We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable accommodation 5 mins walk into the walled city”
Review of Hotel Bernardino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bernardino
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Lucca
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Affordable accommodation 5 mins walk into the walled city”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel was fine. We requested a car space, which they saved for us (however it took some difficult turns in the car to get around the tight road at the back of the hotel...). The room was basic but large and a very good price for the area. Lack of extra pillows and thin towels took the shine off this place which is a little dated also. The free wifi doesn't work too great on the 2nd floor either. Friendly staff however and clean bathroom with a functioning shower were both good.....free breakfast was a nice touch, it was average. Lucca however is an amazing town!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expectation_Nil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    50
    30
    11
    15
See reviews for
28
67
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great location, just a few minutes walk from the Elizabeth Gate into the old town although the bit of street it's on is one way and we had to go round twice to get to it! Parking right outside, nice little courtyard at the back for a cold beer or just a quiet read. Breakfast plentiful, helpful friendly staff - we tipped off a ferry in Livorno on our way up into the hills of Tuscany and lucca was a great stopping-off point.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornishPasty2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

It was a pleasant surprise to stay at this hotel. The bedroom was big and comfortable. It had air conditioning, big bathroom and most important for me: hot water. The breakfast was really good, with "brioches", which I really enjoyed. The localization was also really good, about two minutes walking from the Lucca Wall. There is also parking right in front of the hotel. But what really made the difference was the helpful staff, specially Filippo, who was very friendly. Thank you Hotel Bernardino for this great stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Comparing to other hotels we've seen around this was the perfect choice. Very helpful personel, really clean rooms, comfortable beds, quiet place, close to 2 beautiful churches and the city center for moderate price. Nice place to sleep on Your way to the south of Italy and as a base place to visit Pisa and Lucca.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazurek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxahachie, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Very small room, I felt cramped and like I had no space to move around. Other than being small, the room was very nice. Decent breakfast. Located just outside of the city center, only a short walk into the "old town" area. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerBR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was an excellent place to stay for my brother and I on a cycling holiday to that area. It was conveniently situated so that it was a short hop to the city walls of Lucca ( 5 mins walk) Reception staff were informative, friendly, and very helpful at answering our questions. Our twin room was very comfortable, clean, with a nice en suite bathroom. The continental style buffet breakfast was plentiful for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettynoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Myself and my husband just returned from a lovely trip to Lucca. We found the hotel to be of a higher standard than expected, newly refurbished. The staff were friendly and the couple that own the hotel so welcoming. We were given a nice room with very good air conditioning which was a must for me being pregnant! Rooms were always cleaned to perfection, adequate breakfast each morning and a nice sheltered terrace to sit out in anytime of the day (we used to pick up some food in the nearby supermarket 'Pam' and have lunch in terrace, staff gave us plates and cutlery to use).
7 minute walk to Porta Elisa gate into city, footpaths not great if you turn left exiting hotel, we found the route exiting right to be nicer to walk along and there are a few shops, restaurants and a gelateria on that route, both same distance. We got a taxi from train station there on arrival, was a rip off at €11 but on way back it was only €8 (hotel rang for it).
The only thing we didn't like was having to pay for internet, €3 for an hour, €5 for 2 hours etc, in this day and age wi-fi should be free.
Overall, we really enjoyed our trip and would stay here again on return to Lucca.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella-Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.0 mi away
Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Hotel Melecchi
Hotel Melecchi
#18 of 48 in Lucca
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#9 of 48 in Lucca
453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stipino
Hotel Stipino
#23 of 48 in Lucca
144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#45 of 48 in Lucca
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernardino

Property: Hotel Bernardino
Address: Via di Tiglio 109, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernardino 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can easily reach “Bernardino Hotel” from the toll gate and from the railway station as well.The Hotel is located 300 mt. far from the historical centre, very close to S. Gemma Sanctuary and five minutes walk from the Walls. The bedrooms, recently renewed, are very comfortable, with air-conditioning and a small fridge.The Hotel is well served with lift, bike-hire, Wi-Fi *, a free parking in front of the main entrance and another one in the inner courtyard. You can also find a safe place for bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bernardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing