We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth staying for the excellent local advice”
Review of Hotel Melecchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Melecchi
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
2 reviews
“Well worth staying for the excellent local advice”
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We enjoyed our stay in Lucca which was greatly enhanced by the advice and assistance provided by Giovanni and family. The hotel is well located with a short walk to the old town. Free parking provided along with free use of bikes. On arrival, advice on main sights and activities was very useful and makes a huge difference in not wasting time having to discover these for yourself. The hotel staff are exceptionally friendly with clean, well equipped rooms. Breakfast provided was more than adequate with no shortage of fruit, bread etc. Excellent coffee also provided instead of usual percolated rubbish as in many other hotels! a lot of these items mentioned above are not available in other hotels and we got great vaule for money. We were also welcome to use the pleasant terraced area for lunch etc. If visiting Lucca would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irlray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    64
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
122
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Sorry but we disagree with the other reviews. We were there for 2 nights at the start of our biking week. Yes, the host is gracious and helpful but we almost felt that we were intruding on all of the family members and friends that we in the lounge watching Italian sporting events, drinking coffee and wine. The breakfast is a disappointment especially if you are biking. Corn flakes - only cereal offered is recycled and very stale. No fruit or vegetables are available. And there are plastic flowers EVERYWHERE including on the outside decks. Bathroom shower was a disappointment. If you must stay here do ask for a room on the back or you will hear traffic noise all night.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargiMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole,Dorset,UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

This was our first stay and won't be our last. My wife and I saw the good reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. We are looking forward to our next visit.
Rarely do you find such a genuinely friendly hotel. It is situated in a quiet area, a short walk from the centre of Lucca. Plenty of private parking.
Giorgio, his sister Julia and their parents could not have been more helpful. They deserve every success. They do speak English but also helped us with our efforts at spoken Italian.
The double room was of a good standard, clean and comfortable and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnandAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton-on-the-Wolds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We stayed for three nights in October 2009 and had a super time, Lucca is a great place and this hotel was perfectly placed for exploring the town only a few minutes walk from the gate and walls. Quiet, clean, relaxed atmosphere, efficient and helpful staff, we were sorry to leave! We can definitely recommend this hotel and will return there next time we go to Lucca. Thankyou Giovanni.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

What a find! This small, immaculate, quiet and very friendly hotel (B and B only) has been run by four generations of the same family. It has its own shaded car-park and is so conveniently located, 5 minutes walk from Porta Elisa, one of the gates into the beautiful, small, walled city.
Marino and Giovanni, father and son, are ALWAYS on hand to offer advice and suggestions. They serve you an excellent continental breakfast in one of two breakfast rooms, and you are welcome to bring in your own lunch to eat on the shaded terrace on the first floor. You can buy a drink from the well-stocked bar, and if you are exhausted after a day's sight-seeing, they will telephone for a pizza and Rosella (mother) will serve it for you in the breakfast room. Although Marino, Giovanni and daughter Julia speak English, they are perfectly happy to let you try out your Italian.
The bedrooms are well-equipped with hairdrier and plenty of cupboard space. The sheets are changed every other day, a rare occurence in a two star hotel. The bathroom has a bidet and the towels are also changed every other day. If you bring in your own fruit, it is ready for you in a bowl the next time you go into your room.
The suggestions regarding where to eat for lunch/dinner were plentiful and accurate and we can thoroughly recommend "da Sergio", where we had three superb evening meals.
We can't find a single fault with Hotel Melecchi (or Lucca). Even the prices are reasonable! This is definitely where we will stay if we come to Lucca in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2009

I've come back this evening from a trip to Lucca with my old parents and can only confirm all the good things experienced by other travellers in this hotel. Giovanni and his family are the best host, the rooms and bathrooms are comfortable, functional and very clean, the place is peaceful and very near the dreamy old town inside the Walls; breakfast was good, and all at a quite fair price. We also got good advices about restaurants. My parents were enthousiast. Thumb up!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Although Lucca is not a crowded or noisy town, staying just outside the city walls at the Hotel Melecchi ensures a peaceful night. Giovanni, Julia and their father are welcoming and very helpful - they really seem to enjoy their work and that shows! The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. The breakfast is OK, if a little unimaginative. All in all, very good for the price.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanicusBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.0 mi away
Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 51 in Lucca
887 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 51 in Lucca
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 51 in Lucca
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
0.8 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 51 in Lucca
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melecchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melecchi

Property: Hotel Melecchi
Address: Via Romana 41, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lucca
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#9 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Melecchi 2*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Melecchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melecchi Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing