked was the spacious room, the free water from the mini bar, free parking in front of the hotel as well as in the underground garage. Breakfast was ok. The price was fair (125 EUR for a room with two double beds).

Internet was free but didn't work. The while hotel smelled a little bit strange and I would get depressed if I needed to stay there for longer than a night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisHVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livorno hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo  – MGallery by Sofitel
2.7 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#4 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Gran Duca
Hotel Gran Duca
#12 of 21 in Livorno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Navy
Hotel Navy
#8 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Hotel Livorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Hotel Livorno

Property: Max Hotel Livorno
Address: Via Giotto Ciardi 28 | Zona Porta a Terra, 57121, Livorno, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
#2 Best Value Hotel in Livorno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livorno
#5 Business Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Max Hotel Livorno 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Max Hotel Livorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livorno Max Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing