We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B L'Antica Bifore

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
B&B L'Antica Bifore
Ranked #5 of 166 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

My wife and I really enjoyed staying here. We stayed here for a week, and it gve us a great base to visit Lucca, Florence and Via Reggio.

The rooms were very nice and had great original features, including hand painted walls and antique furniture.

Stefano and his wife were fantastic hosts, giving us excellent recommendations for restaurants, booking tickets for attractions in Florence and booking taxis for us.

We really couldn't have asked for anything else, and we had a lovely time in Lucca.

Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RHBSHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    47
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
200
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

My husband and I had the good fortune to stay in this charming guest house. It's like something out of "Room with a View". The room was lovely, tranquil, relaxing- a great place to go in the late afternoon after you've been walking all day. Our room had a stunning mural in it (behind the bed), and we had a little balcony that opened up to a courtyard of sorts. When we wanted light and air, we opened it up, but when we wanted it dark (naps and night), we closed the doors and shutters and it got very dark- (I love that). The bathroom was really clean and quite spacious (I'm particular about hotel bathrooms, too). They leave these olive oil based products in the bathroom for you, and they make the entire place smell so nice.
The breakfast was light (European style- I guess you could say), and it wasn't for me because I need some protein, but my husband loved it. The coffee rocked it out! They also left bottles of this goooood water in the small refrigerator that was in the common dining area, and it was nice to have at night or in the afternoons when we returned to rest. The dining area was handsome-antiques, a huge mirroor, and a large table, and it was interesting meeting the other guests- all of whom were thoughtful "guest housemates".
The owners are Irish (her) and Italian (him), which of course results in- in my book- the perfect couple! They are hospitable and conversational, and do take heed to their restaurant suggestions! YUMMY!!!

Room Tip: We were in the back with a room on the courtyard, which was only occasionally noisy but not enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJoudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We (a family of 5) stayed in the guesthouse in two adjoining rooms in June 2011. It is a terrific place to stay, and the hosts go out of their way to be welcoming, helpful and willing to help with suggestions if need be. The rooms are painted beautifully and despite it being a historic building, the rooms are very comfortable. Lucca is a great little city just waiting to be discovered on foot or by bicycle, just outside of Pisa and near Florence. The guesthouse is a great place to stay to explore the city and the Tuscan countryside. You couldn't pick a more central and welcoming location!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenRZ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulgrave, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We spent 2 days in Lucca and were thrilled to have discovered this lovely guesthouse.
It is very central, and comprises 4 well- appointed double-bedrooms all on one floor in a beautifully restored ancient tower. Brid and Stefano went out of their way to be helpful. They had good tips for restaurants, inquired about bus and train times for us, provided us with a free parking place outside the City walls by taking and collecting the car with us, after we had deposited the luggage in our rooms ( vehicular entry into the City is limited). The beds were very comfortable, the airconditioning worked and our hosts could not have made us feel more welcome, helped by everybody speaking English.
Tip: book direct

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sulgravefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

If we ever have the chance to return to Lucca, we will not hesitate to stay with Brid and Stefano again. The rooms are wonderful, and the inn location is perfect and convenient for everything. Brid and Stefano had great restaurant recommendations. Be sure to try the Buccellato bread -- only made in Lucca. There is a fantastic bakery right down the street, Antica Caffe di Simo with the world's best biscotti and other goodies -- with a bar and live music some nights. Be sure to ride the walls - very pleasant and not as touristy as it sounds. We also hit every brick-oven pizza place there was, which meant pizza twice a day sometimes -- maybe not the healthiest choice, but what is vacation for. We had the La Divina room in the back, which was very quiet. As an example of Brid and Stefano's approach to innkeeping, I mentioned to Stefano that the bed was a little too firm for me and asked him if I could get an extra blanket or something to cushion it. He said he would think about what to do -- and when we got back later that day he had remade the bed and added about 3 inches of padding! It made all the difference for me and I really appreciated the effort. We took the train to Lucca from the Cinque Terra, stayed there 3 nights, and then rented a car and went to Chianti region for 4 nights. Then train to Venice, and flight to Paris. Staying at the L'Antica Bifore was one of our highlights.

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgous, but if quiet is a priority, would suggest the La Davina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moose007Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

I did a lot of research into Lucca accommodations before booking L'Antica Bifore, and I wasn't disappointed. The photos don't do the place justice. The rooms are gorgeous...high ceilings, tastefully painted walls, comfortable beds, and updated bathrooms. I loved our view onto Via Fillungo and the beautiful church across the street. Yes, there was a lively street scene until midnight, but that's what earplugs are for! The shutters and drapes were appreciated. My only regret is no bathtub, but that's hard to find in small Italian hotels. Hosts Stefan and Brid have great English, and a gift for making guests feel like longtime friends. When we return, we will again stay here.

Room Tip: Request whether you want a view or a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsJules55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

This is about as charming and comfortable as it gets. Lucca is a wonderful town with great food and atmosphere. Train service is quick and inexpensive (20 minutes to Pisa, about every 30 minutes; 1 1/2 hours to Florence, about every hour.) Brid and Sefano have created a real gem in the middle of Lucca, about a 10 mintue walk from the train station. Up a flight of stairs in a old bell tower and into a lovely common room that serves 4 bedrooms, each will a modern bathroom. Air conditioning, TV (but who wants to watch TV in Lucca?), light breakfast, comfortable beds, and lovely wall paintings by a local artist .. it was our favorite place in our European trip. This B&B is on a busy pedestrian street, full of all kinds of shops. You are 1 1/2 stories up but it can be a bit noisy. It didn't bother us but we sleep very soundly. After 10pm, we couldn't hear a thing (except on Saturday and Sunday evenings).

Room Tip: Quieter on the non-street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlmcadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.3 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B L'Antica Bifore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B L'Antica Bifore

Property: B&B L'Antica Bifore
Address: Via Fillungo 5, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B&B L'Antica Bifore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive guest house located on the main street inside the walls of the historical city centre. Typical noble "lucchese" residence with coffered ceilings and original tiled floors. Part of the XIV century Torre del Travaglio, one of the three medieval towers of Lucca. L’Antica Bifore has four spacious matrimonial suites, La Divina, Beatrice, Dante, and Paradiso. Each is different in its architectural shape and form, with beautiful frescoes and unique pieces of period furniture. We can organise wine tasting, cookery classes with award winning chef Carlo and art and craft sessions. In addition to babysitting services we can also arrange transfer for Pisa/Florence airport collections and drop offs. Please inquire at time of booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your B&B L'Antica Bifore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Antica Bifore Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing