We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B L'Antica Bifore
Ranked #3 of 172 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great hosts”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Charming comfortable B&B right in the centre of Lucca. Hosts had great recommendations on where to eat and were able to get us reservations even on a busy Saturday. Lots of amazing food in the city, well worth a few days visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    48
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
210
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Firstly, Lucca is a wonderful, beautiful city and although quite busy, has a very relaxed atmosphere. Secondly, if you choose to visit Lucca, look no further than L'Antica Bifore. Lucca has not lost its medieval charm and either has the building in which L'Antica Bifore is situated in. Both Brid and Stefano are wonderful hosts and are full of advice of what to do and where to go. Brid organised transport from Pisa airport for us, and also booked us a restaurant each night, all of which were fantastic. We are already planning a return to Lucca on our anniversary and we will no doubt look to stay in L'Antica Bifore.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorbals32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The owner provided helpful directions and advice for entering, exploring and exiting walled Lucca. Our room had been graciously updated although the bed frame cramped my 6'-1" frame. The breakfast offered a good assortment. My only real complaint is the tile floor needing mopping.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with friends for 50th Birthday and had a great stay. Our hosts were very helpful with recommendations for wine bars and restaurants. The B& B has 4 beautiful rooms with lovely high ceilings and huge stained glass windows and a communal breakfast room. There are tea/ coffee facilities here to use whenever you wish.the location is perfect at one end of Via Fillungo in the heart of the Old Town. The perfect place for a stay in this wonderful town. We also took the train to the Cinque Terre for the 5 Village walk which was fantastic. We will return

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beardsmore-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

L'Antica Bifore is perfectly positioned in the Centro Storico for exploring Lucca on foot. Having negotiated the narrow streets teeming with Italians enjoying the Palm Sunday processions we found the quirky doorway on the best shopping street in Lucca opposite one of the many churches. Make sure you tell Brid and Stephano your time of arrival as they don't live on site. We had two of the four rooms and felt it was our own apartment. They've done a very sympathetic renovation of the medieval building even employing a Florentine artist to do Trompe L'Oeil on the walls. The four rooms lead off each corner of the large square communal room equipped with a small kitchenette for the guests to use any time. A fireplace is used during colder winter months . Sitting at the table for breakfast gives you a true sense of the history of this place. Brid and Stephano were very welcoming and gave us fantastic recommendations for dinner each evening. If you have your own car you have to park outside the walls or there is an underground car park within the walls which is a 10 - 15 minute walk away. Lucca must be one of the best preserved uncommercialised cities in Italy and one not to be missed on your italian tour. We booked our rooms through Booking.com but would have saved if we'd booked direct with the hotel.
Christine , New Forest, UK and Bernie and Don, Toronto 13th-16th April , 2014.

Room Tip: The tower room overlooks a quieter lane but after 11 there's very little noise anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

For anyone loving traditional Italian furniture and architecture, then Antica Bifore is the perfect place. Right in the heart of the walled city, it is perfect for exploring the beautiful walled city of Lucca. Our hosts, Stefano and Brid were so helpful and gave us recommendations for where to eat , how to park , and what to visit.. Our room was beautiful, with murals, high beamed ceiling and a beautiful stained glass window overlooking the church. Breakfast was delicious, and the coffee superb.We have every intention of going again and have recommended it to our friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamela l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Brid and Sephano were such accommodating hosts. Our room was lovely and Brid offered the perfect suggestions for dining options each night we were in Lucca. The property is ideally located for shopping, dining, and exploring on foot. Brid and Stephano went to great lengths make our experience in Lucca enjoyable, stress free, and wonderfully memorable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 51 in Lucca
1,060 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 51 in Lucca
500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 51 in Lucca
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B L'Antica Bifore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B L'Antica Bifore

Property: B&B L'Antica Bifore
Address: Via Fillungo 5, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B&B L'Antica Bifore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive guest house located on the main street inside the walls of the historical city centre. Typical noble "lucchese" residence with coffered ceilings and original tiled floors. Part of the XIV century Torre del Travaglio, one of the three medieval towers of Lucca. L’Antica Bifore has four spacious matrimonial suites, La Divina, Beatrice, Dante, and Paradiso. Each is different in its architectural shape and form, with beautiful frescoes and unique pieces of period furniture. We can organise wine tasting, cookery classes with award winning chef Carlo and art and craft sessions. In addition to babysitting services we can also arrange transfer for Pisa/Florence airport collections and drop offs. Please inquire at time of booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B L'Antica Bifore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Antica Bifore Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing