We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B L'Antica Bifore
Ranked #4 of 174 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Impeccable”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

For anyone planning a trip to Tuscany/Italy and you're debating on where to stay like my partner and I did, stop debating and stay at L'Antica Bifore in the heart of the charming and exciting town of Lucca. When I say in the heart of Lucca, I mean smack dab in the middle where you truly experience all that is Italian... Upon our arrival we drove through the charming streets, very slowly I might add, and parked right in front of L'Antica Bifore where the owners were awaiting our arrival. They helped us with our luggage and then assisted us on where to park the car by not just giving directions but by coming with us to the garage and then translating to the attendant! Now how’s that for service. Their B&B is simply divine. It had the old world charm of Italy and yet all the modern conveniences to make our stay very comfortable. I can’t describe the feeling we had when we walked into the room except to say that it felt like we were home—in Italy. The amazing view of all the shops and people below and the gorgeous church right outside the window were magnificent… The owners took the liberty of reserving a table at a local restaurant which they said of course we could cancel if we like. Not having been in Lucca before we were very thankful that they did, not just for their thoughtfulness and the convenience but also because the restaurant was exactly what we were looking for. The restaurant is called Osteria Pasqualino Gubitosa and we ate their a few times while in Lucca; outstanding food in a causal yet enjoyable environment. If you go you must have the Caponata. The menu has it with seafood or without. I had it both ways and needed a cigarette after each, and I don’t smoke…
One other note, the owners of L'Antica Bifore are 2 of the most wonderful people we’ve met in Italy. As far as hosts go, they attended to every need and more. But more than that, they were genuinely kind and very special people. We miss them and Italy very much…

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    48
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
215
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We had the most wonderful stay at L'antica Bifore. Brid was so gracious to wait for our late arrival, then make a perfect recommendation for dinner. We loved our room (tower) which was decorated with marvelous antiques, as was the rest of the B & B. Breakfast served by Stefano was a lot of fun--chatting with the other guests and with the multilingual hosts. They went out of their way to help us with travel, train, and tour arrangements, and made excellent recommendations as well as reservations for dinner for us. The location was perfect; centrally located and a very easy walk to anything in the city. We were made to feel so welcome, and would stay there again in a heartbeat! If we can only return!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed 1 night at L'Antica Bifore during our brief stop at Lucca at the end of March 2012. We were slightly late arriving but Stefano and Brid waited for us and were very understanding about it. The B&B is in a beautiful building in a convenient location in Lucca (roughly 10-15min walk with luggage from the train station and comfortably walkable everywhere in town). We stayed in room "Dante" which is located in the former bell tower of the building. The room was spacious and the decor was gorgeous. Breakfast was a good continental breakfast with tea and coffee, pastries, yoghurts and fruits. There was also free wifi access, which was extremely helpful. We loved the frescos and furniture in this cosy and stylish B&B, and Stefano was a cheerful and helpful host. Lucca itself is also a fantastic town of compactness and character. We would recommend L'Antica Bifore to anyone travelling to Lucca!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Our stay with L'Antica Bifore was more lovely than we could have expected. The rooms are truly spectacular; renovated, furnished and designed beautifully to accentuate the historical charm of the building! We couldn't get over all of the detailed and skillfully painted murals and design work. Additionally, it is centrally located with two of the rooms having beautiful views of the church across the road and the road is a pedestrian road so you only hear people and footsteps, no cars or mopeds. Finally, Brid or Stefano, the hosts, were wonderfully helpful, pleasant to be around, and all around great hosts. I recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveo997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Antica Bifore was a comfortable, clean and wonderfully located guesthouse. Stefano and Brid were great hosts, they know Lucca well and we had several memorable meals on their recommendation.
The whole atmosphere of the place was relaxed and welcoming, we felt like real residents of Lucca, rather than tourists as we opened our windows onto the bustling street below. Magical!

Room Tip: We stayed in Dante, the tower room, which was rustically beautiful. If you want to have the glorious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Denver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This B and B just doesn't measure up. For the price (90 Euros a night) there are much more beautiful choices in Lucca. The rooms are small though with a great view of the church and very special as it's a medieval property.
A few observations: pillow cases had small holes in them, a smear of mascara or something black... Breakfast was meagre -- good pastries but no yogurt or much in the way of protein. Cereal and milk. Apples and bananas. Breakfast wasn't ready till 8:50 -- 20 minutes later than we were told. With a short stay in Lucca and a late start time anyway this was less than convenient. We waited for ten minutes for the hosts to arrive to let us in and really what was missing from the stay was warmth and welcome -- both in the physical layout of the place -- a long dark stairway to the second floor with bare stone and then a pretty bare room with the dining table as the common room. Compared to the hordes of B and B's we have visited in other countries and in Italy, this place was a big disappointment.

Room Tip: Choose a B and B with the hosts present or a three or four star hotel for the same price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valhallagirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanobifore, Owner at B&B L'Antica Bifore, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Terry,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We would like to clarify a few points for the benefit if other readers.
The cost of your room was €80 non refundable special deal rather than €90. Not that this really matters as all of our guests are treated with all of our attention and are warmly welcomed.
We pride ourselves with having a high standard of linen and cleanliness. Despite all of our best efforts to ensure these standards are kept we can only apologise on this occasion if you happened to find a hole in the pillow case due to wear and tear.
Our breakfast is served from 8.30 until 10am. That was the case even during your stay. It consists of a continental breakfast with a variety of yoghurt, fresh bread and pastries, a selection of fresh fruits, choice of cereals, juices, and a selection of teas and coffees. Apologies if this was not of your taste. The dining room/reception for the use of guests contains antique furniture such as a large central table over which is surmounted a beautiful crystal chandelier. It has been carefully restored to the original character of an aristocratic 14th century palace maintaining all the original features like the very famous Italian Tessieri floor tiles, coffered ceiling and stone fireplace.
The long dark stairway to the second floor that you refer to does not belong to the guesthouse. We are on the first floor and not the second.
Regarding check-in we ask all of our guests once they have booked to have the courtesy to let us know their expected arrival time so that we are there to greet them, or to call us when they arrive. Unfortunately, we do not have 24 hour reception as we are not a hotel. As you did not let us know your arrival time, you had to call us when you arrived at the guesthouse and it took us ten minutes to get to you.
Kind Regards
Stefano and Brid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We had an amazing stay at L'Antica Bifore! The owners were extremely nice and helpful and gave us all kinds of tips and recommandations of where to eat and what to do to make the most out of our stay.

They have renovated the place in beautiful colours, with frescos (wall paintings) and with furniture that really give the feeling of staying in a castle right in the middle of the main pedestrian street!

Bathroom was furnished with shampoo and shower gel from a local producer - great for a shorter stay with only hand luggage!

We enjoyed having our breakfast in the common living room, where we got to know the other guests and share all our great experiences! Here there was a coffee maker, fridge where we could keep a bottle of Prosecco and other kitchen equipment available at all times.

The place had an intimate atmosphere and at the same time class and a feeling of luxury - a perfect combination!! We really hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: The "interior" room had a french balcony and was beautifully decorated! Both room and bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiraMarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 49 in Lucca
1,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 49 in Lucca
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B L'Antica Bifore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B L'Antica Bifore

Property: B&B L'Antica Bifore
Address: Via Fillungo 5, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B&B L'Antica Bifore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive guest house located on the main street inside the walls of the historical city centre. Typical noble "lucchese" residence with coffered ceilings and original tiled floors. Part of the XIV century Torre del Travaglio, one of the three medieval towers of Lucca. L’Antica Bifore has four spacious matrimonial suites, La Divina, Beatrice, Dante, and Paradiso. Each is different in its architectural shape and form, with beautiful frescoes and unique pieces of period furniture. We can organise wine tasting, cookery classes with award winning chef Carlo and art and craft sessions. In addition to babysitting services we can also arrange transfer for Pisa/Florence airport collections and drop offs. Please inquire at time of booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B L'Antica Bifore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Antica Bifore Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing