We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Lucca”
Review of La Mimosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Mimosa
Ranked #26 of 176 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

La Mimosa is a lovely B&B. Located about a 5-minute-walk from the walls of Lucca, it offers a comfortable place to stay with outstanding service. Guiseppe and Stephano are there to welcome you, help you with reservations, call a cab or just say "buon giorno." The breakfast is lovely - bread, cheese, meat ,yogurt and fruit, along with excellent caffe. The room we stayed in was a double and was clean and comfortable, although by American standards it was tiny. Given how much we were actually in the room, it was of little consequence. I would definitely recommend this lovely B&B!

Room Tip: If traveling with more than two, choose the triple room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborrah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

La Mimosa is just outside the city walls and is a perfect location to get away from the hustle and bustle of the tourists whilst still being really close to all the attractions and restaurants. The bed and pillows were the most comfortable we have slept on on our trip to date and Giuseppe was so friendly, attentive and customer focussed that he made our three night stay in Lucca memorable. Michael's patisserie (a block away from La Mimosa) was a wonderful place to have a late afternoon drink and he provided the most scrumptious snacks to accompany the beer and prosecco.

Truly great place to stay. When we return to Lucca, we will stay here agin. Thanks Giuseppe for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My family and I recently spent two nights in Lucca. I booked two ensuite rooms for our group of 5 at La Mimosa based on feedback on TA, and was not disappointed. We had a first floor double (Edera) and ground floor triple (Tulipano?) Our hosts (Stefano and Giuseppe) were as gracious and helpful as anyone could want. The breakfast was superb. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Room Edera was adequately sized, with a somewhat funky bathroom arrangement (to be expected in older buildings), while the downstairs triple was massive. My only quibble would be something beyond the owners' control, which is traffic noise during commute hours. It could be quite noisy (especially those infernal and annoyingly ubiquitous scooters), but then I am particularly sensitive to this. Others certainly will not be. While not strictly within the central part of Lucca, La Mimosa is less than a 5-minute walk from the west gate of the city walls, making it plenty convenient for access to the abundant charms which Lucca has to offer. And if you have any doubts about whether Lucca is a worthwhile destination compared to everything else Italy has to offer, please do not. Two of my kids (after visiting Padua, Venice, Florence, and Siena) claimed Lucca was their favorite city. N.B., this was before we went to Cinqueterre. But I digress. La Mimosa is a lovely place to stay. Full-stop.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

3 blocks outside of the wall. Very friendly and helpful. The room was big and charming and neat as a pin.

Giuseppe is one of the owners and spent time in New York Couldn't do enough in suggesting what to see and places to eat.I would rate it a 10. A complete and wonderful breakfast was prvided

Room Tip: off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjro6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

my husband and i stayed here last week,all i can say is that the reviews are accurate,it was absolutely a great place to stayt the room was huge,warm spotless,it had a fridge which actually worked,as they usually dont..the shower was great lots of hot water,the breakfast was good and the coffee which was excellent kept coming giuseppi and stefano were both friendly and polite,i could not fault it in any way,its the best. go there with total confidence.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polly086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

La Mimosa was every bit as nice as other guests have described though I'm surprised by comments about small rooms. I stayed in Glycine, a pretty and comfortable room just the right size and with a perfectly equipped bathroom also of a good size. All this and a good breakfast at such a reasonable price.

I'd like to add to the many comments on the helpfulness of the owners, Giuseppe and Stefano. On my last day in Lucca, heading back to the B&B to pick up my bag, I tripped and fell. I woke to find myself in hospital with concussion and memory loss. When I eventually remembered the B&B, it was already some hours later when hospital staff contacted them.

Giuseppe and Stefano, who had been about to call the carabinieri, rushed to the hospital to find me. During the week I was in hospital they called daily and visited several times, despite having to care for guests and show Giuseppe's visiting brother around.

As I knew nobody in Lucca their care and concern made all the difference. Let alone that they were entertaining and sympathetic visitors. When it came time for me to leave the hospital, they picked me up and drove me to the station where Giuseppe helped me get the ticket and board the train.

I was and am still overwhelmed by such generous and exceptional help. Thank you again Giuseppe and Stefano, I hope to stay at La Mimosa again and can only give it the highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We walked from train station on main road by old city walls. Our rooms were very nice and comfortable, decorated with flair. Breakfast was plentiful. Best of all was close location to old Lucca and free bikes for riding city walls. Owner was very helpful as we planned our drive with car we rented two blocks away. Highly recommend this B&B to all.

Room Tip: Our room was noisy from cars on street. Not sure if any faced the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Melecchi
Hotel Melecchi
#17 of 47 in Lucca
230 reviews
1.3 mi away
B&B Cento Passi dalle Mura
0.8 mi away
Le Terrazze
Le Terrazze
#37 of 176 in Lucca
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
B&B Anfiteatro
B&B Anfiteatro
#16 of 176 in Lucca
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Guest Apartment Margherita B&B
0.9 mi away
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mimosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mimosa

Address: Via Pisana 66 | Sant'Anna, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: £36 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Mimosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear visitors, new management welcomes you in the new bed and breakfast located a few steps from the historic city walls of lucca.B&b la mimosa consists of 5 bedrooms, each with its own bathroom with shower and hairdryer, flat screen satellite tv, wi-fi internet connection, heating, air conditioning, dehumidifier and safe.The b&b has also a nice cozy breakfast room where you can enjoy, included in the room price, a typical Italian breakfast, or a continental breakfast on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Mimosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing