We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$114
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$114
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/12/21
FindHotel
US$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/12/21
Expedia.comUS$118
Hotels.comUS$118
eDreamsUS$114
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
528
105
13
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
528
105
13
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017

We stopped in Lucca very briefly for an overnight stay in mid Oct 2015, arriving late and leaving early. We were charmed both by the town AND by this lovely B&B. I loved Il Seminario so much that when chance brought us back to the general area, I made it a point to stop over in the town of Lucca once more, just so we could stay at Il Seminario!

The staff at this B&B is warm, welcoming, and helpful. Il Seminario has a great location – it is within the city walls, but in a quiet area, an easy walk from the train station. The rooms are comfortable and a generous size, with a spacious wardrobe, sufficient electrical outlets for our now innumerable electronic gadgets, good wifi, and clean, well-appointed bathrooms. On our first visit, we were downstairs next to the breakfast room; on this recent May visit, we were upstairs. Both locations were fine for us, but for those who have trouble w/stairs, be forewarned – there is no elevator.

Tea, coffee, and snacks are available all day – a lovely, welcoming touch.

Breakfast is generous and very high quality, and we are offered our choice of coffee which is then made fresh to order. Besides very fresh, scrumptious pastries, cakes, and rolls, there are hard-boiled eggs and a wonderful assortment of fresh and aged cheeses, deli meats (prosciutto, salami, etc.), the wonderful creamy fresh Italian yogurt, fresh fruits and vegetables (tomatoes on our last visit), nuts, cereals, and cookies. When we visited in October 2015, we enjoyed the BEST persimmons EVER – we thought they were grilled tomatoes, but when we tried them – OMG ambrosia!!!

During this May visit, we were able to do something that had been on my bucket list – we rode bicycles around the Lucca walls (delightful!) and in the town itself. We stayed a little longer this time, but even that wasn’t enough – we’d like to return! Again! This town, and B&B, would be a wonderful base for a relaxed exploration of the area, perhaps by bicycle.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GayeMarasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Located inside the walls but close to railway and an easy walk. Good breakfast and excellent service from sonjia this is a good value place to stay in lucca. Stayed on top floor so book lower if you don't like stairs.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Had a great stay. The staff was very friendly with dinner recommendations and bike rental options.
Room was good - bathroom needs a little work. Moldy shower needs new sealant.
Breakfast was fine. Croissants were excellent from nearby bakery. More fibery cereal options would be good.
Do you like visiting churches? Well this town has a 101 of them. (Really...)
Most do not require an admission fee.
Nice streets to walk.
Pisa is 20 minutes away by train.
Walk or rent bikes for the wall. 2.5 mile loop is easy walk.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WK_Alpharetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 May 2017

This was our fourth stay here.It is ideally located just within the walls of the historic centre in a quiet area.The property is beautiful and clean.We stayed in the huge Puccini room on the ground floor.The continental buffet breakfast is superb.Thanks for the apricot jam!Tea and coffee is available for you to make at any time of the day.There is also a nice little garden area.Once again we were made to feel so welcome by the wonderful staff Irene, Sonia and the owner Paolo.They are always so lovely and helpful and even booked a tour to the Carrara marble quarries for us.Molto grazie.

Room tip: We stayed in the Puccini room on the ground floor which is huge with two double beds and a large bathroom.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeb1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2017

The B&B IL Seminario is absolutely wonderful, in every way possible! It -- and the entire city of Lucca -- was a bellissimo place to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Location is a quieter part of Lucca, but still very close to the wall (for wonderful walking), San Martino Cathedral, San Giovanni, San Michele, and easily walkable to any site in Lucca. Staff here are amazing, friendly, very accommodating of our limited Italian, helpful, pointed us in the direction of great restaurants, and did everything possible to make our stay in Lucca magical. Nicest place and staff of any we've ever stayed in Italy, and that's saying a lot! Grazie mille!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MikeB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews