We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't plan on 4 people in a room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Tucci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Tucci
Ranked #34 of 166 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johns Creek, GA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Don't plan on 4 people in a room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

While the property is beautiful and not a hard walk from the train station (12 minutes), the pullout bed we expected to use for two of our teenage children was so bad, we had to get another room! It was an unexpected expense. I was also a little surprised that breakfast did not start until 8:30am, which was too late for us as we had an early train. The desk was not manned the entire time we were there (arrived back to the hotel about 7pm and left about 8am) and had to call several numbers to get someone to check us out at 8am. We never felt "welcomed" or properly greeted -kind of a quick checkin and "off you go." There was no introduction to the property, mention of snacks throughout the day or evening hors d'ouvres, or any other kind of welcome to make us feel like welcome guests - so it's really just a place to sleep. There were several bottles of alcohol and glasses on tables in a few common rooms but never any mention that they were for guests.

Otherwise, the bathrooms were ok - the suite had a tub with handheld shower, one regular room had a shower and the other regular room had a tub with shower. There is an elevator. The TVs have very small screens.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrayFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    22
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
42
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Wow...This place is wonderful. I stayed here with friends for a two nights whilst visiting Lucca and was just blown away by how charming this hotel was.

The Palazzo Tucci is as impressive on the outside as it is on the inside. The decor of the public rooms are absolutely beautiful and a joy to walk around at your leisure, and the large double suite room that we stayed in was equally faultless. The owners/staff were amazing, so sweet and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. It truly is a Palace, YOU HAVE TO STAY HERE! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012rachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

This palatial bed and breakfast provides large rooms and bathroom and is in an easy walking distance to many attractions, shops and restaurants. It provides a great breakfast. Free spirits are available In the lounge room and the free wi-fi is fast.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh4573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The building itself is impressive and you enter by a vast internal courtyard and a huge hall. That said, our room whilst big was fairly basic although nicely decorated. The bathroom was huge but it only had a tiny shower tucked away in one corner and no bath! A big plus point is the secure parking in another courtyard around the back of the building. The staff were exceptionally helpful in this regard and provided good driving directions and helped with access to the parking area.

In spite of the size of the huge public rooms, breakfast is served in quite a cramped room but the selection on the buffet was good.

The location is ideal for walking around Lucca - the only downside is the noise from the street below. There appeared to be a late night bar across the road from our room and the windows were of course single glazed as you'd expect in an historic building. It might be helpful to provide thicker insulating curtains to dampen the noise rather than the thin nets currently provided.

We enjoyed our stay but I think I would stay elsewhere next time as it seemed a bit pricey for the area and facilities offered. The B&B does not do evening meals of course but the restaurant with its terrace opposite the front door of the Palazzo is good - in fact its wood-panelled interior rooms are also charming if you don't want to sit in the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveFrenchWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

You HAVE to stay here!! Treat yourself. It's amazing. Great location. Unbelievable decor. Our room (one of the two suites) was the size of a basketball court. Our jaws just dropped when we saw it. Breakfast was good. The staff were helpful. Lucca is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

This place is exceptional! In the middle of the centro storico of Lucca, located in a proper palazzo. You enter this hotel via doors that are higher than my house! Into a hall that is large enough to park six cars, up a beautiful period stairwell to the first floor. We booked the blue room, and it is very blue indeed! Lovely decor, very high ceilings and a bathroom the size of our apartment! Very friendly staff complete this picture.

The location makes Palazzo Tucci the perfect place to stay when in Lucca. The only downside is that - as you are so centrally located - there is no need to cycle around anymore, which is one of the attractive factors of Lucca. Fortunately, walking around is just as enjoyable! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.0 mi away
Relais San Lorenzo
Relais San Lorenzo
#16 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
La Boheme
La Boheme
#8 of 166 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Tucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Tucci

Property: Palazzo Tucci
Address: Via Cesare Battisti 13, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Tucci is situated on the first floor of the 17th century palace located in the centre of Lucca, next to the shopping area and the main monuments and museums.The are 3 bedrooms and 3 suite, decorated with frescos and stuccos and the original furniture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Tucci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Tucci Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing